We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Great Staff, Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #14 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Staff, Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Arriving in Chiang Mai quite late since we went to Chatuchak Weekend market before flying to Chiang Mai. It was about 2300, at the time we first step into hotel, my girlfriend and I "wow" together, the entrance lobby represents Chiang Mai the best, simple but nice!

The staff checked us in very efficiently and provided the room I have requested before, high floor (though there are only 3 floors) and pool-facing, the view is great, can see the roof of Wat Chedi Luang, the central point of Chiang Mai Old City. We can also choose our own flavour of soap, though we prefer choice of shower gel more.

Breakfast is very special, serve nearly all day and you can have your breakfast everywhere you want, 6 sets of breakfast including a certain number of options within each choices. Just call the front desk or order it the night before.

U Chiang Mai located at the old city centre, the Sunday Walking Street is just in front of the hotel, we shop and unload our stuffs quite a number of time until the walking street started to close around 2300.

The staff there are all very helpful, nice and patient. At the first night we seek for a number of electrical adapter for charging our gadgets, at first they could only let us have one, but after a few minutes they get us one more, we are so delighted that we can have our phones charged at the same time! On the day we check out, it was raining heavily, the staff are so nice that they help us to load all our luggages on the taxi across the streets!!!

We strongly recommend this hotel if you want a pleasant and peaceful stay in Chiang Mai but would not want to sacrifice convenience!

Only one little point to raise, the water pressure is not quite stable, hope it is due to i am leaving on high floors.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimpsonMKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    320
    66
    16
    7
See reviews for
207
760
73
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed 6 nights at U Chiang Mai in july and we fell in love with this place. The hotel is beautiful, rooms are big and clean. It is located in the heart of the old city. The pool is nice and refreshing. The food is absolutely delicious. The staff is VERY kind and helpful. Thanks again to Zoe who helped us many times. We will never forget our stay at U Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RejeanHoule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We expended 4 days in Chiang Mai in July 2012 traveling in Thailand with our 12 years old daughter. The Hotel is new and in perfect conditions. Nice and comfortable rooms, very good location in the center of the town, meals good and reasonable price, a lot of options for breakfasts and friendly treatment. Just what we expected.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Javier_PBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bladel, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

This luxureous hotel is located in the centre of Chiang Mai. Oasis of rest The rooms are very clean in a quite surrounding, nice, modern and clean pool with e few beds around, good food through the whole day available. Perfect and helpfull Staff in good English. We had a great time with our family.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anton v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We spent five days at the U Chiang Mai hotel. The accomodations were well appointed and the staff was excellent! The location is perfect, particularly if you are staying on a Sunday evening as the Sunday Night Market is right outside of your door! I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone traveling to Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCGymmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

A great location, staff, food & service. You can have breakfast anywhere and the setting is a bit different. Would request a ground floor room next time. The staff were so helpful & obliging. Located in the Old Part, very central and have street market outside on Sunday evenings

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashburtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

This hotel really delivered perfect service, the best of servive of all hotels we visited in Thailand. The hotel is cosy, rooms with very comfortable beds and beautifully decorated. Good breakfast with cappuccino and fresh fruit. Central location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.9 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
1.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Property: U Chiang Mai
Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing