We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$465
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$398
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$446/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
67
80
38
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
80
38
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthapae gategreat locationnight bazaarold cityhot and cold waterair conbreakfast each morningstayed dayswithin walking distanceshort walkwould definitely stay here againtvnoisethailandtiletaxistemple
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nothing to complain about. Clean, adequate bed, bathroom etc. Very quiet location. No breakfast but close to choices anyway. Staff friendly and try hard to help. Good value as location is right near the heart of things in CM.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank heat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

The people who run Thapae go out of their way to be helpful. Rooms are very clean, beds are comfortable and breakfast is good. Located in a Convenient location.

The only negative is that it can be noisy. I first was in room #1 and didn’t sleep much due to music at Thapae Gate until after 1am; also traffic noise and people on the street.

I informed the helpful staff the next morning and I was moved to a quieter location.

Even in this room though, you could hear people talking and foot steps while they are going up and down the tile staircase; there are a lot of stairs.

I recommend the hotel but light sleepers may have some difficulty.
The quietest rooms are up the stairs.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank greatskinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

we stayed 6 days here and it was fine. hot showers and okay wifi, not the best. housekeeping was great. bummed because i left some clothes outside to dry and someone snatched it.. lesson learned. the location is great! you can either go to the Old City or Bazaar easily. we walked everywhere. great stay! would come again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jennbear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

Very convenient location. Close to the markets and a 10 minute walk to the old town. We never needed to use taxis or tuk tuks. Really helpful and friendly staff. Lovely big room and spotlessly clean. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

If you like to sleep in potentially hazardous and unsanitary caves, the rooms at the Thapae Boutique House are for you.

Shortly after a surly receptionist had checked us into this shabby little hotel (neighbouring a loud construction site), we lugged our heavy bags up 3 flights of stairs to find our "bedroom."

The front door took a big push because it was taped down with duct tape - which I was later informed was in attempt to keep mosquitos out - sure. But we huffed and we puffed etc etc. And we made it in.

Slumping onto the bed I immediately smacked my back on what was an inch of foam, atop a wooden board. Our "mattress", ladies and gents.

So that's comfort out- let's go for cleanliness..

The walls, thick with dust and squashed insects, were the next highlight. In fairness, we could barely see the critter graveyard due to the room's lack of windows but the seedy motel circa 1963 vibe still wasn't really doing it for me.

There were several holes in the plaster of the walls and ceilings, which in one area had helpfully been covered up with a band aid. "Dirty or clean??" I hear you cry. Well, my friends, we didn't stick around long enough to find out.

We talked to another receptionist who helpfully informed me that all of the beds were "thin and hard" but that she would move us to another room.

Lugging the bags back downstairs with a strength that almost matched her eye roll, we tried again.

This time we were welcomed into yet another dank cave, this time complete with blood stained pillow cases, filthy bedspreads and an assurance that "they don't usually have problems with stealing from the rooms." If that doesn't give you the vote of confidence, I don't know what will.

Heading back down to complain again, we skidded across the muddy, water-logged lawn, back to our charming friend in reception.

Having been at the hotel for under an hour, we requested a full refund, which we were denied. After much arguing, they graciously agreed to take a quarter of our total payment for two nights, as a "booking fee" for our "stay." We left the hotel and checked into Vieng Mantra, a fabulous place about 10 minutes' walk down the street.

Advice from two weary travellers- if you'd rather spend your afternoon after checking into a hotel in the bar or at the pool, as opposed to identifying the bodies of long forgotten insects and furiously typing words with inverted commas into Trip Advisor reviews in order to satisfy your rage- do yourself a favour and give this one a miss!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews