We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel with helpful staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #14 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with helpful staff.”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed at U Chiang Mai from the 9th of November until the 13th of November 2012 it was a very nice hotel with helpful staff.
The room we had was very nice a small complaint might be the water pressure was a bit low but that is a minor. Breakfast was good we did not eat in the hotel restaurant in the evening. The hotel is on a main street but you don’t hear any traffic noise. There is a big street market on a Sunday right outside the hotel which is useful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    935
    318
    66
    16
    7
See reviews for
206
756
72
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Beautiful small hotel in Chiang Mai located on the road, at the market on Sunday night.
Good location and perfect service. Very tasteful decor and many small lovely details.
Particularly beautiful courtyard pool with direct access from the rooms on the ground floor.
You can really feel very comfortable and make small daily excursions in the neighborhood. Even with bike that you can borrow for free there. Even in technically good condition!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark2475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

Theres not much to add to all the great reviews on his hotel. The rooms are super, location and breakfast both excellent but it's the staff that really make this hotel. Please try it out, we had the very best stay, and no hesitation in recommending U Chiang Mai, as thankfully our friends did for us! You'll adore it here!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmagray1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmhaven, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Hotel 8 of our 9 hotel honeymoon journey and easily the most unique. Stayed here on a tip from a friend and very glad we did. The personal touch was evident from check in. Choosing room fragrances, I pod content and when and where to have breakfast. A decorated room and complimentary honeymoon drinks also made for a great start to our five night stay. Direct entry from the room to the pool and a unique room decor with a traditional Thai flavour added to the wow factor. Location is solid in the old city on walking street, Sunday markets. Plenty of good restaurant around, one rachamadeon, straight over the road. Super friendly staff that accommodate all requests, along with all the other high points makes for a top place to stay....thank 'U'...

Room Tip: Request pool access room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henryboy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

This smaller hotel located in the old city of Chiang Mai is perfect. It is quiet, clean and the employees cater to your every need. Has an excellent restaurant for breakfast and a great spa. Pools to enjoy and the inner courtyard is quiet and serene. You are within walking distance of some great places to eat and a very large temple. Rooms were spotless. Perhaps the best part of the U Chiang Mai hotel is while it is not a large chain hotel, or even a 5 star hotel, the staff makes you feel at home and welcome. I would highly recommend this hotel for a quiet no fuss place to spend you leisure in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WSCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed in Chiang Mai the first week of our two week stay in Thailand. My wife, who always does heaps of research on every place we stay at, came up with U Chiang Mai, and as always was spot on with her choice. It's perfectly located right in the middle of the Old Town in the desirable "Walking Street", lots of places to eat & drink and shop, or get massaged, within a leisurely stroll of the hotel. If possible, try and include a Sunday in your stay, as there is a fantastic open market set up in the Walking Street and some of the side streets. The streets are closed to vehicular traffic after 4pm (till midnight) and there is a fantastic bazaar vibe about the place. There's local goods for sale, local food & local entertainment. There's even a temporary BB Gun shooting range,15 shots for 10 baht (35 cents!!).
Back to the staff at U Chiang Mai, they are open and friendly and really make that extra effort to
smile and greet you whenever you pass by, Zoe & Kat on Reception were fantastic and helpful.
My wife had her birthday while we were staying there and completely out of the blue, Food & Beverage Manager Tony and his staff Som & Aey came to our room with a special Birthday cake and sang Happy Birthday to her and took photos with their iPhone! Very touching and totally unexpected. We arrived in Bangkok and got an email from them with the pictures attached, how's that for caring about your customers!!
Also when you're in Chiang Mai make sure you have at least one "special" dinner out at the Tamarind Village Restaurant, again the staff were fantastic and made my wife feel very special. The band and staff brought out cake, gathered around our table and sang her Happy Birthday
just like she was one of the family! As the World becomes one big commercialised city it's just great to find these small out of the way places where genuine people really do care, and not because a "Corporate Mission Statement" says they do!

Room Tip: Higher floors are very private but no elevator. Some ground floor rooms open out on the swimming poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This little retreat was the start of our honeymoon for 5 days which was brilliant! Its located literally in the centre of Chiang Mai! We had a suite with access from the balcony to a small pool which suited us just fine. All the rooms are quite secluded with immaculate dark wood & black interiors which are very tastefully done. Our room was very spacious & cleaned daily. The staff are also incredibly helpful & there's nothing they won't help you with. Any questions or problems we had were dealt with no stress including organising excursions & transfers. There's a lovely restaurant with a good menu, wine bar on the roof terrace, small gym, a reading room & very nice treatment room. The prices for the treatments are reasonable however we found a cheaper & sufficient salon a few doors down. A great perk of U Chiang Mai, if you booked with breakfast, they served breakfast any time of day whether it was in the restaurant or to your room (which we did every day) so there was no having to get up early & breakfast/brunch on the balcony was a daily pleasure! We loved this little hide away & would definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MavenAdviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
2,283 reviews
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 375 in Chiang Mai
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,770 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,922 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Property: U Chiang Mai
Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#44 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#63 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing