We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility in old center”
Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #11 of 384 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Aarschot, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tranquility in old center”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Upon checking in we were guided to our room. We booked a deluxe room with pool access. I would recommend this roomtype as you'll have your own private stretch of pool which is nice after an exhausting day. The room was spacious with very nice linnen and everything looked very clean and well maintained. This hotel looks after the details. You even choose your type of soap, a nice and small touch that makes it all stand out. There is free water and we were given two welcome drinks from the minibar. The host told us we could take two free drinks a day but that's were the language barrier kicked in. I wondered if she really said daily and not just today. So I double checked with her and yes daily. Well we ended up paying for the "free" drinks when we checked out. But I forgive them as the staff is really trying their best to help you out. And all other minor issues were resolved within a reasonable time. Bathroom again is very spacious and modern. Nice rainshow and plenty of lights which is needed as there is not a lot of daylight in the bathroom.
The breakfast is basic but nice. There is a small choice of eggs, noodles etc that are made at the spot. The quality is very nice and I do prefer a smaller quality breakfast over a huge breakfast full of instant stuff. Again staff is very friendly and on top of it. Same goes for the frontdesk staff.
This is the place to stay at if you are looking for afforable luxury in the old city center. Everything you need to see is within walking distance. And if you don't like walking you can easily ride a bike that is offered for free. The bikes a rather new so in very good condition. Desk offers daytrips but I would recommend booking with another touroperator as you'll get a much better rate. No negotiation about the rate here.

Room Tip: Take a deluxe room and make sure to ask for poolaccess with strech of privatepool. These rooms are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwinaarschot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,003
    334
    67
    17
    7
See reviews for
227
801
78
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This place was a great choice for anyone who wants to stay at the best location of Chiang Mai, it is in the middle of Sunday walking street and 5 mins away from Wat Pha Singh Temple.
The service there was very good and the staff was super friendly.
I would come back here again next time!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We loved staying at U Chiang Mai! This hotel is located within the "Old City" (inside the walls), which puts you at the center of the city. Majority of the temples are within a walkable distance...we pretty much walked everywhere.

When we went, it was the lantern festival...which is held outside of the wall, near the river. We grabbed a tuk-tuk (relatively cheap) and hopped to the river within 10 minutes.

Service: The most charming, helpful service here. They helped us with anything we needed and were always smiling.

The Room: The room we had was on the third floor overlooking the pool in the courtyard. The room was quiet, trendy, clean! One thing to note is that this place is very high tech. So it only allows you to turn on the AC / lights when your room key is in the slot next to the door. There were some days we wished it was already cold when we got back from our long day of walking...but it's get cool fast.

Breakfast: Every morning, we grabbed breakfast downstairs. Great breakfast selection. Great service. My favorite was the congee...oh and i loved the banana jam for my toast!

Massage Services: We got massages here one night. Great massage. Obviously a little pricier than the ones you see on the street but it was serene... we enjoyed it!

Overall: We would not hesitate to recommend this place. It is a beautiful, small property within the Old City which gives you access to a lot of the famous wats (temples). The service here is amazing and we are thankful for everything they did for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel based on the reviews and like most, u chiang lived up to them!
Great location although it took us a moment to find where the good shops were!
Staff very friendly and didn't have too much difficulty with English.
The room was great, spotless, modern and the bed was very comfy!
The shower was a little but disappointing but only staying three nights it wasn't such an issue.
My only bad thing to take away from our stay was that our room was right next to what appeared to be a back door to the kitchen and from the outside, right next to the entrance to the dining.
All three nights we stayed it seemed the staff gathered in this area and were very loud quite late at night. They would also use the back door and stand outside our room or in the hallway talking very loudly and laughing.
As the rest of the hotel is so pristine I was surprised to see this consideration was not taken.
Apart from this though, overall U chiang Mai was great.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breeza87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferntree Gully, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel for four nights, during my Chiang Mai trip. I found the staff extremely courteous and helpful. The hotel and grounds are beautiful, and the breakfast outstanding.
As others have stated , the choice of soap, check-in and check-out times and timing of breakfast are a nice touch.
There are a lot of stairs, and after reading about them on Tripadvisor, I emailed the hotel requesting a ground floor room. I am so glad they confirmed my request very quickly, and my room was lovely, very clean and comfortable.
Well done U Chiang Mai !

Room Tip: Just if you have mobility issues try requesting a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marilynjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stayed at the U Chiang Mai with my wife just recently. We had tried to stay here before but unfortunately it was booked out and this time around it was also heavily booked. I’m not surprised, this is a beautiful hotel, the best of several hotels we have stayed at in Chiang Mai old city. Featuring stylish architecture and appointments, right from the main entrance the hotel has a relaxed and welcoming feel to it. The staff have excellent English speaking skills which can be a welcome relief in Chiang Mai. They were very helpful and friendly. In fact, once we had checked in, the lady at reception ushered us upstairs and gave us a full explanation of the features and functions of our room. The décor was just right, a lovely blend of pastel colours, interesting Lanna artefacts and functional furniture including plenty of wardrobe space. The bathroom was also fantastic including a separate shower with a huge showerhead - so refreshing in the tropical weather! Additionally, U Chiang Mai offers guests a wide range of specially scented soaps and you can choose your own pillows too. We were also impressed with the restaurant which serves complimentary breakfast and the choice of food is set out in menu’s that cater for and are written in English, Chinese and Thai. My wife, who is Thai, appreciated this simple but often overlooked touch. The hotel is also in a very convenient location close to some of the more outstanding temples in the old city. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return, hopefully for long enough to utilise the pool facilities! U Chiang Mai is a little up market but you get what you pay for and it is undoubtedly good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor to avoid too much stair walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Booked this hotel after reading lots of reviews and have to say well worth a visit. We stayed in a swim up room which was lovely .... The girls on reception were excellent in every respect, the sleep quality very good and the breakfast were very good, overall we loved chaing mai and our favourite trip was bear backed elephant ridding and washing them in the river. The food in all the restaurants we had dinner was fantastic. If returning to chaing mai I would def return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DlSCERNlNG_V0YAGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.9 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 384 in Chiang Mai
1,850 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#22 of 384 in Chiang Mai
3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#33 of 384 in Chiang Mai
960 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 384 in Chiang Mai
975 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 384 in Chiang Mai
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Property: U Chiang Mai
Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing