We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing vacation”
Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #11 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We were picked up by a hotel staff from the airport. The van we were in was very spacious for the 2 of us. We requested for the ground floor and got room number 103. It's very near to the pool. Our room had a balcony with a small pond. We had the king size bed and t's very comfy. The pillows were just nice. The location is great. There's a lot of eating places around the hotel. It's very easy to buy food. We also walked to the night bazaar. It's about 20 minutes away. Overall we enjoyed our stay there. Its a nice place to relax.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radhiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel is slap bang in the middle of the 'Chiang Mai Walk' a street market on Sunday evenings. try to time your visit to enjoy this experience. We had the hotel limo collect us from the airport and I would only recommend it if you are arriving on a Sunday - it is very easy to get a taxi from he airport and much cheaper.
Hotel is nice and quiet and has plenty of room in the bedrooms which are well furnished. Swimming pool a bonus and all in all a great place to relax after a days exploring

Room Tip: Use local taxi to get too and from the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alanstours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel is located in the very center of Old town Chaing Mai making it a great location to walk to everything in the old city walls. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed being in the heart of the city. The hotel is amazingly quiet. The room was clean and had a large king bed with crisp white sheets and feather pillows. I liked the way most of the rooms overlooked the pool courtyard. We were on the first floor and had a lovely patio directly on the pool. We could jump into the pool from our patio and then sit on our patio and enjoy the outdoors. The breakfast was good with a variety of offerings, eggs, congee, meats, fruits etc. the cappuccinos were excellent! The staff was helpful in arranging an afternoon guide and car to the mountain royal palace, temple and local Karen long neck tribe. Our guide (Chai) spoke perfect English and took us to all the places we requested for 1000 bat. There were always tuk tuks out front to take you wherever you wanted. We enjoyed our stay here!

Room Tip: The hotel is 3 stories high. Most rooms face toward the pool courtyard. Rooms on the first floor hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twickski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

First off, if you could award half points I would have given this hotel three and a half. For me personally there were just too many little niggles that impaired my enjoyment in staying at this hotel. However, there are some good points. The overall approach and reception are all very nice. The location is good if you want to be in the heart of the old city, and excellent for the Sunday night market which is a must visit. The staff are extremely friendly and very helpful (perhaps a little too helpful, which I will come back to). First impressions are good.

So, the niggles. The rooms on first approach seem nice enough, we were in room 311, first point is that there are no lifts in the property, not an issue for us but could be for others. The room looks nice and they all have a balcony and a big comfy bed. Two free drinks from the mini bar was a nice touch. The room electrics are operated by a card but when removed all the sockets went off too so you could not recharge your mobile or iPads when you're out. The air conditioning was just about ok but took a long time to cool the room, particularly when you had been out for a while. The internet access was good by the pool, sporadic in the room and the login process was infuriating at times and unnecessarily painful. There is little storage space in the bathroom and the lighting was poor in the bathroom too. The shower was good.

The pool area is pleasant but there are only 10 sunbeds for over 40 rooms. This was where one issue infuriated me. There was a rather arrogant, elderly British couple staying at the hotel and on our first day she complained that there was nowhere for her to lay by the pool. The next day there were "reserved" signs on two sunbeds for around an hour and half before the culprits turned up. It annoyed me that the couple had the audacity to ask in the first place but further more that the hotel entertained their request. Hotel staff can say no sometimes in my opinion, this was service gone mad to the detriment of other guests. Unacceptable in my opinion.

Finally, the restaurant. Whilst breakfast was fairly good, reasonable choice cooked to order, fruit, cereals etc, the atmosphere was more canteen and not in keeping with he overall look of the hotel. On our first night we made the mistake of having dinner there. We chose Thai food which was overpriced compared to over the road and not very good stall. Chewy pork and the pandan chicken was just fatty and revolting. I know sticky rice does what it says on the label but this was one solid lump of rice. Avoid.

I probably sound like a moaner but I'm really not that difficult to please. For me I personally would choose an alternative as there are lots of great hotels at very affordable rates in the city.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hillpudlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itthipon, General Manager at U Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear hillpudlian

Greetings from U Chiang Mai

May I begin by thanking you for the review you posted on this website. We take all comments, whether positive or not, extremely seriously as our sole intention is the complete satisfaction of our guests.
I was delighted that overall you were pleased with your time with us but would like to offer my heartfelt apologies over the “niggles” you experienced. As General Manager the ultimate responsibility to our guests is with me therefore I would like to take this opportunity to address the issues you raised.
I must apologize that you were inconvenienced by the power being cut to your room once the key card is removed. This system is in place in the vast majority of hotels in the world who operate their electrical supply in this manner in an attempt to save energy should a guest leave the room for the day without possibly turning the air conditioning off. If guest wish to charge their devices etc while they are out our staff will gladly supply a second key card and I regret that you were not aware of this.
As your room was on the top floor it takes longer to attain the ambient temperature and I am sorry that the air con took a longer time than usual to cool the room. If we were made aware of your discomfort and the problem with your in-room Wi-Fi we would immediately have moved you to a more suitable room but unfortunately have no record of a complaint being made regarding these matters.
As you mentioned our staff are helpful and one of the main reasons people stay in a U hotel is the level of service they provide. However, regarding the sun lounger situation, our staff may have been slightly overzealous in attempting to satisfy the elderly lady and gentleman thus inconveniencing you. I have instructed their manager that from now on sun loungers are for all guests use and there are to be no special reservations whatsoever.
Your comments regarding the food have been well noted and, although the feedback we receive is usually complimentary, I have discussed matters with my chef to ensure that our quality is maintained at all times.
May I end by saying that despite your reservations we hope that you would reconsider and visit us at U Chiang Mai on your next trip to Thailand.

With Best Regards,
Itthipon Meesawat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights and found the location great. Lots of sights within walking distance. Transportation easy to pick up a tuk tuk or red taxi straight out the front of the hotel for locations further away. Great coffee and places to eat straight opposite. Hotel staff so friendly and cannot do enough for you!

Room Tip: There are rooms available with a pool located straight off your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed in U Chiang Mai for 4 nights during November for the Loy krathong and Yi Peng festival. Our stay at U was truly amazing. The hotel located conveniently in the centre of the old town. We were able to walk to most of the local attractions, such as the Night Barzzar, Wat Phra Singh, Wat Chendi etc... We were given a pool side room that have direct access to the pool from our patio. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The rooms are peaceful and quiet despite the hassle and buzzle outside the hotel during the Sunday Market. Staff at U are polite, friendly and attentive. They were happy to help with any request we have thrown at them. From re-confirming our excursions to booking transportation for our next destination. Nothing was ever too much for the Ur host. We felt so at home that I felt a little sad leaving this amazing place.

Chiang Mai has more to offer than we had the time for. We would definitely be returning in the future, and U Chiang Mai will be one of the reasons for our return! As you can probably tell that I would not hesitate to recommend U Chiang Mai to friends and family who are looking to travel to Chiang Mai in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pools are great as you have easy access from your patio. There are also some swim up ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickyWicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay with a nice staff, great location.  Part of the Sunday walking street market runs along the same street as the hotel so you can just step out and wander the endless stalls. The complimentary breakfast is a combination of buffet-fruit, salad, bread, cereal; and hot choices-eggs, omelet, fried rice, noodles, congee. Gym is sufficient - treadmill, bicycle, elliptical, universal gym. A nice central location.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KymmieGibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#36 of 389 in Chiang Mai
988 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 389 in Chiang Mai
3,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 389 in Chiang Mai
2,053 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 389 in Chiang Mai
981 reviews
1.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 389 in Chiang Mai
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £98 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing