We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personalised and friendly service”
Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #11 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Personalised and friendly service”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at u hotel over new year and it was absolutely fantastic! The bedrooms are very comfortable, spacious and clean. The hotel staff organised all our tours without any hesitation. The staff always remembered our names and asked how our excursions were! Amazing time in Chiang Mai!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaraAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    331
    67
    17
    7
See reviews for
221
794
77
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed here in November 2013 and it was in a great location. We walked most places within the old city and the Sunday night markets were right outside. The room itself was large and the balcony had a day bed that was a nice touch to relax on. Was really happy with service/ room and location

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed here for several nights while exploring Chiang Mai. Very nice comfortable rooms. Bottled drinking water is freely available. The staff is extremely friendly; meet with them to talk about your plans, and they will arrange anything they can for you. There are great free breakfast options. The location is perfect for wandering around the Old City, and I loved that the weekly night market was on the same street. Tons of food options nearby, local stores with wares, and convenience stores for any sundries you may need. Loved it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZRoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Here's what I liked:
Perfect location for running about the old city, very kind service, really nice breakfast, good size rooms with nice bedding. We had room 105 which was pool access. It was nice to have a place to dangle our feet in the water, but not a big selling point.

Here's what I didn't like: room was sooooo dark! Lighting for makeup and reading was non existent! Admittedly, my eyes are bad, but even my eagle eyes husband struggled! Air conditioning was a little musty smelling. Hated getting ready at night with such unflattering lighting. I know it's superficial, but really, doe we need to emphasize our flaws?

Would stay again if they sorted the lighting out!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollydaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itthipon, General Manager at U Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear hollydaze

Greetings from U Chiang Mai.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at U Chiang Mai on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
May I sincerely apologise for the issues you experienced with your room. After reading your review I have instructed my Engineering Team to attend to them immediately.
I would like to end by saying that we dearly hope you have the chance to visit us again on your next trip to Thailand.

Best Regards,
Itthipon Meesawat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This hotel is superbly situated in the centre of the city. Is boutique style with a lovely unusual entrance to it.
Rooms are a reasonable size with lots of decorative features that add character. There is a good size balcony overlooking the fairly small pool. Apart from breakfast we did not eat at the hotel. It there is a very nice upstairs bar overlooking the Main Street which is also where the Sunday Market is held.

Staff were very helpful, the majority speaking good English. They also assisted in sorting out a good English speaking guide/driver to take us out to the elephant sanctuary.

Also used the hotel spa using the special offer. Very good.

We could not fault this hotel in any way and If we go back to Chiang Mai we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We spent 3 nights at this charming boutique hotel located within the old city walls. As mentioned by many others, the location is fantastic with little shops, restaurants, and massage parlors dotting the street. The hotel has a cool, minimalist vibe with a great outdoor receiving area/lounge overlooking a stellar pool.

We arrived early and our room wasn't ready yet. The hotel was gracious about holding our luggage and arranging a tour guide, Chai, to take us around. We liked him immediately - funny guy with a wealth of information.

We were first put in a third floor room which was fine but not preferable. We let them know it was our honeymoon and we'd appreciate being changed to a first floor room if one became available. They were very accommodating and we were switched the very next day.

The room itself could be considered small but was perfectly fine. The best kept secret in my opinion is the spa. Guests are offered specials on the spa and although the discounted price is still double the price of the places down the block, the experience is truly great. You get an actual spa experience, not the questionable sanitary conditions, lack of privacy and masseuses chatting to each other at the places down the street.

The service is really attentive - all the hotel workers seemed to know exactly which room we were staying in, etc. We misplaced the cover of a small electronic device that we didn't have any hope of recovering (it was tiny) but housekeeping somehow found it.

We wished we had allotted more time to to spend in Chiang Mai (and the U Chiang Mai)!

Room Tip: Request a room on the first floor. The Patara Elephant Farm is a must do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PollySharer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The location of this hotel within the old city is awesome. Lots of quaint little cafes and massage places on the main road. The Sunday night market sets up on the block of the hotel so it's very convenient.

For a seasoned traveler I must point out where my hesitations lie - the manager Kat is either misinformed or just lies to her guests to make commission off of booking trips/cabs for guests. For example, we wanted to go to the elephant conservatory located on the road to Lampang. She first told us it would cost $2000 bhats one way and take 2 hours to get there. We went for a round trip cost of 1500 bhat and the drive took a little less than an hour. She discouraged us from going and said that if we hadn't booked tours in advance that we would not be let in. We were a little nervous but took the risk and it went fine! The conservatory is government run and they had no quota on visitors. I realized that she would rather us have gone to the local elephant kingdom (where the animals are not treated well) because the hotel makes a commission off of every guest they send. We had several similar encounters (about booking cabs, other excursions - another example - she quoted 600 bhat to get to the airport, we got there for 100 bhat) with her during our trip and I found it disconcerting that she was either ill informed (which I find hard to believe) or just looking for profit (more likely).

The breakfast set up is adequate. The rooms are on the smaller side (compared with other hotels during my stay in Thailand). The pool area is nice but the beds don't get much sun. The allowed daily soft drinks is nice because it does get hot and you get thirsty.

All in all, I would probably stay at this hotel again for location alone. It's very convenient. And the location is peaceful compared to the raucous around the area of the night bazaar. I would just beware of "extras" offered by the hotel because they do come at a cost.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nica331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itthipon, General Manager at U Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear nica331

Greetings from U Chiang Mai.

May I begin by thanking you for taking the time to post a review of your experience at U Chiang Mai. Not only does it allow us to see the where our guests are satisfied with their stay or in which areas we may need to improve but it also gives us an opportunity to respond to guest’s comments via this website.
I was extremely concerned to read that the crux of the “average” score you gave us seemed to be down to the misperception that staff at U Chiang Mai are in some way either “looking for profit”, “misinformed”, or “lie” to our guests. I deeply regret that you felt this way as at U Chiang Mai we operate with complete honesty and transparency in all our dealings with our guests therefore I held an immediate investigation into your claims.
You enquired about a number of excursions including the Lampang Elephant Conservation Centre therefore we contacted them on your behalf. They informed us that they were fully booked on that day regarding doing activities with the elephants and we relayed this information to you also informing you that if you went you would most probably only be allowed to walk around. Our intention was to merely assist you to avoid any disappointment after a long journey and in no way whatsoever an attempt to push you in the direction of a tour that we supposedly receive commission on. We simply do not operate in that manner and I was delighted that you enjoyed your time in Lampang. I hope you understand that we can only pass on the information we receive from the centre itself, inaccurate or otherwise.
The price of 2000 baht quoted to you was for a return trip and not one way and I apologize if there was any confusion. I have reinforced with my staff the complete necessity of ensuring that the guests fully understand the information they receive.
The price of the airport transfer is commensurate with other hotels in Chiang Mai but naturally ( as with every hotel in the world providing such a service) a privately rented hotel van with the assistance and convenience it provides is going to be more expensive that hailing a taxi from the street. It is entirely at our guests’ discretion as to which form of transport they take and we are happy to attend to any guests’ requirements, whether they utilize the hotel’s transportation or not.
I hope that my reply clarifies matters for you and assures you of U Chiang Mai’s, as part of the U chain of hotels and resorts, sincerity and complete dedication to guest service and satisfaction.

Best Regards,
Itthipon Meesawat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.9 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,073 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,386 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 383 in Chiang Mai
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Property: U Chiang Mai
Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing