We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sila-aat

Sila-aat
Ranked #418 of 2,025 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sussex England
Level Contributor
181 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
“Ok experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We saw this in the heart of the market, displaying a large Trip Advisor sign. Lots of seats in the open under a corrugated tin cover and plenty of locals eating which is generally a good sign.. Not a lot of smiles around, but food was ok. The offer is three sizes. It is hard to choose. A small with a side order is big enough for one to eat. We had three small dishes between two and it was ample. It lacks finesse for western style with white plastic garden chairs, and the cheapest metal stamped cutlery money can buy so you can eat off the plastic plates. Two drinks, one large beer and two courses was £14. Not a lot of money but not a lot of style.. If we were to go back we would probably go elsewhere. The food was pretty tasty and the Chiangmai sausage certainly had bite, before we added any chilli paste. The menu is extensive and therefore quite hard to choose before you get onto portion size. Plenty of drinks options too. So, in theory a lot to like, but not entirely one for a return visit for us

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellerforpleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    71
    37
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in chiang Mai for two nights only and after the first night we had to go back for a second time. The service was quick and friendly. Dishes were amazing! Great prices. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst experiencw”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Worst food with high cost.
I suggest not to go. As we order vegetarian food
Green curry and tom kha.

Too bad without any vegetables only mashrooms is there

Helpful?
Thank mayank j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Delicious food, traditionally cooked.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Set by the nightly market area the restaurant is discovered by accident after walking away from the Main Street and into a covered market area rather than one that stands out on the main road. If you find it you will not be disappointed. The fresh food display of vegetables and fish is mouth watering. The menu selection is good with the ability to order different sizes of dishes depending on the size of your party. The servers are good at recommending the number of dishes that would be adequate for your party without over selling . The food itself is delicious and cooked well. We ate there several nights working our way through the dishes that caught our eye. Locals eat there which is always a good sign of good food and during our stay we noticed that we were not the only tourists who revisited. Prices are very reasonable for food which is simple, tasty and in unique surroundings.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank borneogeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

The grilled seafood platter with crab was overcooked, tasteless and too small for two people to share. For 1500 baht it was very disappointing. Don't bother with this place.

Helpful?
Thank MacDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sila-aat also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Sila-aat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing