We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #16 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Delighted with my stay. Staff are very kind and efficient. Really think it was the ideal hotel location wise. Ate breakfast at the hotel and a couple of meals. Would not hesitate to return. Bed was so comfortable and the room in general was cleaned to a very high standard.
if I only had to pick one negative it would be that I thought there could do with being a bit more choice on the menu

Room Tip: Loved that each room had a balcony or terrace. The day beds are divine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 673 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

We and another couple stayed for a few days right after Christmas, and found lots to praise about this hotel and nothing to complain about. The location is great, the hotel is in the middle of the action and within walking distance of a number of sites, services and restaurants. The building is well designed, with an open concept lobby that lead into the pool area. Although the rooms aren't large, they have a very relaxing, warm ambiance, are well furnished, with nice amenities (like a preloaded iPod, and minibar). The balcony is large enough for comfortable use.

Service from all stay was very good, we found the dining servers to be particularly pleasant. An iron and ironing board were promptly provided upon request and left in our for the duration of our stay. One feature of the hotel is breakfast where you want / when you want and we took full advantage of this. A couple of days we went off touring first thing in the morning and asked for "breakfast" by the pool in the earlier afternoon. This was accommodated cheerfully and efficiently. The breakfast menu was quite complete, promptly served and high quality. Our Christmas dinner in the restaurant was also very good.

Wifi service was good throughout, but the two-device limit was a minor pain (maybe I'm just too connected, but between 'phones, a laptop, tablet, and reader there are lots of things to hook up from time to time), but not really a big deal. There is a small by good fitness centre and bicycles available for use.

I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomnpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We only spent 2 nights here but would definitely come back! The staff was very friendly. The hotel was awesome. I think this was the most comfortable bed in Thailand! The location is great. You are right in the middle of everything!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KJ7713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights and had a great time. It is located right in the centre of the Old Town and is on the street the the Sunday Night Market is on, so you can step out of your front door straight into the action! The hotel has a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere with a small, but functional, pool and gym. There are plenty of places to eat and drink on the same road as the hotel and you're right in the middle of the temples if that's your thing.

I really enjoyed my stay here and the hotel helped to make Chiang Mai the highlight of my Thailand adventure :-)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chirocol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have spent 4 night with 2 kids (9 and 3 years old). Even if the hotel was fully booked on the arrival they have done all the possible to give us a larger room than the standard for 4 people. Than the room itself was gorgeous with all the comfort including an iPod with thousand of songs. Breakfast and food at the restaurant was good as well the swimming pool in the patio. The hotel is located in the heart of the city walking distance from almost all the attraction nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guglielmo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The hotel is beautiful with a nice swimming pool. The staff is amazing! They do everything for you feel comfortable. We can choose when we want to take the breakfast. The SPA is wonderful, we had our best thai massage until this moment. I really recommend this hotel!
And the localization is in the middle of the historic centre. Would it will be better?

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KalleneSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here 4 nights in earlyJan, first time in Chiang Mai. What a great location in the middle of the old city, an oasis of calm. Professional frendly staff. Great Breakfasts, good evening food and nicely appointed rooms, though not large.
Our too was on the ground floor- without a private pool - which was lovely. I would be less positive if we had been allocated a 1st or 2nd floor room. Lovely poolside with a few loungers, not enough really, but the property isn't large. wife said she saw a rat one eventing, I'm surprised and it didn't spoil the stay.
I would recommend this hotel and stay again;being in th centre means everything is near, or if not then organising a tour or taxi just along the street is easy and cheap (much cheaper than via the hotel - but they have to make some profits don't they!)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDutchmanTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itthipon, General Manager at U Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear TheDutchmanTheHague

Greetings from U Chiang Mai.

I was delighted to read your review of your stay at U Chiang Mai and would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to post it. When our guests have an enjoyable time it only serves as an inspiration to both myself and my staff to strive to maintain the high standards we set ourselves.
I would like to mention the point you raised regarding the rat your wife spotted. At U Chiang Mai we undergo a frequent pest control programme using a professional outsourced company to handle any issues that may arise before they actually occur but I must confess to never having seen a rat in the hotel grounds or having one reported by our guests. As U Chiang Mai is a city centre hotel there is a possibility that ( as in all other hotels) a rat may have found its way into the gardens therefore if you could kindly find the time to inform me where you wife saw the creature I would greatly appreciate it so we can investigate where it came from and ensure that this access point is denied for any future “ visitors”.
My email address is gm@uchiangmai.com
May I end by saying that should you ever have the chance to visit Chiang Mai again we would be delighted to welcome you back as our honored guests.

Best Regards,
Itthipon Meesawat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 394 in Chiang Mai
3,156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,009 reviews
1.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 394 in Chiang Mai
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £99 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Sawasdee, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing