We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay during 4 weeks Thailand”
Review of Banilah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banilah
Ranked #34 of 733 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Heuchelheim, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best stay during 4 weeks Thailand”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for five nights and it was awesome. The staff is so nice!! When we arrived she gave us three maps and took her time to explain all the places (Restaurants,market,temple,massage,icecream,everything) to get a closer look around chiang mai. The rooms are cleaned every day and included an moskito net,tv,private bathroom,hot shower and all for 450 bath,really really good. The location is not in the old city but you can easy walk for about 15 minutes or take a red car for 20 bath per person. We loved the location because there are not many tourists around this area and everyone was so friendly. I just can highly recommend this place. If you want to go to chiang mai,you have to go to Banilah!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    58
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
3
96
50
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

I stay there for 2 nights.....at the beginning I was also stepped back because of it location.... but if u rent a bike somewhere or even from the Guesthouse then there will be no more problem... the staff was extraordinary nice... they will show u everything around the gh and also the city.....around the gh already had some many great food To eat......and their cafe also is a great place try to hangout....but rmb book it ASAP since the gh seem always full......

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank kakarlhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I love this place. My parents stayed here last year and i came with them this year. The rooms are immaculate, cleaned every day. I don't know how they do it because i don't like water, but the water they provide for you i was drinking both bottles every day, haven't had spring water as nice since. The rooms are perfect for jetlag, you can keep them so dark it feels like night if you wish. It is a 5min walk to thanin markets for food, clothes, shoes etc. There is a cute little restaurant we went to every morning for breakfast with tea, coffee, croissants, eggs etc, very good prices and a supermarket just around the corner. The lobby area is very honey with chairs and tables, tea and coffee available. You need only ask and they will send nail for you, book taxis and tuk tuks, recommend good restaurants. They sit you down when you first get there a d give you maps and show where the best places are and how to get there. I would recommend this place very happily.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy5676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We came to the Banilah hoping for a comfortable, boutique-style guesthouse, based on the outpourings of positive reviews on TripAdvisor. As good a guide as TA is most of the times, there are moments like these where it utterly fails me.

First, the positives:

The rooms have a certain design flair. The whole guesthouse feels cozy, with a central courtyard with koi fish and plants. The guesthouse has a café where various cats lounge around all day.

Now for the bad stuff:

First and foremost, the guesthouse's description of bathrooms is misleading. To call them en-suite is very generous. They are, essentially, "private shared bathrooms." If you want to go to the toilet, you have to step out on a private balcony, and into a cramped, bare concrete bathroom. It may be a private bathroom, but it has all the inconvenience of a shared bathroom because you have to step outside if you want to go in the middle of the night.

Second issue, mosquitoes. Now, to be fair, it wasn't so bad when we were there, but I can't imagine how it's like in the rainy season. That bathroom I mentioned above? It's crawling with mosquitoes drawn to the water. The pretty trees and pond in the middle mean that there are so many mosquitoes that they installed mosquito nets on the beds on the ground floor, which we saw on the way out. What was puzzling, though, was the attitude of the staff: instead of trying to solve the problem, they tried to talk around it. They told us to get into our rooms quickly at night, and remove our shoes indoors to avoid a mosquito invasion. They also suggested that we should use spray to get rid of them. This is just a silly expectation.

Third, there is absolutely no noise isolation in the room due to bare concrete walls and a wooden door. I'm usually very tolerant of noise, but this was ridiculous. Someone on the floor above dropped a coin or a pin, and the noise woke me up. We could hear every car, every motorcycle, every guest milling about. A garbage truck woke me up at 8h30 AM. The guests make an effort to keep quiet, which is good, but it doesn't make up for poor construction. Bring earplugs.

Fourth, the room really isn't designed very well. The room is on the small side but adequate in size, but there are a few odd design choices. For instance, there is no mirror in the room. Solution? There's a small mirror on top of the closet (next to the television!), which is angled towards the ceiling. For a flashpacker-oriented guesthouse, its lack of electric plugs was puzzling. There was only one for the whole double room.

Fifth, we found the staff insincere. The owner or manager did her ten-minute routine of highlighting hot spots on the map, but you could tell she didn't care about it at all. She just rolled off the spots like a well-rehearsed routine. Nevermind that I don't drive a motorbike, know a bit of Thai, and love Thai food; I got told where to go on my imaginary motorbike, what "soi" means, and where to try Thai food in a Lonely Planet-approved restaurant. When the staff saw that we looked unhappy with the rooms, they were very quick to tell us that if we didn't renew the room before 9 AM the next day, they'd give the room to someone else. Guess what we did.

And so, the four days we had planned to stay here turned into a sorry evening. The next morning, thirty minutes before checkout, we decided to head downstairs and hang out with the cats for a cup of coffee... only to be told that the coffee machine was broken.

To end this review on a positive note, I want to mention that one of the members of the staff was very kind and helpful to us on our way out. She called a tuk-tuk for us and arranged a fair price to our next destination. Too bad the negatives outweighed the positives, and by a wide margin.

Room Tip: Every room is noisy, so pick one at the back of the guesthouse to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Triseult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songkhla, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I spent 3 nights at Banilah, just 350 baht/night!!!! (single-fan room)
Everything u need all set in lovely room, towels, shampoo and soap. Internet computers are provided in main building. Here you can contact staff (0800-2000 local time), order breakfast and beverage.Banilah staff is very kind and helpful.
Location is a little weak point, far from the old city and sat-sun night market but compare to the price, Banilah still perfect. You can take local transportation (red songthaew ,tuk-tuk, ) to go everywhere in Chaingmai, just walk to the main road (about 1 or 2 min). Banilah also has bicycle to rent but i'm not sure about price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jam5212100300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Banilah guesthouse is clean, artsy atmosphere, and has a great location. The women who work there are incredibly helpful and kind, and will go above and beyond to make your stay perfect. Also, their monthly rates in the rainy season are incredible! Thanks so much for my stay Banilah, I will definitely stay here next time I am in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabrielle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovenkarspel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Banilah is a perfect place in the less crouwded outerskirts of Chiang Mai. The girls behind the reception are extremely friendly and do their upmost to make your stay comfortable, from a well drawn and colored map to the right directions to a wonderful local restaurant. In case we will ever visit Chiang Mai again we will defenitly visit this guest house again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmdejong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.0 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#27 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#17 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#52 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dozy House
Dozy House
#45 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.2 mi away
BED Changkian Hotel
BED Changkian Hotel
#9 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banilah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banilah

Property: Banilah
Address: 11 Sotesueksa Road | Changphuek Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 733 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Banilah 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chiang Mai and warm welcome to Banilah guest house. Banilah has renovated a building and transformed it into a unique style, comfortable, eye-pleasing fusion with Lanna senses. The combinations of Lanna arts and modern designs will penetrate through your please and touch your heart. You will value your relaxation time more than ever at Banilah. Banilah offers more than what you've expected for what you pay. All of our rooms are decorated with boutique and unique stye, with en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banilah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banilah Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing