We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely recommend this to any one”
Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #15 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stayed there for a total of 5 nights. After the first two nights we head out for a two day trekking tour and then came back for our final 3 nights. The service there is excellent. They treated us with such care that when we came back after our trekking tour, it felt like we were coming home. The staff makes you feel like you are more than just another guest. The rooms are so elegant and the breakfast, this was my favorite part, can be enjoyed anywhere and at any time so we never had to get up early just to have breakfast. The cocktails were heaven sent in the awesome heat and at night time we went to the roof bar where we sat comfortably sipping our night caps, before we went of to bed. The hotel is also perfectly situated in the old city and is there allot of temples within walking distance. As a matter of fact, there is a huge temple right across the street from the hotel, but not visible from the front door. You have to walk down an alley way, but it is truly beautiful. You will also find the library and museum there. Anything and everything can be reached from there and the staff are more than eager to assist with any of your needs. The only thing we would change is maybe have them heat their pool a bit. In the extreme heat we had it still froze our bones...lol

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyaDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,099 - 1,105 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2011

I have traveled all over the world, in very different types of accommodations (from budget to luxury). On Tripadvisor, I seldom give 5 stars to hotels, but I have no choice but giving full marks to this hotel. It is simply perfect.

This boutique hotel might be officially 4 stars, it is way better than almost all the five stars I have stayed in. In this hotel, everything is done to please the customer, on a discreet manner. They have this wonderful 24hours stay policy. You checked-in at 5 PM? you will be able to check out at 5 PM the next day! (or whatever day you check out) Breakfast can be served anytime, until 6 or 7 PM (yes PM!). We have toured extensively in the north and in Bangkok area, U Chiang Mai hotel offers the more tasty and diverse breakfast.

The location? you can't beat it: it is right at the centre of the city centre. The wonderful Sunday night market is at your doorstep!

The rooms are superbly designed. They are even better than advertised in their website. There is an Ipod and Ipod deck in every room with great music selection.
The swimming pool is just by your room and is very nice.

The staff was one of the highlight of our stay there. Not only were they extremely friendly and discreet but also gave us some very good tips (where to go, where to eat, where to take cooking classes). They organised the purchase of a last minute plane ticket ; all of this completely free of charge.

The hotel has a nice gym, they also offer yoga courses free of charge. They have bike at the disposal of their guests - also free of charge. Internet provided - free of charge.

This hotel is a gem. If you can afford it, definitely stay there. I can't recommend it enough!
(we paid 110 usd a night)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank strawberita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We already knew the U Chiang Mai from our last visit in Chiang Mai. We liked it so much that we we did not even look at other hotels.
The U Chiang Mai is a small exquisite boutique hotel. The location is great; this is probably the "most central" hotel in Chiang Mai. The Sunday walking street market takes place right in front of the hotel.
What we like most is the friendliness of the staff. Since the hotel is relatively small, the hosts know every guest. No matter if you need something or go dining in the restaurant, everyone without exception is friendly and helpful with the famous Thai smile. Even if you do not need anything, the staff will make suggestions and help you to plan your day. But of course, you can also spend a nice relaxing day at the pool and in the spa.
The restaurant is small, but the food is of best quality (try the "sticky rice with mangos"!).
Since we returned the second time, it was a very warm welcome. It was almost like coming home and meeting good friends again. And when we come to Chiang Mai again (we surely will), we already know where we will stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gueLinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

My best friend and I stayed at the U Chiang my for 3 nights during a short, last-minute trip to Chiang Mai from Bangkok. As a constant business traveller it is such a treat to stay in a hotel focused on relaxation, comfort and guest services. The U Chiang Mai did not disappoint. The location was outstanding 5 mins walking distance to 2 of the more impressive temples in Old Town Chiang Mai and to a variety of bars, cafes and restaurants providing everything from western/european food to traditional/regional Thai.

The staff upon arrival were gracious and helpful until we left the hotel well after our planned check out. Thanks for holding the baggage! I was most surprised at the variety of people staying at the hotel as well (families, older people, younger people, etc) - so clearly something for everyone all underpinned by the exceptional service.

U Chiang Mai has found a way to embrace a blend of modern luxury and old world charm - which is really what we wanted in accomodation at U Chiang Mai. The entire place is built around the original old manor home still standing and in use today as the main reception and upstairs spa and library - very cool!

Any visit to Chiang Mai will mean happily mean another stay at the U!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusLeisTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Small hotel but feel relax. Reasonable price. Good food. Nice service with great help. Good location but no parking. Good for short stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pangkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We stayed one week in this lovely cityhotel. In one word everything was excellent. Nothing to much, anything we wanted was fullfilled in à very short time. The manager and her staff knows how to treat their guests and made them feel very welcome and honored. We hope to come back. Highly recommanded!
JJL The Netherlands

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

The staff at U Chiang Mai have a passion for every one of their guests that comes from the very heart of their souls. They see their very purpose as to make each individual have a perfect stay with them. They understand a customer's need before the customer even knows it themselves. They seem to know instinctively what to do in any situation.
I have stayed at many great hotels throughout the UK and US. The service experience in this hotel is the best I have ever received. They are leading the field in global customer care. I guarantee you will not be disappointed with U Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob-GreatBritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 395 in Chiang Mai
3,213 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#31 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#39 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £89 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing