We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very nice spot”
Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #15 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Fantastic smells, they thought of everything in the room. The decor combines northern Thai style with modern chic. Right in the center of town. Nice night market on the weekends which is less pressure and more Thais that the actual Night Bazaar. I will most definitely visit here again. I am actively looking forward to it.

Room Tip: It is a walk up hotel - but the higher rooms have a view of the Chedi across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

850 - 856 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012

Came here last year and was so delighted that we made this the end point of our 4 week indochina tour. We requested the same room as last year (104 deluxe room) that is next to the pool on the ground floor, however, last year the hotel was much quiter and this year being busy made the room less private and peaceful, particularly some unruly children running right past the room and sunbeds. If we do another vist will request a 3rd floor room for more privacy and peace.

Service levels remain as efficient and courteous as before and most of the time the hotel is a tranquil oasis of charm and peace.

Clearly timing a quieter time to visit would be advantageous, we were here during the Constitution Day long weekend, busy time!

Room Tip: If peace and privacy is an issue, be wary of getting ground floor room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankandliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

The moment you check into and then ultimately leave the U Chiang Mai is a perfect experience where everyone is willing to help out in any way! They are warm, friendly, and have the answers to help you get through the city! They even assisted us in getting a painting packed and parceled back to us in the US! Stepping into the U is a very tranquil and relaxing experience that we truly appreciated!

We stayed in a deluxe room with our own affinity pool and the accommodations were superb. There is some mosquitos and geckos to contend with, but let the staff know and they will help to manage these kinds of issues.

The location is right on the main street that runs through the old city of Chiang Mai and will allow you to get to wherever you need to go. Plenty of Tuk Tuks and Red vans stop by there.

Also, next door is a very good reflexology place, and a Wicked tailor! They made our group suits custom made and delivered as expected. Ask for Pherooz.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnDTravels1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We enjoyed our 3 night stay. The spa, breakfast, pool, and service were the highlights. The hotel also offers a number of free activities in the mornings. We signed up for the Yoga and had a great experience. The staff was always helpful with dinner suggestions and transfers. The central location was close to a lot of sites. Breakfast was above average with a buffet and a menu selection.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TIAdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Staff was very helpful and activities are easy to plan through the front desk. Very clean, lovely interior, nice spa for which they provided extensive discounts (which is good since there are many spas nearby). Didn't eat there but the inexpensive restaurants across the street had delicious food. Pool mainly shaded. 4th floor room had a lovely view of the chedi at night. Perfect location within Old City for lots of walking.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
Thank SDM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

After Bangkok and a stay there in one of the big hotels U hotel was a superb change: good location, small, but stylish, very comfortable, friendly staff and a very personal atmosphere. I would really like to come back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the pool. I had one on the 3rd floor, some stair climbing (good exercise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HWP1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days in November and were most impressed by the impeccable service we received. The hotel is small and intimate and very stylish. Although the decor is a little too dark for my liking and there are too many steps to negotiate, these hiccups became insignificant in the light of the very thoughtful service we received. We were assigned a room on the 3rd floor as there were none available on the ground floor but we were very quickly moved to the ground floor as soon as a room became available. This was very helpful as there are no elevators and my poor knees just cannot cope with the stairs.
We enjoyed free wifi for each of our devices, a real blessing as we needed to stay connected. The buffet breakfast was top quality, with our choice of main course cooked to perfection. We were even invited to order more than one main course if we wanted but we did not need to do that as what we had was more than sufficient.
The hotel location is pretty good with lots of sightseeing if you like visiting temples and plenty of cheap and good eats all around the hotel.
The service from the moment we arrived to the very last day was par excellence - smiling faces, cheerful greetings and a genuine desire to please. And what took the cake, yes literally, was the staff whipping out a cake to help celebrate the birthday of a member of our group. No one had told them about it so how did they know? Simple. They had noted the details in our passports and had taken the trouble to collude with other members of the group to organize a surprise for the birthday girl. And after we had got home, they sent us the photos they had taken of the " party". What attention to detail!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard pool - the view is really pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Essie2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,107 reviews
1.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 395 in Chiang Mai
3,215 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#31 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#39 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £89 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing