We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon stay at U Chiang Mai - Hotel & Staff are great”
Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #12 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Honeymoon stay at U Chiang Mai - Hotel & Staff are great”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Our third stop in Thailand for our honeymoon and our favourite. Having never been to Chiang Mai before we were a little unsure what to expect. The hotel is right in the heart of the old town and situated on a quiet street (quiet for Thailand). The hotel has many positives going for it;
Situated right in the middle of old town and the walking district. You can walk to the various temples, to the areas the back-packers frequent, to bars, to restaurants. Excellent location.
The hotel has a really great feel about it, small yet with all the mod-cons you could want. Free Wi-fi throughout the hotel, iPod in your room.
The room was gorgeous (think we were upgraded to the one up from standard). Really spacious with everything you need.
Breakfast (available anywhere & at any time during the day) was excellent. We also ate in the restaurant on the first night, although empty apart from us the food was really nice.
The staff are the hotel's biggest attribute. We were met by a lovely girl called Zoe who made us fel at ease straight away and talked us through the hotel facilities and also what we could do in Chiang Mai. Throughout our stay the staff were helpful and very knowledgeable. They organised a trip to the mountain Temple and various taxi's or tok toks as we ventured out.

If I return to Chiang Mai I know were I will be staying. Thanks for a great stay!

Graham & Clair

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    329
    67
    16
    7
See reviews for
216
787
76
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
178 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Great hotel, with a lot of character! I booked 6 months in advance but had the option to choose the soap and shampoo types and even the music to listen to in the room. Breakfast was great too. It's centrally located and the staff are really friendly staff. Best of all is the 24 hour policy where you check in any time and must vacate 24 hours later, really innovative and useful for those arriving late at night!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alkis_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We spent 8 nights at the U in June/July. The location is excellent. Staff do everything they can to make your stay a memorable one. We had two rooms on the secong floor overlooking the pool. Rooms were large and beds comfortable. No problems arranging tours etc from the hotel. The U has a good restaurant and breakfast was also good. We had room service on some occasions and the BLT is pretty good. If you like dining out there ane many options nearby. Having been to Phuket on a previous holiday it was a pleasure to arrive in Chiang Mai which had a more laid back feel, especially being located in the old city. The sunday market is also a blast, where all you have to do is walk out the front of the motel and your in it. Overall can't really fault the U at all. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

After a week or so of staying in guest houses in North West Thailand we decided to treat ourselves to a bit of luxury while in Chiang Mai. The U Hotel was everything we hoped for and more. The hotel's decor is modern but distinctly Thai. Our room was large, luxuriously appointed, a good size and very quiet. The staff and service provided were exceptional. Ideally situated on Ratchadamnoen Road in the centre of the old city and across the road from the impressive Wat Chedi Luang, I couldn't think of a better base for your stay in this wonderful city.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

What a great little boutique type hotel...right in the centre of the old town with great restaurants just across the road and within walking distance of night/day markets - we got a tuk-tuk there for 100bht and walked back (about 15minute slow walk). Staff were very helpful, our bed was sooo comfortable, the room was I think, a bit bigger than the ones along the corrider (we were at the end of the corrider), we had all the comforts plus a balcony with a fan for sitting reading etc. Our room was really quite big so the others would be more than ample. Everything about the place was lovely. The spa girls great...had the best facial and face massage ever! The only thing I would have liked, was for the staff to tell us about the fantastic 700yr old pergoda in a huge area behind the shops across the road. I walked down the little lane across from the breakfast room as I had seen lots of monks and other people coming from the lane and then wow! this huge area with the highest pergoda in Thailand there with all sorts of Buddhist buildings surrounding it, including a history museum.
Would recommend this hotel and we are quite fussy.
Thanks to the staff for all of their help organising drivers, places to go etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrancisK1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Positives:
- Staff was incredibly nice...helped us out with booking day excursions and tickets to the thai boxing...had good food recommendations, etc.
- Many of the rooms on the bottom floor face the pool and you basically have a little private area of the pool
- Breakfast was good and they deliver it to your room if you wish
- Great location in the old city...we walked to every sight

Nothing negative to say about the place...I highly recommend it

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dubin15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed 3 nights at this charming boutique hotel, centrally and perfectly located in the old town.
The staffs were truly first class in every aspects ~ genuinely helpful, courteous and welcoming.
The room is well setup and serviced daily.
Highly, highly & highly recommended place to stay with a world class service by world class staffs.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jebat2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,811 reviews
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,060 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,954 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 381 in Chiang Mai
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Property: U Chiang Mai
Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing