We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location, great design, poor construction.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #14 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, great design, poor construction.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

My wife and I just returned from our first trip to Thailand, where we stayed at this hotel while in Chiang Mai. Overall it was an excellent hotel for us. The location is superb, right in the center of the old city and within walking distance or short taxi or tuk-tuk ride of just about everything we wanted to see. The design was an interesting mix of old and new and worked well. The amenities were excellent (iPod and dock in room, bicycles available, maps and directions, free wifi, library with internet access). The staff were helpful and friendly every time with every request. Of course the breakfast anytime and the flexible checkout times were a plus as well. My only complaint has to be with the construction of the hotel. We were located in room 301, which is one of their more "expensive" rooms and has an exterior wall facing the street. We happened to be staying there on a Sunday evening, which is when the street becomes a night market (which we like) and the restaurant across the street has a band (which was, well, not good). The wall facing the street is just wooden planks which, in the morning, allow sunlight to come through the joints and does very little to block out sound. If it hadn't been for the lousy band across the street, and early morning construction (which I forgot to mention) also across the street, this wouldn't have been an issue for me. However if you are a light sleeper I cannot recommend room 301.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmcii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    320
    66
    16
    7
See reviews for
207
760
73
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

We loved U Chiang Mai! We had booked a few days here and a few at a well-known B&B, and actually ended up canceling the B&B and coming back to U Chiang Mai. The staff were great, all of them friendly and doing their utmost to provide great service, smiling and very polite. They were good with kids too and recovered well when my son scared them with his new toy snake! Rooms were very comfortable, the extra beds are real solid beds with mattresses, and the small garden had an air of peaceful tranquility. Great TV with lots of cable channels, good choice of breakfast cooked to order, tasted great, didn't try the fruit but pastries and cereal also available, and the location is perfect. You can easily walk to shops and restaurants or get a tuk tuk, and it is right on the Sunday market street. We did not see a single mosquito the whole time we were there, and didn't have any trouble with noise either, even though the hotel was full. It was really good to have the check-out time the same as check-in, as it meant we could use the extra time in the afternoon to freshen up before taking our flight. They even emailed us about some things we had left behind, to ask if we wanted them sent on, not every place will do that. We would very happily stay again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Applepup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

Our 3rd flr (dlx) room was fine, with nice balcony and no mozzies, but the breakfasts were quite disappointing. The fruit was hard and unripe, and a very small selection available. (no papaya for example). The "chef" could not even cook an omlette : it arrived very runny and unappetising. Bread also disappointing : sliced bread only, and one old self service toaster. More 3 and a half star. The "chose your soap" etc is just a gimic. Occasional whiff of drains... The Tamarind Village down the road had much more up market ambiance. Despite that its a perfectly good base for a few days and certainly seems popular with western independant tourists.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alann6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssucm, General Manager at U Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 1 February 2010
Dear Alann6,

Firstly, we appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedbacks and the opportunity to respond to them

Please accept my sincere apology for the experiences you had during your stay with us. After carefully reviewed all your comments, we shared them with our staff. Indeed, your comments are beneficial for us to plan additional trainings for our team.

We would appreciate welcoming you back at some point in the future to let you experience the improvements we made.

Best regards,
Suchada Saengarun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

We booked our stay directly with U Chiangmai for 4 nights under their 'Stay & Save' promotion mainly based on the many favorable and glowing reviews on here as well as the flexible check in/out times, ipod music, free bicycles, breakfast anytime and seemingly personal service. And boy we were in for a real disappointment.

Despite being the so called high season in Chiangmai, the hotel was perhaps 15-20% occupied when we checked in. Although I specified that we were on our honeymoon and it was also my wife's birthday and she was 3 months pregnant, not only were we not offered an upgrade, we were given, quite obviously, the lousiest room (room 111) in the hotel, which was the first room closest to the reception on the ground floor. We never had a good night's sleep. Throughout the night and especially early in the morning from 5-8am we could hear the staff shuffling about outside our room, guests checking out and dragging their bags, showers going off and wardrobe doors opening and closing as the walls are really thin and the floors are not carpeted.

Our 'superor' room was tiny, it also had no dressing/study table leaving you no room to have breakfast (which defeats the purpose of their anytime, anywhere breakfast facility). The bathroom is decent size but again lacks counter space, the sink area is super tight with no room for toiletries. There are a lot of mosquitoes so we could not enjoy our patio especially in the evenings and even the lounge area is infested with giant mozzies. While the personal touches e.g. you can choose your own pillows, ipod music, soap and tea during booking seem attractive, we did not feel like our stay was personable at all. The staff was not unwelcoming per se but they were not any different from any other average hotel staff. The basics were okay, the room was clean, the towels were kinda shabby to be honest, the hotel grounds are small but quite cozy, standard free wifi and the location is great - not too busy.

Our breakfast was average, the spread was typical - cereals, fruits, breads, pastries, cold cuts and cooked to order eggs items and some local breakfast options. We had 3 breakfasts at the restaurant and our last one in our room, which we had to eat off the small coffee table since we not given breakfast trays. Nothing special was made for my wife on her birthday, no cake, no card, nothing. It would have been nice since making our stay personable was their main selling point and the reason why we chose U Chiangmai. We have traveled extensively all over the world and in Thailand especially and we usually pay approximately the same prices for accommodation (USD100-150) - U Chiangmai definitely does not live up to what it promised in terms of its price point and service. What a shame.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALOH_HS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssucm, Genaral Manager at U Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 24 January 2010
Dear ALOH_HS,

I am writing this letter to you after receiving your much appreciated feedback reflecting your recent visit to U Chiang Mai.

Firstly let me by start by expressing my sincere apology for your disappointment you experienced during your stay with us and I assure you I am very concerned about your feedback.

I have investigated your room assignment and the intent of our front desk host was to offer you a room that was on the ground floor so that your wife would not have to climb the stairs to other floors as she was pregnant. Therefore she assigned your room on the ground floor with a swimming pool view. Unfortunately, the room location proved not to your liking and we do apologize for this.

In regard to your comments re breakfast, we do not provide a full breakfast buffet perhaps as you would have expected but we do provide a continental breakfast with an accompanying hot a la carte menu with varying choices and I believe you also felt that the tables were clearly not of adequate size for dining in the guest room and we have taken note of this comment. Your other comments and feedback also have been noted and addressed within the team at the hotel to ensure they are not repeated.

Clearly we also failed to recognize that it was your wife’s birthday on the day of departure which was not acceptable and I totally understand your disappointment and frustration which accumulated during your stay.

We would appreciate welcoming you back at some point in the future to let you experience the improvements we made.

Best regards,

Suchada Saengarun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

A warm, cosy, friendly hotel at a ideal location. This boutique hotel has high service and qualified staff. Just ask and they'll arrange it for you. I have spend 3days in Chiang Mai at the U-hotel. The hotel is located in the street of the sunday market, which is very nice. From the hotel you can walk to the nightlife(10-15min) or to the several temples, which are nearby (3-10 minute walk). The night bazar is about 20 minutes walk from the hotel or you can take the Tuk Tuk.
When i come back to Chiang Mai I will definitely go back to this hotel, due to the location and service.

Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ArnoldO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
málaga
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

This hotel is just lovely. The rooms are very nice, big, with a huge and confortable bed.
The location is perfect, just in the middle of the city. We rent a motorbike and it was very easy to go everywhere.
The staff is very helpful and kind. Breakfast was gourgeous, with the best yelow noodles we´ve tried (and you can have it at any time you choose, which is great for holidays)
The swinming pool is also very nice.
We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocioM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

My husband and I spent 2 nights here just chilling out. very nice laid-back environment. we are happy here doing pretty much nothing. there are local eateries right next to the hotel which serve fantastic food. friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gooofygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.9 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
1.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Property: U Chiang Mai
Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing