We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We took the junior suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thapae Boutique House
Ranked #116 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We took the junior suite”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Very nice experience on a very good location.
I was happy to pay the 1500 baht ( lets say 35 euro! ) For this amazing big room with bathtub and perfect bed. 2 aircons and what can i tell you more.
We even took a day of just staying in our room as we where tired from the long journey from bangkok by train!
I would recommend the junior suite to my friends for sure.
I took by accident your hotel room key but I will send it back by post off course..
Thanks for the nice days

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjmhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    78
    35
    8
    11
See reviews for
18
79
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The hotel is clean. The room is spacious. The staff is friendly and helpful. Excellent value for a hotel in a great location, just outside of Thapae gate. The room in the front can be a bit noisy, especially in the morning from neighbors and the nearby road.
I would stay here again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed here in November. It was the second place we stayed in Chiang Mai and the best. Staff are really helpful, helped us organise tours etc. Rooms are very nice, clean. Very good location, close to the Weekend walking market. I would definitely stay here again and recommend others to stay here!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liketotravel0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INDIANAPOLIS
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Thapae Boutique Hotel is a wonderful place with excellent staff. We booked close to the date and had no problems. Although it was a bit difficult to find, once we were there everything was pretty good. We were within walking distance of the night bazaar and lots of evening activity options (food, bars, hangouts, shopping, etc). Although the rooms had many more mosquitoes than similar guesthouses/ hotels, they were reasonably comfortable with a wonderful shower and plenty of space.
The staff, especially Nui (sorry about the terribly spelling of the name!), was great. We had to leave to catch a bus at 5.30am. She arranged a cab and made us breakfast at 5, which was very much appreciated.
I would happily stay here in the future and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfmonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed here over the new year week as it was the only place available in Chiang Mai. Beds are hard but sleep is possible. Rooms are clean. Water is either piping hot or tepid in the shower and changes between the two while you shower every few seconds. When people in the rooms to the side of you and above you shower, you can hear the water running past your shower drain as if you were showering in your room. The main problem at this hotel is that the floors are wooden and you can hear every single step the people above you and to the side of you take. The walls are thin and you can hear people next door to you talking, showering and walking. Bang bang bang all night on the floors above you and in the morning starting around 7:30 house keeping starts banging stuff around the rooms which wakes you up because it quite literally sounds like a bomb is going off. I won't stay here again even if someone else was paying.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitebobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

This was the most expensive hotel we stayed at during our two months abroad but it was most definitely worth it. On arrival the staff were very accommodating and friendly. They arranged for us to see the local tourist sites in Chiang Mai and for a trip the following day (at a discounted price). The rooms were of a decent size, clean, air con, tv, wifi. Also two computers in reception for guests to use. The complimentary breakfast was one of the better ones we received (toast, eggs, fruit, hot + cold drinks). Great location - about a 10/15 minute walk to the night market with a couple of restaurants along the way.

Room Tip: Ask for extra breakfast with a nice smile and you'll never go hungry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We have had booked for 9 nights and extended our stay for 12 nights (we got a discount for the whole stay of 15%)
The location is very good. Your near the thapae gate, night bazar and sunday market.
Our room was not so big, but I think this is not essential, your only there to sleep and take a shower. The beds are quite hard, but we don´t get any backaches. We had only problems with the mosquitos, it would be better with nets.
Summary:
Pros:
good located
nice and kind staff
good breakfast
clean rooms

Cons:
bathroom not so pretty (partly not tiled walls)
no mosquito net
dogs in the neighbourhood (wake up service from 7:30-9:00am)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stellina1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#149 of 381 in Chiang Mai
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#76 of 381 in Chiang Mai
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kavil Guesthouse
Kavil Guesthouse
#102 of 381 in Chiang Mai
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chiang Mai C.M. House
Chiang Mai C.M. House
#142 of 381 in Chiang Mai
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel M Chiang Mai
Hotel M Chiang Mai
#68 of 381 in Chiang Mai
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tapae Place Hotel
Tapae Place Hotel
#153 of 381 in Chiang Mai
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thapae Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thapae Boutique House

Property: Thapae Boutique House
Address: 4 soi 5 Thapae Rd | Changklan Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thapae Boutique House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious and immaculate rooms are finished in a harmonious blend of chocolate teak wood and cool pastel hues of green, lemon and cream. All have air-con and televisions. Beds are positively sleep inducing and mounted in custom designed teak frames. Bathrooms are spotless and elegantly finished with attractive fixtures and colorful ceramic tiling. Our large open air lobby gracefully leads to a lush garden patio. Located in the heart of downtown for your continence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thapae Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thapae Boutique House Hotel Chiang Mai
Thapae Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing