We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice”
Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #13 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2009

Stayed there for 6 nights in total with a visit to Chiang Rai sandwiched in between. I had an issue at first with regard to parking and the local bylaws make it such that you have to park on opposite sides of the street on odd and even dates. This was solved by the front desk manager over the phone prior to arrival and allowed us to conveniently and securely at the temple opposite the hotel.

The hotel is aimed at regular travelers and allows check in at any time and subsequent check out at any time up to the same as check in. There is a choice of soaps on arrival along with and i-pod in the room with speakers, a sofa and chair and balcony with fan.

The rooms are just right in size and breakfast is served wherever you like it to be served

The one thing that stands out about this hotel is the staff and their sincerity - smiles are easy but genuineness is usually from the heart. I have lived in Thailand for 8 years + ....

The gym is on the small size and could maybe do with some more weights but has enough for a decent workout facing onto the street, Bikes are at your disposal for free during your visit and are a bonus. Most things in Chiang Mai are accesible by walking and also local transport is inexpensive

Overall an enjoyable stay and will definitely go back on my next trip

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bkk08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,156 - 1,162 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2008

I am not a regular reviewer but I can have to make an exception after our trip to Thailand! This new Boutique hotel, opened last June in the center of Chiang Mai.
You could not dream of a better welcome and a better stay in the center of town. I have never met better people, all tuned to your wishes and eager to help you make your stay better. There is always someone for you there. Alex is omnipresent. His English skills, due to many years spent in America, are reflected upon the whole staff: this hotel must have the best English speaking staff in town and I wish to emphasize on it as many travellers complain about the difficulty to make themselves understood in Thailand. But Alex is much more than that: he is a true, genuine "giver" whose genuine goal and interest in people is to make your stay special. You can only love him! He made our 9 years old son´s stay very special by just being around and bringing his smile and magical card tricks. The truth is we all enjoyed him and everybody else.
The roms are very nicely decorated: we liked very much the choice of colors. We had a 43 square meters. I asked to change after the first night to be away from the street noise. It was done in an half hour, with a smile. The choice of soaps is luxurious as is everything else. If you need a taxi, let the hotel help you out. They are doing a great job and find the best price/deals for you.
The pool has a nice size and is made of beautiful black stones.

If we ever look again for a stay in the center of Chiang Mai, we will go there. It will be like going back home.

Massages: of course more expensive than around the corner although still cheaper than in Europe, but with a great advantage if you have a back problem (my case): you explain it in English to a hotel staff and he/she will translate it to the "masseuse" who can therefore be careful and avoid hurting you. The massage rooms are beautiful, the tables where you lay have a whole for the face and believe me, when the gong echoes, annoucing the end of the session, your heart sinks!!!

Thank you everybody and special thanks to Alex.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank theodoreVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

This accommodation has only been open for 3 months. Several local travel magazines featured this, after a bit of search online and "tripadvisoring", we decided to stay at this hotel.
Booking was entirely done online. It's 120 baht of taxifare to get to the hotel from the airport; it is located in the exact middle of the old city, equidistant to each side of the moat. In fact, it's on the Rachadamnoen Road, where the Sunday market is held. Hotel staff were hard working, they grabbed our bags once we got off the taxi. They wore traditional Thai clothing uniform - some also wore a pair of crocs, which was cool. The wooden interior of the reception made a good atmosphere and made you felt as relaxed as you can.
We were shown to our room which was upstairs. It's very modern and well equipped, at the same time, offers "the Thai touch". The room looks exactly like the picture on their website. We had a choice of different scented soap while we booked online, I asked for bamboo, which actually has no smell; my girlfriend went for lemongrass, which was very refreshing.
Do be careful during the shower, as the surface becomes extremely slippery after you put the soap on. Sit down (There's a bench inside the shower!) and wash your feet clean before standing back up. It's so slippery that if you've got soap on your butt, you'll slide around on the bench also, so just be careful.
My girlfriend tried the spa upstairs, which was quite expensive compared with the other ones, but I think it's money well spent. She tried the U miracle massage, which left a soothing layer of oil on the body - so comfortable that she refused to bath on the same night! She had also tried 2 others spas around the hood, and commented that while the neighboring shops offer the service at 1/10 the price, it's quite a far cry from that in the hotel - in terms of the rubbing material used (smells like bengay), the bed (lack of privacy; there are 10 beds in the same room - my girlfriend minded, note that ladies need to undress), the cleanliness (I'll stop here), hospitality (Once the masseuse just left without saying a word and came back 5 minutes later), the atmosphere, etc.
The hotel's got a 24 hour free internet access, which I considered important.
It also has a small gym, with a treadmill, dumbells and a few other machines, which is also open 24 hours.
These 24 hour services are vital if you jetlagged and suddenly found yourself awake at 2am.
Breakfast is included, I think it's very good. We can eat unlimited cereal, different fruits, pastries; the banana jam is quite interesting. The "main course" for the breakfast features a range from the English breakfast with eggs and bacon, to the Northern Thai style with Thai sausages with jasmine rice (breakfast?), or congee, or noodles.... Quality and service are good.
On Sunday, the market begins around 5pm. It's amazing that there are enough vendors and merchants to fill the entire area!!! We were given a notice the day before reminding us that since the streets will be filled with people, the hotel will not be accessible by car on Sunday nights. Very thoughtful of the management.
One reason we chose this hotel is its proximity to the Sunday market, we wanted to be able to "unload" our purchases every once in a while, instead of carrying them in the rain. This will prove important for those who likes to shop.
The swimming pool is adequate; it's not very large, but it's comfortable. The management tries to keep it as clean as possible, you see staff constantly cleaning it, but unavoidably, being an outdoor pool, you see sometimes leaves and dead insects inside. But overall, it's very clean.
Hotel staff also helped me call up and book certain activities, such as cooking classes; which i am grateful for. I would like to thank them.
Also, the initial problems experienced by an earlier traveller had been ironed out.

Fun fact: the National Geographic channel is in Thai language, and I can't change it back to English.
Fun fact 2: the pond at the entrance has quite a few goldfish in it!

*photos of the room interior is exactly as depicted as in their website, hence I posted some restaurant/ food pics.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank subtarget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

U-Hotel, one of the newest hotels in the very center of old Chiang Mai is situated on Ratchadamnoen Road directly across from Wat Chedi Luang. Because of the clever design of its complex, it is also a peaceful refuge from the day's rambling. The moment, one steps over the koi moat through tall wooden gates, smiling faces and clear eyes strive to exceed one's expectations.

The heart of this tranquil environment is a courtyard with its meticulously kept gardens, cascading black swimming pools and multi-level sun decks. Overlooked by guest room balconies with daybeds lavished with jewel tone pillows and a vintage style fan adding a personal breeze.

Upon check-in we were offered a choice of scented soaps and pillows. Our room had a double width shower. The mattress and linens were sumptuous. Had we left the room in a hurry, we would find upon our return flung clothes - neatly folded, purchased sweets- stowed with the coffee maker and loose change piled into a little chedi on the table.

At U-Hotel guests can have their meals anytime or anyplace they want (i.e. in their room, the pool, the garden lounge or the bar on the second floor overlooking (on Sunday night) the street market. We choose to have (the included) breakfast in the small dining room overlooking Ratchadamnoen Road, watching the town wake-up with a flurry of saffron and orange as monk novitiates arrived for study at the wat across the street. Breakfast at U-Hotel means if they have it, you'll get it. Even if it's not on the menu the staff will do their upmost to accommodate one's tastes. And then anticipate any special requests the next morning.

The spa is as charming and professional as those costing twice as much. The library has two PC workstations and books on Thai travel, design and history. The 24 hour gym is perfect when the time change had us up at 4 AM.

U-Hotel's reasonable tariffs, amenities, and verve make it a place you want to be. We sadly left U-Hotel for Bangkok and the Peninsula - as nice as that was. . . it never felt like the home U-Hotel had become.

From the gardener to the street guard, every staff went beyond what we expected in service, making us feel valuable and coddled - they will always have a special place in our hearts, especially Miss M, Gui and Lec. We hope to be back soon.

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank Cruzanmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

My Fiance and I wanted to have the perfect holiday in Chiang Mai, and the U CHiang Mai delivered the goods.

If you're after the perfect location, find a map of Chiang Mai, drop a pin in the centre of the map and this is where you'll find the hotel.

From the first step into the hotel you'll be blown away! Very well manered and groomed staff that speak and understand English amongst other languages will greet you with traditional thai reception. Architecture all about the building is incredible, simple and modern design with natural colours offset by well placed feature walls. Adequate main swimming pool, and some rooms have private lap pool at the balcony door.

The room itself was exceptional, very comfortable and modern, with the guest given a choice of pillows, Ipod selections, soaps and types of tea.

The U Chiang Mai has it's own street front restaurant with an open air bar above it. Let me give you the red hot tip - If you have the time, try everything on the menu, the food is sensational. It was that good we even thought that Gordon Ramsay would love it! We particularly enjoyedf the pasta and thought it to be superior to any dish that we had eaten in our home country of Australia.

We asked one of the U's staff members, Alex, how they had managed to perfect the food to such a high standard. Apparently when the U was being set up, the Australian guy that was in charge of all aspects of the hotels development sat in the restaurant and ordered everything on the menu and sent everything back to the kitchen until it was to his standards.

What did we like the most
1. Staff very friendly and professional
2. Restauant
3. Rooms
4. Guests can check out whenever they want
5. Breakast can be served anywhere on the hotel premises at any time
6. New mountain bikes available to guests, free of charge.
7. Modern gym with adequate range of cardio and free weights

What did we dislike?
1. Nothing - could not fault a thing, and all very reasonably priced

Changes we'd like to see
1. Add an exercise bike to the gym
2. Range of heavier weights in gym

NOTE
When taking tours in Chiang Mai - buyer beware!
Eg - when taking an elephant tour you will be given the option of either a group or private tour, price difference 1000 baht/person.

We thought that private tour meant exactly that - eg we'd be on elephants by ourselves and in secluded surounds. Not so. "Private Tour" simply means that you catch the bus by your self to the tourist park and then go on tour with everyone else!

And finally the all important question - Would we come back? absolutely!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank markBallarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

Great little Boutiqu hotel that is brand new and only opened a month ago. Everything new and clean. Staff at hotel was probably the most hospitapol staff I have ever had at any hotel! Only problem was, I booked for 5 nights. On the second night the main swimming pool broke, some sort of problem with the tiles. So they had to drain and do construction. So I checked out as found looking at an empty pool to be distracting and the noise from the construction would not be good. Suppose to take 10 days to fix. So I would not book with hotel until end of August. I would gladly go back to the hotel to stay after problem fixed. Great little restuarant and upstairs bar at the hotel. Breakfast is not buffett, but you order whatever you want and they cook for you. Free Room service also. Room are very nice and the Bathroom/shower is awesome! Painted kind of a relaxing dark purple/brown color. Super comfortable bed. Good Steak at restuarant also. Ownership should take note though on the shoes the staff is required to wear. Had 5 different staff members complain to me about the shoes! Owners make staff wear these rubber croc sandals. Staff complains about how hot the shoes are, and how they smell! Also the Spa upstairs is way overpriced! Can go next door to Spa there and get good traditional thai massage in very nice thai teak house for about 25% the cost! The Spa at the U really needs to cut their prices in half if they want bussiness. Was funny, when I went next door for the massage, saw severel other guest staying at the U, there next door for massages also! U Chiangmai also has a great fitness center. Perfect size for a great workout. Has dumbells and all machines you need. They even have mountain bikes they loan out free to guest so you can go explore the city. Nice library upstair in the old thai house part of the hotel. Very comfortable with nice selection of books on Thailand. Free internet service in the Library as well for guest.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Leopardprey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bernd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#21 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,070 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#38 of 392 in Chiang Mai
994 reviews
1.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 392 in Chiang Mai
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £100 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and LateRooms so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing