We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cheap, good service and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vanilla Place Guest House
Ranked #48 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean, cheap, good service and good location”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We spent there 3 nights, the owners are very nice and helpful people who will negotiate a very competitive price and recommend the best. The room was clean, the breakfast was good and there is a share computer with free internet. We arrived quite early and the room was ready for us with no extra charge. Also we needed to contact a friend who was in another guess house and Mr Kem did everything in he could to help!! It was very nice to meet such a nice people!!

Room Tip: Ask for the room which window doesn't face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajadora76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    131
    40
    12
    6
See reviews for
68
293
70
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Mr Kem was the true host. He not only had information but also made the contacts and negotiated rates for us. He also did not take commission for organising trips (10% discount). The guest house is tidy and clean and in an excellent location. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_cube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Vanilla Place was a guest house that did not disappoint us. It was great value for money and the owners (Kem and Kat) were very hospitable throughout our entire stay. They were also flexible with our check-in and check-out timing as well, me and my friend could arrive at the guest house past midnight and leave our rooms in the afternoon. The guest house is near to the Anusan market and night bazaar and is about a 25 minute walk from the old city. Kem is also very knowledgeable, he gives good recommendations (restaurants, attractions) and what to look out for. Be sure to book your tours through Kem, you can be rest assured that he will give you a reasonable price. I would definitely like to come back here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanrong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Thankyou for making myself and my two childrens stay in Chang Mai so enjoyable. You were wonderful people who showed the true meaning of kindness and caring for others. Mr Ting was the most considerate taxi driver I have ever meet. The guest house is situated in the best location - easy walking access to all the main points of interest in town. We will definitely be back in the near future. Thanks for everything

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Mr Kem and his family made our stay fantastic!

He is a lovely and hard working man and felt genuinely welcomed into his guest house- the little dog is cool as well.

The guest house is located well to the night bezzar and not far from the old city.

Book all your tours through Mr Kem as he will charge you a fair price and not rip you off!

Good beds and rooms!

Thanks Mr Kem for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dyldyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nong Khai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I rang the owner in the morning to make a reservation for that night. I told him I would be flying in at 9 p.m. and would be at the guesthouse at about 9.30. I got there at 9.25 to find the place locked up, and could get no answer on their phone number. I ended up having to walk around Chiang Mai looking for a hotel or guesthouse. I was very disappointed by this lack of service, and could not in all honesty recommend anyone staying there with a late evening arrival. Yes, this was Mr. Sam who you messed around.

Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSam930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This is a nice little place, in a very good location right next to the night bazar. The highlight of the place, however, is the owner Mr Kiem. From the moment you get in you really feel like he's there to make sure you have a good experience. Since he seems to always be there, you can go ask him questions any time and he can help you out booking tours and such. In our case, he helped us book a driver for a whole day who just drove us around wherever we wanted to go. The whole day (8:30-5:30) cost us 600 baht (paying attractions separately, of course), so definitely a fair price, no scam to make money off of unsuspecting tourists. When a taxi we had booked failed to show up to drive us to the airport, Mr Kiem was immediately on it, making calls to check, and once it became clear the taxi wouldn't come he quickly made arrangements for another car to take us there.

Be aware that there are stairs to climb to get to the rooms (some of them several flights), so if you can't climb stairs it may not be a good choice. Other than that, there's free wifi, worked great for me throughout the stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 381 in Chiang Mai
668 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#19 of 381 in Chiang Mai
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#37 of 381 in Chiang Mai
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#56 of 381 in Chiang Mai
861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#63 of 381 in Chiang Mai
289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#46 of 381 in Chiang Mai
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanilla Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanilla Place Guest House

Property: Vanilla Place Guest House
Address: 73 / 2-3 Charoenprated Rd | Tombon Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#31 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanilla Place Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanilla place a boutique guesthouse located at the heart of Chiangmai. Our 15 beautifully decorated rooms can offer you the convenience and comfort like you are living in your own house. All rooms are fully furnished with teak wood. Night Bazaar is around 5 minutes walk and we're also close to all tourism areas such as Anusarn market, Ta Pae and Rim Ping, which can be reached very easily. Warm welcome is awaiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vanilla Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanilla Place Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Vanilla Place Hotel
Vanilla Place Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing