We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of calm in the middle of Chiang Mai old town”
Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #15 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Arriving on Sunday afternoon we were soon treated to the Sunday Market - not to be missed - you can't anyway as it runs right along the street outside the hotel! The service from reception to the restuarant and bar is attentive. The whole hotel (which with 41 rooms) is quiet. The pool area is small but adequate although we think the hotel was not fully occupied post Songkran. The all day breakfast is an excellent feature with freshly cooked options if required. The bar lacks atmosphere except on Sunday as it overlooks the market.

In all in all, we enjoyed our stay, it is well positioned in the centre of the Old Town and easily accessible. The daily night market is in easy walking distance, three small but homely cheap restaurants opposite.

As a base for exploring the area which is what we wanted, it is ideal and you will feel welcome and appreciated. It is not the centre of Chiang Mai night life but there are plenty of locus buses or tuk tuks to take you to whereever you want to go.

Room Tip: There are rooms on 3 floors, stairs only no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krrgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,086 - 1,092 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2011

This was one of the best hotels that we've ever stayed at - on the outside, it doesn't look like much, but when you walk into the lobby, you will be transformed into an oasis. Across the street are a variety of excellent restaurants - I would go to the Ratchadamnoen Kitchen, where the food is extremely delicious and also very cheap. The staff are also very helpful and accommodating, always making sure that our stay was good and making the appropriate arrangements for tours, etc - we just told them what we wanted to do and they arranged the rest. We got the "U Love" package which included a massage for both me and my wife, and a lovely poolside dinner, plus airport transfer, which we felt was very good value for the money. The hotel is also located right outside the main street for the excellent Sunday night market, as other reviewers have pointed out, so if you are staying there, try to stay for the weekend.

Pros

Very friendly and helpful staff
Right outside the main street during the Sunday night market

Cons

I wish they had let me keep the comfortable silk slippers!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCTH_PhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights after being in Bangkok. Immediately liked Chiang Mai much more than Bangkok - it has a more relaxed, compact feel (and much cheaper too!). The hotel is quite small but beautifully designed - best features include the very polite and welcoming staff, free WiFi and well designed rooms.

We were upgraded on arrival to a poolside room - complete with a mini porch which was a sun-trap in the afternoon. The room was spacious, huge, very comfortable bed and great bathroom with walk in shower and lovely toiletries. Only negatives were the very noisy air-con / pipes at night, and the seemingly undefeatable mozzies! A mosquito net around the bed would have been a welcome addition.

There's a nice (small) pool area where you can chill out, only about 8 sun beds though, so don't bank on getting one!

We ate twice at the The Kitchen restaurant just opposite which served fantastic, very cheap Thai food which you would struggle to better.

Chiang Mai is a great place to get out and see some of the beautiful countryside - we'd recommend a day trip to Doi Inthanon which is simply stunning.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sir_Doctor_Of_Tardis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
8967
Reviewed 15 April 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights following a 2 week trip around southern Thailand. This boutique hotel was a wonderful change. Very Zen like entrance & lobby. Location was great, walking distance to so many things. Plenty of restaurants in the area and lots to see in the old city. I requested a quiet room and staff was very accommodating. The room was a fair sized with comfortable bed, modern furniture and good sized bathroom. Shower only no tub. Air condition worked well and the seating area on the attached balcony provided a comfortable reading space.

Breakfast was good, order a main item off a menu; fruit, meat, cereal, yogurt bar too. I didn't take advantage of the eat anywhere anytime of day policy as the mosquitoes were too pesky for me.

Staff was fantastic. They all spoke great English and were very helpful in assisting in any plans or questions I had. They made it a point to know me as a person. Wifi was free here.They had cool towels in the fridge of fitnes room which was wonderful when returning after an outing. The Sunday market is outside the hotel but not a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

I have to agree with the many positive reviews of this hotel. It is in an excellent location (especially for the sunday market, the heart of which is on the hotel's front steps). The price is right, and the service and staff is out of this world. If I had to find a negative to mention it would be that the laundry service provided through the hotel is overpriced, but they did a great job of cleaning the clothes. It would have been about 10 times less if we just did it somewhere on the street in chaing mai. If you want a upscale (or business) hotel while in chiang mai, or just want an island of tranquility in this city, this is the first and last place you need to look.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowseekerWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

good service and nice staff very helpful they made my vacation good location unforgettable

Room Tip: it is really a good place running by nice people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1happytraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We got into pool access room, which is really nice. Overall service and room are five stars... Location is right at the sunday walking street.

There are little space for parking in front, but reception will manage the parking for u.

Only one comment is that the pool are too much with Chlorine, smell bad after

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yinglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 395 in Chiang Mai
3,206 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,008 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#37 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £89 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing