We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very close to Thapae Gate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thapae Boutique House
Ranked #117 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location, very close to Thapae Gate”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This hotel is very close to the Thapae Gate, however far enough away that the noise and commotion from the busy streets is avoided. The rooms are spacious and clean, and staff speak very good English and very accommodating - I had to print a few documents and they were happy to help. The rooms are aesthetically pleasing and bathroom clean and spacious, however the toilet had some trouble flushing, we do understand however that we didn't complain about this at the time, so the hotel didn't have a chance to rectify. The lobby area is nice to sit in during the day, as it's semi open and full of plants, however at night there are a lot of mosquitoes, especially sitting near the computers. The computers were good when they were working, but for half our stay one or both computers were broken. The American style breakfast is adequate, but better options could be had outside. We recommend you consider Thapae Boutique House when in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bushid0kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    78
    35
    8
    11
See reviews for
18
79
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed 5 days and were very satisfied. The hotel has a great location, very near the Thapae Gate, yet a little off the main road which made for some much needed peace and quiet. Wifi is included and the room was spacious enough and kept clean. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast is the same everyday, not spectacular but good enough, and included in the room rate. There are plenty of places to eat in the neighbourhood, and it is easy walking distance to the Sunday market, and close enough to the night bazaar as well. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hammsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed at Thapae Boutique Hotel for 3 nights and had a good experience. The first night we were upgraded to a larger room upon check in (free of charge), which was very nice of them. After the first night (we booked only 1 night originally), we stayed 2 more, and would have stayed a third, however I was told they had no availability (despite rooms being available on Booking, the lady at the front told me there was an issue with Booking and they actually do not have a room). Room is clean, beds are pretty hard as others have said, however beds are very firm everywhere in SE Asia, so it is not a hotel specific issue. The bathroom is clean, however the tiling/caulking looked like it had seen better days.

Breakfast was good, the smoothie was delicious. Overall, for what you pay, this is a great location and decent value for your money. If ever back in Chiang Mai, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winnipeg1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

If u want merely a clean room, a little more privacy than a hostel, good location, without bursting your budget, this place serves its purpose. The beds were soft but did not have to good night's sleep because the doors and walls and flooring were not at all soundproof. We could hear pple talking, walking along the corridors, shutting their doors and even walking. Some ran, so I was woken up many times in the night, The toilet was working fine, but the cement finishing and the flimsy finishing of the pipes and taps plus the musty smell gave me the creeps. For once, I tried not to go into the toilet unless absolutely necessary. There was nothing to hang my clothes and towel in the toilet while bathing, so that was really irritating. However, the toilet does its basic function for its tenants. The doors seriously could be easily broken in, so make use of its small little safe inside the room. There were a lot of mosquitoes, so come prepared with lots of repellant. My boys loved watching soccer at the common area though. Breakfast was a standard toast, egg, small little sausage and a thin slice of ham. Came with a hot beverage. Though nothing luxurious, it was enough and it was served individually. So, that kind of made up for the simple breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellyyeokhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

In a very busy part of town, this is a nice little getaway. The rooms are beautifully decorated, free wifi and computers to use down stairs, breakfast was good and more typical "americana" type breakfast than anywhere else I had stayed while in Thailand (juice, fruit, eggs, ham, etc.). The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Typical bathroom set up in Thailand where you can't shower with drenching your toilet. The bed was softer than other Thai beds I had experienced. One evening when I was out shopping and exploring, when I returned, the windows to my room were wide open. Nothing was missing, but someone had to have broken in as things were moved around. So I am not sure what all that was about... it may have been the staff doing things. I never found out.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystalrenaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had booked 2 rooms with some optional preferences as request. The staffs of the hotel arranged their Bungalow for us to make us feel homely. It was our best hotel experience in Thailand. Really really pleased by the co-operative staffs, especially Ms. Gai. The breakfast they provided are simple but adequate and to suit the personal preferences. The hotel decorations are really of romantic boutique style. It's very close to the night market and near by there are many Thai and Western food shops too. Very very pleased with the co-operation of the staffs.

Room Tip: The rooms C1, C2 & C3 are in a separate house and for groups the hotel arranges the whole house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emailswarup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I found the hotel and staff unpleasant. The room was old, door locks flimsy, the bathroom grungy and there was only one electric socket in the room. The location in relation to town was good, however the wall of the wat on the corner is frequently used as a public toilet, so walking by that every day was not very nice. There are much better options in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baskaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#149 of 381 in Chiang Mai
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#76 of 381 in Chiang Mai
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kavil Guesthouse
Kavil Guesthouse
#104 of 381 in Chiang Mai
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chiang Mai C.M. House
Chiang Mai C.M. House
#142 of 381 in Chiang Mai
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel M Chiang Mai
Hotel M Chiang Mai
#70 of 381 in Chiang Mai
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tapae Place Hotel
Tapae Place Hotel
#154 of 381 in Chiang Mai
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thapae Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thapae Boutique House

Property: Thapae Boutique House
Address: 4 soi 5 Thapae Rd | Changklan Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thapae Boutique House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious and immaculate rooms are finished in a harmonious blend of chocolate teak wood and cool pastel hues of green, lemon and cream. All have air-con and televisions. Beds are positively sleep inducing and mounted in custom designed teak frames. Bathrooms are spotless and elegantly finished with attractive fixtures and colorful ceramic tiling. Our large open air lobby gracefully leads to a lush garden patio. Located in the heart of downtown for your continence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thapae Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thapae Boutique House Hotel Chiang Mai
Thapae Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing