We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant place, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eco Resort Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Imm Eco was my home for 8 nights, and by and large, it is a pleasant place. It's an old school, converted to a quite modern hotel, with friendly staff, clean rooms.

However, be wary about rooms in the region of the large swimming pool, as not all guests understand there are others at the hotel. My room was downstairs, and the wooden floor above resounded with the guests upstairs, as not all removed their shoes.

Next time I'll stay in another part of the hotel.

Internet is four times the cost of the local internet cafes, and needs better lighting.

Restaurant is pleasant but hot once the sun is up. Pre-pay breakfast when you book as it's dearer paying cash each day.

Tuk-tuk into town seemed to be set at 60THB, so an added expense.

Large supermarkets (Carrefoure, TOPS, etc) within striking distance for the muesli supplies. They don't open until 10am.

Sounds petty I know, but the air con smelled a bit, and found that the filter hadn't been cleaned in a long time. Same for the other rooms.

Hotels in town seemed to be much cheaper, but not the atmosphere.

Pool is great, being an ex-lap pool.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank masuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2010

We stayed in a twin room which overlooked the pool. My only complaint would be that the rooms can be quite noisy if children are playing in the pool. You can also hear through the walls quite easily.

Overall though, the grounds were beautiful, the pool was nice, rooms were clean and staff were friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemisstravel1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

The room I stay in is a converted classroom in the old school building. I loved it at first sight. I am in a double room with private bathroom. We have a table with two chairs, a closet, 2 nightstands and light switches by the bed. That kind of attention to detail, often not found in budget accommodation, adds a nice touch. The bed is comfortable, the pool massive (not the cleanest water though), the gardens are lush and I really like the general atmosphere of this place. The only major drawback are the noise levels. The walls are thin and you can hear your neighbors (mine woke me up at 5.30 am this morning when they were talking in the their room) and you can also get a lot of noise from the outside as there is windows that hardly block any sound out. There seem to be a lot of children at the moment, which are really loud in the pool. That obviously totally depends on the people who happen to be staying at the hotel at the time. You will need to call a taxi or walk for half an hour into town from here. Free WiFi available. I really like it overall and would come back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fah Lanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Technically, Imm Eco is downtown but, it will not feel that way when you get there. The Hostel (don't be afraid, they have private rooms) was built on the grounds of an old school. Some of the rooms are in an old school building, with class rooms tastefully converted into very nice rooms.

The pool, is amazing. 7 lanes of crystal clear water. What a surprise to find this here. The restaurant was very good, with a nice breakfast spread and good food for lunch and dinner. While it might be considered a little price compared to heading in to town the connivence is worth the few baht difference.

The only draw back we saw was the walls are thin! I mean you can hear virtually everything through the walls. So, if you end up with someone who is even a little on the loud side, well...

Other than that, we have it on our list for our next trip.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary_Colorado_Mtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Imm eco was just as good as I had read in the reviews, it was truly like a hidden garden in the city. A little bit out of the centre, but still it was close enough to walk to or get a tuk tuk. River only 10 min walk away where plenty of restaurant and bars. For the room prices getting such a beautiful pool, restaurant, every day cleaning, nice common room etc. I definitely recommend this to anyone who appreciates peace and quiet in the nature.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorikee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Well it is like staying in a victorian conservatory, MASSIVE jungle plants populate the huge grounds of this former school. There isa huge swimming pool at the back of the hotel/hostel. The rooms are good sized with air con, cleaned daily. I saw this hostel in a UK daily newspaper asbeing one ofthe tophostels inthe world, and it WAS ! The security guards salute you when you enter the grounds. Breakfast is even included and there is a good exotic wooden hut restaurant . It is all a feast for the senses if youarrive directly from a western country. Terrific place.
The drawback is that it is located a long way from centre, and you are forced to cross the local TukTuk driver always waiting for yourcustom outside. Walking takes a good 30 mins

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellingtonNewkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Booked a week at Imm Eco after finding good reviews online and due to it being one of the only "hostels" in chiang mai with a pool, upon arriving i found the food and level of accomodation outstanding for the price i was paying, around 6 GBP per night, that included a room to myself with air conditioning. the staff were perhaps the best thing about this place for example i mentioned a bar i was looking for in the city offhand and upon returning from dinner discovered the receptionist had looked up the bar online and found me the address, all after telling him not to worry, the pool was clean and big for thai standards with decent sunbathing deckchairs etc as well, a short ride into town by tuk tuk means i would recommend this to anyone visiting chiang mai!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank benonolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#157 of 392 in Chiang Mai
662 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 392 in Chiang Mai
933 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#176 of 392 in Chiang Mai
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 392 in Chiang Mai
684 reviews
1.3 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#89 of 392 in Chiang Mai
287 reviews
1.5 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 933 in Chiang Mai
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Resort Chiang Mai

Address: 109 Bumrungrad Road | Wat Kate Muang Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 933 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £17 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco Resort Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco Resort Chiang Mai, a new development from Imm Hotel Group, offers value accommodation for nature lovers. With Ecological, environmental and economy awareness, we create with attention to simplicity in design and service that fulfill fundamental needs of travelers who are looking for a pure relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eco Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing