We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Heart of old city ,”
Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #15 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel is located in the very center of Old town Chaing Mai making it a great location to walk to everything in the old city walls. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed being in the heart of the city. The hotel is amazingly quiet. The room was clean and had a large king bed with crisp white sheets and feather pillows. I liked the way most of the rooms overlooked the pool courtyard. We were on the first floor and had a lovely patio directly on the pool. We could jump into the pool from our patio and then sit on our patio and enjoy the outdoors. The breakfast was good with a variety of offerings, eggs, congee, meats, fruits etc. the cappuccinos were excellent! The staff was helpful in arranging an afternoon guide and car to the mountain royal palace, temple and local Karen long neck tribe. Our guide (Chai) spoke perfect English and took us to all the places we requested for 1000 bat. There were always tuk tuks out front to take you wherever you wanted. We enjoyed our stay here!

Room Tip: The hotel is 3 stories high. Most rooms face toward the pool courtyard. Rooms on the first floor hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twickski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

718 - 724 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

First off, if you could award half points I would have given this hotel three and a half. For me personally there were just too many little niggles that impaired my enjoyment in staying at this hotel. However, there are some good points. The overall approach and reception are all very nice. The location is good if you want to be in the heart of the old city, and excellent for the Sunday night market which is a must visit. The staff are extremely friendly and very helpful (perhaps a little too helpful, which I will come back to). First impressions are good.

So, the niggles. The rooms on first approach seem nice enough, we were in room 311, first point is that there are no lifts in the property, not an issue for us but could be for others. The room looks nice and they all have a balcony and a big comfy bed. Two free drinks from the mini bar was a nice touch. The room electrics are operated by a card but when removed all the sockets went off too so you could not recharge your mobile or iPads when you're out. The air conditioning was just about ok but took a long time to cool the room, particularly when you had been out for a while. The internet access was good by the pool, sporadic in the room and the login process was infuriating at times and unnecessarily painful. There is little storage space in the bathroom and the lighting was poor in the bathroom too. The shower was good.

The pool area is pleasant but there are only 10 sunbeds for over 40 rooms. This was where one issue infuriated me. There was a rather arrogant, elderly British couple staying at the hotel and on our first day she complained that there was nowhere for her to lay by the pool. The next day there were "reserved" signs on two sunbeds for around an hour and half before the culprits turned up. It annoyed me that the couple had the audacity to ask in the first place but further more that the hotel entertained their request. Hotel staff can say no sometimes in my opinion, this was service gone mad to the detriment of other guests. Unacceptable in my opinion.

Finally, the restaurant. Whilst breakfast was fairly good, reasonable choice cooked to order, fruit, cereals etc, the atmosphere was more canteen and not in keeping with he overall look of the hotel. On our first night we made the mistake of having dinner there. We chose Thai food which was overpriced compared to over the road and not very good stall. Chewy pork and the pandan chicken was just fatty and revolting. I know sticky rice does what it says on the label but this was one solid lump of rice. Avoid.

I probably sound like a moaner but I'm really not that difficult to please. For me I personally would choose an alternative as there are lots of great hotels at very affordable rates in the city.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hillpudlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itthipon, General Manager at U Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear hillpudlian

Greetings from U Chiang Mai

May I begin by thanking you for the review you posted on this website. We take all comments, whether positive or not, extremely seriously as our sole intention is the complete satisfaction of our guests.
I was delighted that overall you were pleased with your time with us but would like to offer my heartfelt apologies over the “niggles” you experienced. As General Manager the ultimate responsibility to our guests is with me therefore I would like to take this opportunity to address the issues you raised.
I must apologize that you were inconvenienced by the power being cut to your room once the key card is removed. This system is in place in the vast majority of hotels in the world who operate their electrical supply in this manner in an attempt to save energy should a guest leave the room for the day without possibly turning the air conditioning off. If guest wish to charge their devices etc while they are out our staff will gladly supply a second key card and I regret that you were not aware of this.
As your room was on the top floor it takes longer to attain the ambient temperature and I am sorry that the air con took a longer time than usual to cool the room. If we were made aware of your discomfort and the problem with your in-room Wi-Fi we would immediately have moved you to a more suitable room but unfortunately have no record of a complaint being made regarding these matters.
As you mentioned our staff are helpful and one of the main reasons people stay in a U hotel is the level of service they provide. However, regarding the sun lounger situation, our staff may have been slightly overzealous in attempting to satisfy the elderly lady and gentleman thus inconveniencing you. I have instructed their manager that from now on sun loungers are for all guests use and there are to be no special reservations whatsoever.
Your comments regarding the food have been well noted and, although the feedback we receive is usually complimentary, I have discussed matters with my chef to ensure that our quality is maintained at all times.
May I end by saying that despite your reservations we hope that you would reconsider and visit us at U Chiang Mai on your next trip to Thailand.

With Best Regards,
Itthipon Meesawat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights and found the location great. Lots of sights within walking distance. Transportation easy to pick up a tuk tuk or red taxi straight out the front of the hotel for locations further away. Great coffee and places to eat straight opposite. Hotel staff so friendly and cannot do enough for you!

Room Tip: There are rooms available with a pool located straight off your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed in U Chiang Mai for 4 nights during November for the Loy krathong and Yi Peng festival. Our stay at U was truly amazing. The hotel located conveniently in the centre of the old town. We were able to walk to most of the local attractions, such as the Night Barzzar, Wat Phra Singh, Wat Chendi etc... We were given a pool side room that have direct access to the pool from our patio. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The rooms are peaceful and quiet despite the hassle and buzzle outside the hotel during the Sunday Market. Staff at U are polite, friendly and attentive. They were happy to help with any request we have thrown at them. From re-confirming our excursions to booking transportation for our next destination. Nothing was ever too much for the Ur host. We felt so at home that I felt a little sad leaving this amazing place.

Chiang Mai has more to offer than we had the time for. We would definitely be returning in the future, and U Chiang Mai will be one of the reasons for our return! As you can probably tell that I would not hesitate to recommend U Chiang Mai to friends and family who are looking to travel to Chiang Mai in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pools are great as you have easy access from your patio. There are also some swim up ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickyWicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay with a nice staff, great location.  Part of the Sunday walking street market runs along the same street as the hotel so you can just step out and wander the endless stalls. The complimentary breakfast is a combination of buffet-fruit, salad, bread, cereal; and hot choices-eggs, omelet, fried rice, noodles, congee. Gym is sufficient - treadmill, bicycle, elliptical, universal gym. A nice central location.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KymmieGibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed in the U Chiang Mai for 4 days. It was our second visit to Chiang Mai and this hotel was within the old City Walls which was very convenient. The welcome was efficient and informative,the staff always helpful and friendly.The room/balcony was a good size and everything you would expect was provided to a high standard. The housekeeping was also very good. The breakfast was picked from a menu and freshly cooked. Although not a large choice it catered for every taste and the buffet of fresh fruits bread and pastries ,cold meats and juice was more than adequate. Having visited Chiang Mai some years ago we did not require many organized trips arranging,however the hotel booked a Kantoke Dinner for us one evening and it was dreadfull - the food was cold and almost inedible .(this was not their fault)Tuk Tuks were available outside the hotel and if you want to go to The Night Market or China Town etc it was very cheap.(80bahts for 2 people) We used these many times to go to various restaurants and places around town.
The Garden Restaurant opposite the U Chiang Mai was a particular favourite having live music most night and good food at a reasonable price.
The U Chiang Mai is a small hotel that is ideally suited for exploring Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at U Chiang Mai recently, it is our first choice Hotel in Chiang Mai, by far the best of the many hotels we have used in the past.
Everything is so easy at U Chiang Mai from check-in through to departure. The staff are some of the best in all Chiang Mai. Their attention to detail is unsurpassed and they are a very friendly bunch who have excellent English skills. It doesn’t matter what you want or need, the staff will not disappoint you. At one point we needed newspaper, sticky tape & scissors and it was no trouble for the staff to provide for us.
The rooms are very tastefully decorated with traditional Lanna furniture and artefacts & the general ambience is very comforting with soft pastel shades, lots of pillows & cushions, fresh fruit, scented soaps and beautiful quality linen & towels.
Breakfast is included with most room rates and offers a small but good selection of western and asian style with plenty of fruit and other extras like small cakes to have with that second cup of coffee. My wife is Thai and she is very impressed that the menu is set out in English, Thai & Chinese.
U Chiang Mai is in a perfect location in the old city, not far from many significant temples and lots of places to enjoy a few drinks and something delicious to eat.
This Hotel is a must for the discerning traveller.

Room Tip: Ask for low floor to avoid stairs & room with pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#21 of 402 in Chiang Mai
2,122 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 402 in Chiang Mai
3,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,023 reviews
1.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Na Nirand Romantic Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £81 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing