We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My third stay and still excellent”
Review of PJ's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
PJ's Place
Ranked #129 of 757 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My third stay and still excellent”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My partner and I love Chiang Mai and this is now our third visit and third stay at PJs Place. I feel at home and relaxed as soon as I walk in, Peter and Jiab are very friendly and welcoming and so are their staff, Pa and Dang. Our room was again always spotless with fresh flowers and the art is beautiful. I have only read one negative review comment and that was about noise from the pool - but there is no pool! Can definitely recommend this guesthouse and will be staying here again.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms, large enough for a couple to be comfortable in. There are also 2 suites, sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smilingjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
44
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My partner and I enjoyed five quite wonderful nights at PJ's Place in Chiang Mai.

Your hosts are Peter and Jiab. Their small and very private guesthouse is located in a fabulous part of town with some delightful restaurants and classy night spots not too far away.

The guest house is extremely secure and is resort-like more than it is hotel-like. Each morning a delicious breakfast is offered, made all the more special by the attentive staff who take pride in getting to know your preferences quite early in your stay.

Jiab went out of his way to help us make onward travel arrangements by driving us to the bus station in advance of our departure, so we could make secure forward travel arrangements. We were ever so appreciative of his help. Again, it's that personalised service that made all the difference in this hotel. Good local travel advice was also available and they boys would gladly organise days out through their network of associates.

Our room was a split level villa. It was meticulously cleaned each day. Good, heavy curtains and quiet surrounds, ensured a restful sleep.

PJ's was very reasonably priced and considering the level of service that came with it, made it a top-value stay.

DO NOT hesitate to reserve your room at this place. Your hosts and their staff are superb. It was that good I'd go back to Chiang Mai just to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're staying more than a couple of nights consider taking a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoidaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Peter and Jiab have a wonderful place. It's close to the old city and on a quiet soi. They were very helpful with directions and suggestions AND were attentive when one of us got sick. Our room was spotless! I recommend PJ's Place enthusiastically.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jartrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2012

PJ's Place is a sweet delight. Small and personal, with service to match. Jiab and Peter, the owners will do anything to make your stay a memorable one. Tours are available with personal attention to detail. The rooms are immaculate. The wonderfull garden is a gem, the suites even got private gardens. Most definitly a place to return to!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schmidt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, MA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at PJ's. We were planning on staying there for two nights and extended our stay by another night. Our room was impeccable and highly detailed. The grounds of the resort are beautifully arranged with local plants and flowers and statues and fountains. Jiab was an amazing host and made us feel at home and answered question after question about himself, the history of the hotel and Thailand in general.We spent quite a bit of time talking with both Peter and Jiab. The reception area has numerous books to read and it looked like quite a selection of popular authors and there was also computer for your use if you can't take advantage of the free wifi in your room. Breakfast was included and was excellent. The coffee was hot strong and delicious.The resort is located at the end of a very quiet street and is not a very long walk to a Mall, numerous banks for currency conversion, a quiet gay bar, the bathhouse and numerous restaurants. We booked the Flight of the Gibbons through the resort and really enjoyed it. We also took a day trip to Wat Phrathat Doi Suthep. It wasn't incredibly easy getting to the temple but I found the more money you spend in Thailand the easier things will be for you. We didn't spend much to get there. :-)

PJ's is not the cheapest place to stay in Chaing Mai but I feel like it was exactly what we needed when we needed it half way through our trip to Thailand. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Just had a 3 day stay at PJ's, and it was a great experience beyond my expectations.

Staff: Peter & Jiab are both very friend and helpful in making suggestions for things to do. The two young staff members are also friendly and competent.
Location: It is about 10 minute walk from the walls of the old city. But it is 5 minute walk from a shopping mall and has lots of restaurants and coffee shops near by.
Room: very spacious, exceptionally clean. very comfortable. it is perfect size for one person. for a couple who doesn't mind a bit of coziness, this would work well too.
Breakfast: made to order, with standard English breakfast or other choices such as cereal or omelette, etc... Someone said the breakfast area is closed in the afternoon, but it isn't. It's only closed in the evening. It's a comfortable area to just relax and read.
Garden: Beautiful garden - you'll be surrounded by greens.
Overall: Loved this place. when I come back to Chiangmai, I will definitely stay here again. I'm in CNX for 6 days, so I divided my stay into 2 parts: outside the old city and inside. For someone who really wants to be within the old city and doesn't like walking, you should choose elsewhere. but if you want a calm, peaceful place that is also close to shopping, restaurants, coffee shops, this is a fantastic find.
thank you, Jiab, Peter, Dang and Pha (sorry, I can't spell their names)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axelutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This vacation resort, richly detailed with regards to the interior and garden design, was built about 7 years ago and is very centrally located.

My four weeks stay here was in the 2-room-apartment which gave me the advantage of having my own little house for myself.

The daily rate (ca. 70 Euro) includes breakfast and pick-up and drop-off to the nearby airport, as well as free wireless network. This price is quite high by Thai standards and is not necessarily a great bargain by European standards however one receives a discount for extended visits – 20 percent if one stays 4 weeks or more.

This higher price category assures the advantage of cultured guests compared with the more simple Thai guesthouses.

Breakfast is served in a friendly well light room on the ground floor. The owners Peter and Jiab have their private living quarters in the floor above. Two houseboys, who offer friendly and competent service, are engaged on a daily basis. To avoid misunderstandings while placing your breakfast order, these boys make it a point to repeat the orders.

Breakfast is served from 8 to 10 and the boys start to clear the table in the dining area at 10. For those guests who are accustomed, when on holiday, to have breakfast at a later time of the morning, this would be desirable.

For those guests, who have no notebook on their journey, there is an extra PC for checking Mails and surfing located in the breakfast room.

Unfortunately the breakfast area is closed, with absolutely no exceptions allowed, in the early afternoon: The doors to this area are locked.

A guest who was taking a sun bath in the garden, wanted to use the lavatory in the breakfast area and was told that he must use the one located in his own room.

In spite of the restrictive use of the breakfast area there are only good things to say about PJ’s Place: A guesthouse which is outstanding in terms of interior atmosphere and impressive garden design.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hansedynamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
The Dome Residence
The Dome Residence
#149 of 386 in Chiang Mai
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 386 in Chiang Mai
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pyur Otel
Pyur Otel
#120 of 863 in Chiang Mai
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Santitham Guest House
Santitham Guest House
#57 of 757 in Chiang Mai
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#377 of 757 in Chiang Mai
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
SakulchaiPlace Hotel
SakulchaiPlace Hotel
#88 of 757 in Chiang Mai
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PJ's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PJ's Place

Property: PJ's Place
Address: 19, Soi Plubplueng | Huay Kaew Road, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 757 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing