We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need more clean Service good n convenient location”
Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #13 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The hotel storage is not tidy
U can see extra bed n box beside the stairs
The floor is not clean
Towel in room is old n broken the edge
The color already fade out
Full of dust n many small fly mosqueto in the room
Neighbour hood area not clean
Kitchen breakfast the staffs perfect

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitkpkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satchaphan P, General Manager at U Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Dear Khun Kitkpkit,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience at U Chiang Mai.

On behalf of all staff, we truly appreciate your candid feedback regarding our product and physical appearance.

Our Housekeeping team has been reminded to ensure that the standard of cleanliness is maintained at all times. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortfalls. We also would like to inform you that we are in the process of replacing all our towels and the next shipment should be delivered shortly.

Nevertheless we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast service and complimented us highly in this area.

U Chiang Mai continually strives to make improvements to provide the very best experience for all of our guests. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Satchaphan Phakdeesiri (Mr.)
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

855 - 861 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

NIce little hotel, modern and comfortable, set on the main street with its manic Sunday Night Market. Once inside though, you won't hear a thing. It's a little haven. It's right in the centre of the old town, near some cafes and plenty of massage parlours and temples! Sitting at breakfast, you can look across the road and watch the young monks come and go. The rooms are a good size, nicely decorated in what I thought was more Moroccan than Thai, with a balcony overlooking the pool. Good bathroom and shower. I found the pool uninviting as it's all black marble, I prefer a pool which looks blue and inviting, this one just looked cold. Breakfast is good and as others have said, the staff are wonderful. Didn't use the spa as there's a good one just next to the hotel but the rooms looked nice. You can take a bike and explore, or join a tour group to the mountains, the staff will sort it all out for you with a smile.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Priss58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

From the outside, it is just look simple and ordinary. But the moment we stepped inside into the lobby, the whole feeling changed. The small lobby is well blended with the pool and the 3 blocks of rooms. We just felt we don't want to go anywhere else. The staffs are friendly and rooms very comfortable. A bit expensive but worth the our stay. We would return again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I think you can already get a good idea of the hotel by reading the reviews made by other travellers, I just want to add my comments on the staff. They were simply great. I borrowed a bike from the hotel to visit the city and when the key to unlock the bike broke, they paid the taxi back to the hotel (bike included). When using the training facilities, they were there to turn on the A/C, provide a towel, water, etc. In short, very efficient. You can't go wrong by booking with them.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Narnian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The design was very simple and very neat. in front of the hotel it looks like a very normal building, but when u go in, u feel very comfortable and warm since each building was very close to each other. The location was also really good as it is right on the street of the sunday night market. We was there in mothers day and i think that the little treats for the special occasions were very nice. The staffs were also very helpful. The restaraunt was very nice, the breakfast and the dinner was very yummy. We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YLSiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Service from hotel staff absolutely faultless and a real strength of the hotel. Excellent location right in the middle of the old town- a bit dead at night (but do go to the Writers' Bar across the road) but near all the sights during the day. The room was very nice- spacious, clean, well-kept, facilities all good. Public areas of hotel are getting a bit tired but still function well. Pool is lovely although some more sun loungers wouldn't go amiss- I never got onto one because they were always full. Overall though an excellent hotel. We liked the anytime breakfast deal, too, and the bar definitely knew how to mix a good cocktail. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aemwwlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Go for a deluxe room if you can! Ours opened up to a semi private pool (105). Wish the weather had been more cooperative. Bathroom is spacious though sink area is a bit small for toiletries. Choices of soaps is nice touch and hard to choose. Staff is extremely helpful. Easy to walk to several sites. Definitely recommend

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are a little larger. Ours opened to a semi private pool(#105). Too bad the weather wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathyvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,073 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 392 in Chiang Mai
994 reviews
1.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 392 in Chiang Mai
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £100 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing