We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location and Great staff”
Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #11 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superb location and Great staff”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Room
The hotel is a bit old with some wooden furniture a little bit worn, though that is only a minor thing and probably won't be noted.
The bed and covers are friendly to sensitive skin.
The balcony is spacious with a sofa. It is also sheltered, so Chiang Mai's almost daily showers will not disturb any clothes hung there.
The bathroom door, however, has no lock, which puts a damper on privacy. The shower door cannot be closed fully so some water leaks out. That is not a major problem as the shower area is slower than the toilet area and there is a drain right outside the shower area.
Bathroom amenities are available and toothbrush is available upon request.

Security
The front desk is located right at the entrance, so I'm not too worried about strangers getting into the hotel.
Balcony doors have deadbolt locks at both the top and the bottom.
Room doors have peepholes and locks. An alarm will sound if the door is not closed properly.

Facilities and Services
The pool is small but adequate. As it is outdoors, the water may be a bit cold.
The gym room is small with only basic equipment but alright for a short workout. It is also rarely used so it's likely that you'll be the only one there.
Bicycles can be rented for free.
As there is no elevator, I would recommend the elder or persons with disabilities to book rooms on the ground floor. On a side note, the staff can help you with your luggage as long as you inform the front desk.
There is a shuttle service arranged by CentralFestival (a large mall) that has a route which goes to the hotel. You can enquire about the bus schedule at the front desk.

Meals
The complimentary breakfast is nice with many choices.

Staff
The staff is extremely warm, friendly and helpful. they can act as a translator between locals and drivers. They can also help you ask for information regarding tours.
The staff is simply fantastic. Due to flight delay, my family and I arrived at U Hotel at 12:00 am local time. There was a staff member outside in the dark who helped us unload our luggage and show us to the front desk. it was a warm welcome after a late and tiring flight.

Location
The hotel is smack in the middle of the Sunday Market and Chiang Mai Old City. It is only 3 minutes walking distance to the nearby shops, museum, temple, restaurants and spas.

All in all this is a great hotel for tourists, especially those who have never been to Chiang Mai before.

Room Tip: As there is no elevator, I would recommend elderly or persons with disabilities to get a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eden C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    989
    331
    67
    16
    7
See reviews for
220
793
77
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Everything was great there, best location of course; a few mins walk to the main attraction places like temples, museum etc. and even restaurants.
The staff was friendly and fun to talk to. We just thought it's a bit small and wish that the pool area was gonna be more private. Overall, we were happy and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olichen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon. The staff are just fantastic. Really helpful and courteous. Breakfast was great and our room was really nice and always super clean. The hotel is in a great location. Highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clongarrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratoath, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Highly recommend this hotel, it was fabulous, the staff were amazing and so was the spa, Our room was a suite directly onto the pool area. Beautiful room and bathroom, This really was a fantastic spot

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel located at old town city, the center of Sunday night market. There are few small restaurant provide Thai and Italian food outside the hotel. Also, their staffs are very helpful on what u needed. One main point have to mentioned is the free breakfast are all day provide. No need to wake up early for the breakfast. Really a good resting hotel.

Room Tip: There are two pool side access room share a own small pool. Nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Won S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Having been to Chang Mai 4 times previously and stayed by the river, we were looking forward to staying in the Old Town.The hotel is lovely , but room 301 is very ,very noisy. The music from local bars, which included two different bands, went on until 1am on the Sunday night and 11.45pm on both other nights of our stay. It was not just a background noise, but a thud that went through the whole room, including listening to every word of La Bamba over and over again.
Location is great ,the breakfast plentiful and staff friendly, but for us the street noise was just too much.
The Writers Club serves good cheap food and the small bar along the main stretch called Barli , became a firm favourite.
The Walking Market is a must for anyone travelling to Chang Mai, as is taking a Tuk Tuk around the old and new town

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mananya U, General Manager at U Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Mel N,

Greetings from U Chiang Mai.

May I begin by thanking you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at U Chiang Mai. Your comments are extremely important in allowing us to maintain our reputation for high standards of comfort and service.

I must sincerely apologise that your sleep was disturbed during your stay. I have personally investigated the matter but unfortunately cannot find any record of a guest complaining of the issue you mentioned. Had you done so we would have immediately sourced you another room as your total comfort is our overwhelming desire. I implore all our guests that if they encounter a problem with their room whatsoever to inform us at once and we will do everything in our power to either attend to the matter or find a more suitable room.

May I end by saying that should you ever return to Chiang Mai we hope to have the pleasure of your company once again as a valued U guest.

Best Regards,
Mananya Uanon (Ms.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

In our three week stay in Thailand, I have to say this was our only slight disappointment. The rooms were kept very clean, a good size and lovely decor, however I think you need to request a room preferably overlooking the pool. Ours were off at the side with a miserable view so sadly you could never take advantage of the balcony or day beds as it was overlooked. However we were a family of four so we needed two rooms adjacent to each other and I suspect that's why we had these rooms. Most of the staff were lovely and hospitable, however they were let down extremely badly by the people on reception..... Unbelievably rude, particularly by Thai standards.... Not the best value for money, however if the reception staff had generally been a bit more engaging and the rooms were more central within the hotel, then I have no doubt the experience would have greater!! The Hotel was a perfect location within the old city of Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soph_a_evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mananya U, General Manager at U Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Soph_a_evans,

Greetings from U Chiang Mai.

May I begin by thanking you for taking the time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is essential in allowing us to attend to any issues encountered by our guests and maintain the reputation which has allowed us to achieve our current ranking on this website.
I would like to offer my most heartfelt apologies for the aspects of your stay that did not live up to your expectations and take this opportunity to address them.

I am extremely sorry that the rooms allocated to you were not to your liking as your specific request for adjacent rooms due to having young children and our full house at that time meant that these were the most suitable rooms available. However I am delighted that we were able to offer you a complimentary upgrade on your main room for your stay.

One point of extreme concern to me was your comments regarding the reception staffs’ alleged rudeness. One of the main points of praise we receive is the levels of courtesy and true Thai hospitality we provide ( as shown by the comments we receive on Trip Advisor) and I will not accept any impoliteness on the part of my staff. May I mention I was somewhat taken aback by your comments as the staff members concerned have exemplary work records and have been singled out for particular praise by our guests for their service mind. Nevertheless as a valued guest your opinion and satisfaction are of paramount importance to us therefore I have held a meeting with my front office management and team to reiterate how important courtesy to our guests is at all times and to not let our actions be perceived by our guests as anything less than polite.

May I end by saying that it was a pleasure to serve you as our guests during your time in Chiang Mai and we would be delighted if you would visit us again on your next trip to Thailand.

Best Regards,
Mananya Uanon (Ms.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.9 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,828 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,068 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,382 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 383 in Chiang Mai
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Property: U Chiang Mai
Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing