We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #14 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

The hotel was a real find. I loved the location in the middle of old town. I thought the staff was very friendly, and really looked after your every need. They sat us down as soon as we checked in, and helped us finalize our plans for the rest of our stay, and made sure we hit all the highlights. The rooms were extremely clean, and the daily breakfast, which is included, is wonderful. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnophileCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    320
    66
    16
    7
See reviews for
207
760
73
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

At the end of a 3 week trip in Thailand, this special place was the perfect ending. We only wish we found it at the beginning! Perfection from the very first moment. The location is tucked away on a not-so-busy street, yet so near to the areas you would wish to explore. Once you walk into this special place, you immediately feel the tranquility and beauty. The staff were all so kind and professional. From our room, you could see the the sunset, zen courtyard, and amazing pool. I loved sitting out on our balcony and enjoying the soft music in our room. I can't imagine any better place. The whole experience was lovely - every bit!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GladForThisMoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed two nights at this hotel with my mother when she came to visit me in Chiang Mai. We loved our stay from the moment we stepped into the hotel. The design is striking- a perfect mix of old Thai Style (the main building is an old Teak house) and colorful modern decor. The rooms were lovely with super comfortable mattresses. scented towels and special personal touches. The pool is a delight and very elegant. The staff was extremely helpful and even accommodated a bicycle tour for us around Chiang Mai. Oh yes, and the breakfast was absolutely delicious! Best breakfast I have had in Chiang Mai. Thank you so much for a wonderful time!!! I can't wait to come back : )

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabbyChiangMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This hotel was great in every way. The food was outstanding, the people were great, the design of the place in general was tremendous, the room was remarkable, I can't thonk of a bad thong about it!

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Fritz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Very stylish and ‘boutique’. Everything was visually very pleasing, though sometimes at the expense of comfort . All the staff were very welcoming and helpful. We particularly appreciated the fact that we could take our breakfast at any time during the day. Great location in the centre of the old town with the Sunday market in the street right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms open straight out on to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Highly recommend this little gem in the heart of the city. Loved staff, breakfast, bikes, fruit in room every day & lovely rooms with great beds.

Room Tip: All are pretty much the same except for those on the lower floor with a splash pool outside their do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happi-Natti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We arrived very late at night, but despite that, the staff were alert and helpful from the moment we got there. The welcome gift is a selection between 3 different Thai soaps. We had a hard time deciding which ones to choose, so Zoe, the lady at the front desk, gave us all three because she "wanted us to try them all!" Also, each person gets a free drink from the minibar as a welcome drink. It was the little things like this that made the stay perfect.

The property is an oasis in the city, the perfect mix of contemporary and ancient Thai decoration. It has a pool and a beautiful (albeit a bit stuffy) library and spa. The rooms are fantastic too - a tad small but beautifully/traditionally decorated. There's free WiFi throughout the hotel as well.

The staff is a dream -- so helpful! A special shout-out goes out to Zoe. You were so great in helping us plan every aspect of our time in Chiang Mai since we didn't have anything planned! Despite all the questions and the late-night plans, you never got frustrated!! We appreciate it so much and you were one of the main reasons we loved this hotel!

The breakfast is delicious and is served anywhere, anytime! Once, we went out early in the morning and so didn't have breakfast at the hotel, so instead we came back and had breakfast for lunch by the pool. The waitstaff is really helpful and the iced Thai coffee is superb!!

This is definitely the perfect place to stay in Chiang Mai -- definitely one of my favorite hotels in the whole world! I can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor -- I don't believe there are any elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtraveler9871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.9 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
1.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Property: U Chiang Mai
Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing