We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing little gem of a place!”
Review of Banilah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banilah
Ranked #33 of 805 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Would recommend this place to all. The staff are really lovely and are so keen to help where they can. Rooms are cute and comfortable and the place itself is modern with plenty of authentic charm. Only down fall is that it's a little out of town, but only encourages you to explore the wonderful city of Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Book directly via their own website, much cheaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenjulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2011

For the second time in the last year I stayed at Banilah for over a month and it feels like home when I arrive there. The office girls, Ob, Nan and Ann, make the lives of guests so easy, making tour arrangements, giving transportation advice, restaurant recommendations, etc. The rooms are well cleaned everyday and stocked with two large bottles of water. The majority of guests are Thai IE generally clean, quiet and respectful. The rooms are on the small side but very well designed with excellent lighting and comfy beds. It is located in a Thai residential neighbourhood with many good, cheap food outlets nearby and the huge fresh food market is also within walking distance. There are a few bicycles available to borrow, an excellent way to get around Chiang Mai. I hope I can return to Banilah soon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b_rad40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The Staff are nice and very good in tourist guide.
They will prepare map and highlight famous points for you .
The room is clean and comfortable.
There have one traditional market nearby 500m
You can buy any various thai food you like. cheap and yummy.
Don't miss their coffee.
I'd like to recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrunoWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

The girls at Banilah are great tour guides as well, they gave us a lot of great recommendations. The rooms are clean. Towel, wifi and drinking water are provided free. If you plan to rent a bike during your stay at Chiang Mai, this place is very convenient, the girls can arrange for the bikes to be delivered to the hostel and it's only a 5 minutes ride to the old city and 15 minutes ride to the zoo.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geckobump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

This hotel is really good value for money.

We paid 800baht for one night. The hotel is in a tricky location and even though a tuk tuk ride is about 8 mins into town and doesn't cost much, you can't walk the journey really as it's not really a touristy area so at night I wouldn't feel super safe.

However, the hotel has been one of the FRIENDLIEST hotels we've discovered on our journey. After we'd checked in our hotel manager sat us down with a map and highlighted all the places around us and what she suggests we do whilst we're in Chiang Mai (do the Sunday night market, it's great) without any pushiness.

Our room was pretty small, but nicely decorated. The thing we weren't keen on was our bathroom. To ge to the bathroom you have to open the door to the balcony (well not really a balcony, it's tiny) and then turn right into the bathroom and shut the door. Wasn't always keen on doing this at nighttime as didn't want to let bugs into our room.

Overall... good value for your money in the city of Chiang Mai. Good wifi signal in rooms! and tv but no fridge which would have been good as we'd been on a cookery course and had our dinner in plastic bags to have later on..

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emee37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

We stayed at Banilah (pronounced Bun-eye-la) for a day before we set off on a north chiang mai trek. It was our first stop in Thailand, and though a bit tricky to get to initially, the location worked out perfectly for us. it wasn't too central, neither was it too far away from the city (not sure if chiang mai even has a 'city centre').
lot's of nice extremely local restaurants and bars (non-touristy) within walking distance, and plenty of tuk tuks to ferry you around.
The hostel is run by a couple of very pleasant, happy and helpful girls. and lots of cats. cats have an all-access pass in this charming little hostel. if you are allergic to them, stay very very far away from Banilah.
the rooms are tiny. and the bathrooms are miniscule. but then for 125 baht per head, this extremely clean and functional set up is really worth it.
the gorgeous little coffee shop is the place where most guests sit around when not sleeping in the rooms. not sure if i remember right, but i think they have wi-fi access.

would definitely come back, and i really recommend this little treasure. however if you're with kids, maybe not such a good idea.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashdabreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We stayed here couple of weeks ago on our 9 short days backpacking journey and had a quite unpleasant experience before we arrived. We confirmed our booking a week before we traveled and apparently before we arrived, the Banilah staff sent us 2 e-mails saying that we had to confirm the booking or else they want to give the room to somebody else...we were panic when we read that because we were at Mae Hong Son at that time and will be leaving the next morning to Chiang Mai, and so the next morning on the way to the city we tried to contact them and finally got it. When we arrived, the staff apologized for the inconveniences and explained why they did it, but still for us, if you're running a business in the service industry does not matter big or not, once you confirmed is confirmed and the experience we had is really annoying!
Room was OK, clean for sure and a bit disappointed because the bathroom is outside the room next to the balcony. Location is a bit far from the old city. We stayed there couple of days and during our stay, my husband usually checked e-mails at night after a long tiring trip during the day and whenever the clock shows it's almost 10pm, the connection just died. However regarding the staff, we agreed with the others that they are really attentive, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toscamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#40 of 805 in Chiang Mai
429 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#19 of 805 in Chiang Mai
271 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#46 of 805 in Chiang Mai
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
All in 1 Guesthouse
All in 1 Guesthouse
#9 of 805 in Chiang Mai
794 reviews
2.4 mi away
ZZ House
ZZ House
#6 of 938 in Chiang Mai
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santitham Guest House
Santitham Guest House
#63 of 805 in Chiang Mai
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banilah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banilah

Address: 11 Sotesueksa Road | Changphuek Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 805 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £9 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banilah 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chiang Mai and warm welcome to Banilah guest house. Banilah has renovated a building and transformed it into a unique style, comfortable, eye-pleasing fusion with Lanna senses. The combinations of Lanna arts and modern designs will penetrate through your please and touch your heart. You will value your relaxation time more than ever at Banilah. Banilah offers more than what you've expected for what you pay. All of our rooms are decorated with boutique and unique stye, with en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Banilah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banilah Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing