We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad sound insulation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thapae Boutique House
Ranked #116 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very bad sound insulation”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This boutique house is not up to the standard as its name claims. Run down room, zero noise insulation, dysfunctional bathroom door, poor breakfast are among the negative sides of this hotel. Any movement of my neighbour or anyone upstairs our room can be heard, especially the squeaky floorboard. The only positive thing is it's location which is only 5-7 min walk to Thapae Gate (eastern entrance to the old quarter) and 10-15min walk to night bazaar.

Room Tip: No fly screen on the window so room might be swamped with mosquitos in summer time if you need venti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnmcsls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    78
    35
    8
    11
See reviews for
18
79
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Good hotel, good service and room/bathroom were clean and comfortable. The bathroom wasn't perfectly clean, but it was good enough for me.
Breakfast is limited, only toast, eggs and sausage provided when requested (not as a buffet).
I would stay there again.
Good location!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

This is a nice little hotel right by the Thapae gate. The google pin is off though so beware! The pin will drop you at the intersection by the gate but the hotel is down one of the side streets.

Face the opening in the gate, now turn around and walk down the street leading away from the gate until you hit the white temple and the 7-11 on your right. Turn down that alley and the hotel is there.

The rooms are clean and decorated and the staff is very nice. The beds are a bit hard but that is my only complaint. Great little place to stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PtownNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Thapae Boutique House has a great location a short walk to the Thapae Gate in the old city. We chose this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and were very happy to have stayed here.

The lady at the front desk is very willing to help with any question or need and has good English. We were checked in swiftly and walked upstairs to our room (no lift, but the stairs are very easy to use).

The room was very spacious and clean and decorated nicely. There was 2 bottles of water provided daily, a fridge, safe and a few cupboards and wardrobe. The bathroom was nice and spacious, however with an open shower, the toilet tended to get a bit wet. The bathroom was clean however and shower comfortable.

The downstairs area is very nice, with lots of greenery and plants, however at night this is a haven for insects and mosquitoes - so if you want to use the computers at night, bring insect spray.

I would recommend this hotel for the proximity to Thapae gate, and also the fact that it is down a quiet lane so a nice place to retreat to.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank savvytraveller358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This hotel is very close to the Thapae Gate, however far enough away that the noise and commotion from the busy streets is avoided. The rooms are spacious and clean, and staff speak very good English and very accommodating - I had to print a few documents and they were happy to help. The rooms are aesthetically pleasing and bathroom clean and spacious, however the toilet had some trouble flushing, we do understand however that we didn't complain about this at the time, so the hotel didn't have a chance to rectify. The lobby area is nice to sit in during the day, as it's semi open and full of plants, however at night there are a lot of mosquitoes, especially sitting near the computers. The computers were good when they were working, but for half our stay one or both computers were broken. The American style breakfast is adequate, but better options could be had outside. We recommend you consider Thapae Boutique House when in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bushid0kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed 5 days and were very satisfied. The hotel has a great location, very near the Thapae Gate, yet a little off the main road which made for some much needed peace and quiet. Wifi is included and the room was spacious enough and kept clean. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast is the same everyday, not spectacular but good enough, and included in the room rate. There are plenty of places to eat in the neighbourhood, and it is easy walking distance to the Sunday market, and close enough to the night bazaar as well. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hammsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed at Thapae Boutique Hotel for 3 nights and had a good experience. The first night we were upgraded to a larger room upon check in (free of charge), which was very nice of them. After the first night (we booked only 1 night originally), we stayed 2 more, and would have stayed a third, however I was told they had no availability (despite rooms being available on Booking, the lady at the front told me there was an issue with Booking and they actually do not have a room). Room is clean, beds are pretty hard as others have said, however beds are very firm everywhere in SE Asia, so it is not a hotel specific issue. The bathroom is clean, however the tiling/caulking looked like it had seen better days.

Breakfast was good, the smoothie was delicious. Overall, for what you pay, this is a great location and decent value for your money. If ever back in Chiang Mai, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winnipeg1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#149 of 381 in Chiang Mai
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#76 of 381 in Chiang Mai
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kavil Guesthouse
Kavil Guesthouse
#104 of 381 in Chiang Mai
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chiang Mai C.M. House
Chiang Mai C.M. House
#141 of 381 in Chiang Mai
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tapae Place Hotel
Tapae Place Hotel
#157 of 381 in Chiang Mai
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roong Ruang Hotel
Roong Ruang Hotel
#169 of 381 in Chiang Mai
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thapae Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thapae Boutique House

Property: Thapae Boutique House
Address: 4 soi 5 Thapae Rd | Changklan Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thapae Boutique House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious and immaculate rooms are finished in a harmonious blend of chocolate teak wood and cool pastel hues of green, lemon and cream. All have air-con and televisions. Beds are positively sleep inducing and mounted in custom designed teak frames. Bathrooms are spotless and elegantly finished with attractive fixtures and colorful ceramic tiling. Our large open air lobby gracefully leads to a lush garden patio. Located in the heart of downtown for your continence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thapae Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thapae Boutique House Hotel Chiang Mai
Thapae Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing