We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel!”
Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #13 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I stayed at U Chiang Mai for 4 nights and I'm very glad I did. This hotel completely surpassed my expectations for service - I've been telling everyone about it. The staff are so polite, kind and helpful.

The hotel is well located - about 15 mins walk from the Chiang Mai Night Bazaar and a convenient ATM just outside the hotel.

One evening I tried the U Spa, a 90 minute Thai Lanna Massage which was on discount for only 499 Baht and I didn't want it to end :)

If I travel to Chiang Mai again, I won't have to think twice about where to stay. A superb hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haroon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

747 - 753 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at U Chiang Mai and it was simply fabulous. Located within the old city, the road outside becomes a walking street market on sundays which is a must.

Only 15 minutes from the airport, the warm reception we received was excellent and we both got to choose which soap fragrance we would like in our rooms. Each of us was given a free drink from the mini bar and water was topped up daily.

Our room was a standard room with king bed and balcony. The rooms are decorated in modern thai design and the small extras and attention to detail throughout the resort and rooms are beautiful.

The pool was a godsend after you have been out all day in the heat and when lying out there for an afternoon, you wouldn't know there is a city just outside.

Breakfast was also excellent, the option to have it in your room is such a great idea, if only other hotels could offer this!

All in all, don't hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vic1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This is a beautiful, small, boutique hotel in the heart of Chiang Mai. We were SO happy that we found this place. We arrived on a Sunday in order to experience the Sunday Night Market and we were glad that we did. This market was one of the most unique experiences and you literally walked out of the hotel front entrance into this incredible street market.
Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and given a selection of soaps to choose from. The front desk staff continued to be helpful, friendly and kind throughout our visit.
The rooms are clean, not huge, but sufficient size for a "city" hotel and have everything you need. They have great balconies where we would hang out an read and just chill after a day out on the town or excursions.
The workout room is small, hot, but met all of my needs to get in a few sessions while traveling. They have a selection of weights, cable machine and cardio equipment. If you put the air conditioning on, it cools down enough to get a workout in.
The pool is a wonderful thing to come back to in the afternoons after a hot day out exploring. On occasion we were unable to get lounge chairs, which would be my only complaint.
The breakfast was excellent. We enjoyed the different ways you could have eggs prepared and the nice selection of fruits, juices, breads, jams and coffee. The waiters were very attentive and the coffee was good as well.
If you are looking for a hotel in a great location that offers some peace and quiet from the busy city, this hotel is for you!
We loved the U Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Winslow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We were given a pool-access room with french doors out to our own private pool. The room and shower-room were both large and the bed large and super-comfortable. An excellent breakfast was included, which we could take at any time of day. I used points for the room but had checked the rate and it was very reasonably priced. We were also told that checkout time was flexible - we checked out after 5 p.m. as we had an evening flight for no extra charge. The staff are extremely helpful, and organised a car with English-speaking driver/guide to take us out touring one day, while we walked easily to the city-centre sites (including many temples and the night market) on another. Happy to recommend this hotel. Has a spa, but we didn't try it out.

Room Tip: A few of the ground-floor rooms have direct access to private pools - worth requesting one of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

All the other reviews say it all.This is a beautiful hotel , with great staff and a perfect location. The pool side room was beautiful and refreshing, with steps right into the pool. Great bathroom , plenty of towels and nice soap. Housekeeping did a great job..The reception and breakfast staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast has a wide selection of fruits and pastries as well as items off the menu. The hotel is in the perfect location, close to restuarants and shops. Plan to be there on a Sunday for the market. The whole street turns into a walking market and it is one of the best markets we have been to. We ate our way along the market - great food. I suggest taking out the bikes, it's a great way to see the old town. Use bug spray - Mosquitos were EVERYWHERE . Want a beautiful hotel with the perfect location ? Stay here .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaLa0516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is central in Chiang Mai & the Sunday walking market happens on the street outside. The room was perfect and with all the right touches. Its described as boutique and this for once is correct. Breakfast was generally good but did have the odd glitch where we were forgotten. Pool is perfect after a day of visits.

Room Tip: Recommend a room away from the road first floor but some ground floor rooms have a plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Old60timer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at U Chiang Mai in March. The reception area was lovely as well as our greeting from the staff. We were thrilled with our rooms. They were so beautiful. We had great service, great advise at a truly beautiful small hotel. The location can not be beat for walking in town. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abbie-StuartF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,073 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 392 in Chiang Mai
994 reviews
1.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 392 in Chiang Mai
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £100 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelClick, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and LateRooms so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing