We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding boutique hotel and great location”
Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #13 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

U Chiang Mai is a nice boutique hotel in the heart of Chiang Mai. It is a well designed hotel ,also a prefect location if u go for the Sunday walking street bazar, breakfast was very enjoyable too!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickyLin731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 1,480 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

You would never know this hotel laid behind the walls on a main road. Great with a partially open traditional reception, this hotel really has a boutique feel. The staff were friendly and very helpful, check in was fast. We were able to choose our soap scent on arrival which was a lovely touch.

The room is nice and spacious, again following the traditional decor of dark wood but it had a modern twist with a lovely rain shower, ipod doc, tv and mini bar. The terrace was lovely and our haven in the late afternoon to catch the last of the sun and have a beer.

We visited the spa which was a fun experience with professional and friendly staff.

The location of this hotel is fantastic, close to all the sites and with lots going on although the hotel grounds and rooms were very quiet and peaceful. I would certainly recommend this hotel for a stay in chiang mai in a good location with good facilities and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a balcony that gets the afternoon sun as the pool becomes a bit shady so you can e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsPC_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel was exactly as it should be. Perfect.
The decor, the hotel team, the anytime breakfast, the food in general, the 24 Hr check-in / check out policy (i.e. you can check out the day you leave at the same time you checked in on the day you arrived - no 11:00 rushing). It's a great place to unwind after a crazy Thailand tour.!

I've stayed here on 2 separate occasions and will continue to stay here whenever I visit Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We enjoyed our 3 night stay. The location could not be better, the room was quirky and comfortable, the breakfast was fine and the staff were friendly and helpful. But overall we felt that the hotel is trying just a bit too hard to be different.... sorry.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the 3rd floor unless you like keep fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davethewasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the U Chiang Mai for 5 nights in February.

The hotel was beautiful, very clean and as soon as you walk into reception there is a calming vibe. The hotel staff were the highlight for us.. We had found numerous restaurants and places that we wanted to visit and they took the time to make reservations and tell us the best way to get there on the map including writing directions in Thai to give to the tuk tuk drivers! Nothing was too much effort for them, and they made us feel very welcome.

The all day breakfast was great enabling us to eat early when we were doing trips that day and sleep in when we were not. The location was very central with easy access to everything. We had a lovely room with a swim up pool.

We had a great time in Chiang Mai and can not recommend this hotel enough!

Thanks for a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claira42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We loved this hotel the minute we walked into the reception. It had a calm and relaxing environment after the 'chaos' that is Chiang Mai. All you need is on your door step.

The rooms were lovely, the bed very comfortable, the all day breakfast is a bonus but it is the staff who make this hotel a 5 star experience. So helpful and polite. Whilst there my husband and I had a massage which was top class.

A great boutique hotel in a wonderful destination.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SquirtyBertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The hotel was lovely and the location was superb. It is literally in the centre of the city and right in the middle of the Sunday night market. Amenities were good and we were very comfortable. Pool was however very cold as only probably gets the sun for about 3 hours a day. But the 2 things which I found just fantastic, which I have not experienced in any other hotel is that breakfast is ALL DAY and international IDD calls are at cost + VAT! So, if you miss the buffet in the morning, you can order your breakfast to your room or lobby. And the calls were great as I could contact home on a dialy basis.

Room Tip: Ask for room 211. This room is right in the corner with no public thoroughfare. Excellent for privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanshan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,074 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 392 in Chiang Mai
995 reviews
1.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 392 in Chiang Mai
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £101 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing