We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”
Review of Banilah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banilah
Ranked #35 of 833 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed there last year, fantastic accommodation, friendly staff, great location. Received a map with local details, interesting tours. They also helped me a lot with transportation, calling cabs as needed. I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre_in_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Clean, quite, nice atmosphere and lots of cats to pat. Staff friendly and gave a 10 minute introduction of the area with three maps colour-coded.

5: Value for money
5: Rooms / Atmosphere (including Sleep Quality)
4: Cleanliness
5: Service
4: Location

A/C Double Room (Double bed, AC, fan, private hot/cold shower/toilet, toiletries included, TV, one bed side table, hanging space with coat hangers, mirror, desk, window).
Internet in room. Internet intermittent at times.
Breakfast not included. But coffee shop downstairs at reception. 
Room spacious. Very clean except the floor can be dusty. Daily turn down service.

Staff friendly and gave a 10 minute introduction of the area with three maps colour-coded.
Decent location near many restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitegreycat100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

It was my second time in Chiang Mai. I had been there since i was very young once. I expected my travel there would be great. I found this guest house on the guide book. The price was reasonable, then i chose to stay there just for 1 night first. The reception lady, Dao, was firstly helpful when we arrived. she explained the interesting tourist attractions. i told her i may extend stay tmr i will told her. The next day in the morning , i was about to go out of the guest house to have something to eat , she greet me with smile " Are you going to CHECK OUT??!!!!!!. I don't think it's the appropriate conversation to ask guest by this way. She said it again like she wanted to chased me out of the guest house . the room charge was paid when we arrived. she didn't seem nice like when i checked in . I said i wanted to extend but i couldn't
as the room was fulled she said. Why didn't she told me before.

****i don't think i'm gonna go back there again as the service is INSINCERE. She was nice as she wanted my money i was so disappointed with this. Then, i wasted another day of my vacation to find another place to stay. She ruin my holiday!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siradada11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Banilah guesthouse.
When we arrived in there, they first gave us some maps that near the guesthouse, around the old town district, and told us the location of supermarket, food, north bus station, night markets. They also help us call taxi and book minibus to our destination, and gave us helpful opinions.
The room is clean, the TV with channels a lot, if you want to buy something or ate breakfast is convient, it's not far from guesthouse, but the air-conditioner is a little noisy, the bathroom out of the room is small, let me felt crowded, and easy to wet sanitary paper or clothes after shower.
In the reasonable price I think I can accept the facilities and service in Banilah guesthouse.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend enjoyed our stay at banilah. The location is little out of the old city but in a lively neighbourhood.

The staff helped us perfectly during our stay and helped us booking tours etc.

The rooms were clean but outdated. Free Bikes also. I had some difficulties of sleeping due to the noice coming from the street. Also à.lot of noice coming from students in the appartments.

Nevertheless our stay was pleasant and ok for thé money we paid.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeulle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Banilah for 4 nights and the ladies that ran the guesthouse were amazing!! Anything we needed they were able to accommodate. The rooms are fairly basic but had all that we needed and were spacious enough. The location is not in an area frequented by tourists and outside the old city but we had no trouble getting around by tuk tuk or walking. The ladies definitely made this a place we would return to.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Its away from the action of central Chiang Mai and most of the tourists, cozy and quiet...especially during Songkran. I didn't interact much with the staff, but I felt safe, and my room was always clean.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelisaverb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.1 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#19 of 833 in Chiang Mai
284 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#52 of 833 in Chiang Mai
153 reviews
1 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#46 of 833 in Chiang Mai
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Early Bird Bed & Breakfast
Early Bird Bed & Breakfast
#43 of 833 in Chiang Mai
184 reviews
1.7 mi away
All in 1 Guesthouse
All in 1 Guesthouse
#10 of 833 in Chiang Mai
829 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nonni Guesthouse
Nonni Guesthouse
#27 of 833 in Chiang Mai
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banilah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banilah

Address: 11 Sotesueksa Road | Changphuek Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 833 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £9 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banilah 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chiang Mai and warm welcome to Banilah guest house. Banilah has renovated a building and transformed it into a unique style, comfortable, eye-pleasing fusion with Lanna senses. The combinations of Lanna arts and modern designs will penetrate through your please and touch your heart. You will value your relaxation time more than ever at Banilah. Banilah offers more than what you've expected for what you pay. All of our rooms are decorated with boutique and unique stye, with en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Banilah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banilah Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing