We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveller rating
402
134
40
17
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
402
134
40
17
14
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 607 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2012

It's strange how the reviews of this hotel are so positive. Bathroom is smelly and mouldy - rooms are basic and the hotel is at the edge of town. Front office smells of dog. After our first breakfast we went out for breakfast! Mango steens at breakfast were rotten inside - tried four then gave up. Many backpackers here so perhaps they are not so discerning.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Mr and Mrs Kem projects the warmth of the Chiang Mai people. Just ask and they will go out on a limp to make you holiday the most comfortable if not the most enjoyable one. I would compare their standard of care and passion to their guest similar to that of a 5 star establishment if not better!
Affordable and clean, Vanilla Place is located within walking distance to just about all the major markets available in Chiang Mai and some of the best affordable eating places in Chiang Mai. I would say the best place to stay if you are looking to shop and enjoy the local flavors of Chiang Mai.
I for one look forward to my next visit to Chiang Mai and staying at Vanilla Place !

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My wife and I spent our honemoon and in Thailand and wanted a simple, comfortable and reasonably priced place to stay when we were in Chiang Mai.

Our friends had stayed in Vanilla Place before, so we thought we would give it a try.

Vanilla Place is comfortable, clean and perfect if you are looking for somewhere to get a good nights sleep after a day of exploring. It is not a luxury hotel.

What really made it for us was the owner Kem who was extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful and he was able to organise trips for us for less than they would have otherwise have cost us.

We would stay again.

Room tip: Try to get a room at the back of Vanilla Place because the front rooms do get noise from the road.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Kem, the manager, is extremely friendly and helpful. We visited this guesthouse when we arrived in Chiang Mai and Kem patiently showed us his available rooms without pressuring us at all. He even offered to help us find our way around the city whether or not we decided to stay there. He felt warm, honest, and helpful. We ended up opting for something a little more up-scale (and more expensive), but did return the following day to book a cooking class Kem recommended, that was terrific. There are definitely cheaper places that offer similar accommodation, but it's hard to beat this level of warm, friendly service.

Room tip: Cheaper rooms have no window, which makes them a little dreary, so it's worth the extra 200 BHT for the window. Try to get one on the backside if you can to avoid street noise.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My partner and I loved it here. Everything was perfect. They were awake and welcoming when we arrived at 11.30pm after our train was delayed 4 hours and set us up for a great sleep in a comfy room.
We booked a couple of tours through mr Kem who discounted the brochure price and found us spots at late notice.
Our hosts were the friendliest in Thailand and this guest house was the best place we stayed at in our entire 36 day trip.
Mr Kem said he would die a happy man if he could be number one on trip advisor and I hope he will never die so this amazing place continues to run, but in case he does, hopefully this review helps him achieve his much deserved goal.

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbleasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews