We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most honest and genuine service I've ever received.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vanilla Place Guest House
Ranked #45 of 376 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The most honest and genuine service I've ever received.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very basic and not going to blow you away with amenities, so if this is the type of hotel you are looking for go elsewhere.

If you are looking for a hotel with a great breakfast, all the basic necessities, cleanliness and the absolute best service you will ever receive, then this is your place.

The hotel is right around the corner from both markets and only a short walk to the old city of Chiang Mai. 120 baht ride from the airport makes this guesthouse in the most ideal location.

Upon check in you will meet the owners and their dog happy. Mr. Kem went above and behind to make sure all out plans coincide and we received the best service at the cheapest price.

If you are staying in Chiang Mai, and don't care about useless things like flat screen TVs this is your place!

- Mr. Kem hooked us up with a great taxi guy, so if you are in the area and don't plan on staying here please call Mr. Ting for any taxi service. He was nice, efficient, cheap and even bought us waters, snacks and gifts throughout the day!

Ting-freebirds@hotmail.com

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    130
    38
    12
    6
See reviews for
68
291
69
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Date of stay: from 10/03/13 to 14/03/13

I really appreciated my stay at Vanilla Guest House.

The house is nice and clean and well maintained.

It's location is very convenient:
- You can find most of the things you need nearby (bars, convenient stores, motorbike rental shop, spa, ...)
- You can visit downtown by foot
- You can go to the Night Bazaar Market, Night Saturday or Sunday market by foot

What is very great is the kindness of the landlords - Kem and his wife (and their funny dog)
They do their best to make you feel comfortable and they can help you a lot by advising you what, where and how to visit around / in Chiang Mai.

Be aware:
- Wifi is available and free
- Breakfast is included (sticky rice with mango is absolutely delicious the rest is standard)
- There is a nice common room where you can rest, read or chit-chat
- Every guest has a pass in addition to the key in this way you can go in and out whenever you want
- Rooms by the street are a little bit noisy on the morning because of the traffic but it's quite ok since most of the time you will get up early to do your activity of the day
- From the airport, it costs 120 baht to go there

Hope it helps

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l80_stephane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We have a 6 month baby stayed in Feb 2013 for 3 days and thought it worked for us. The owners where very flexible and even offered to let us use their kitchen on the ground floor to make things for our baby.

Location: Very convenient so we could dash out and back to work with babies sleep routine.

Accommodation: Rooms where smaller than the pictures and needed to carry luggage up and down stairs but we made sure we carried light when travelling. Rooms where clean and there was enough room for our baby port-a-tent.

Noise: We were worried our baby would make too much noise, but the owners were very supportive. Sound between rooms seemed good...at least no-one complained about our baby crying at night. :)

Service: Of course, like everyone has commented, the owners are very flexible and accommodating. Their English was good.

Room Tip: We preferred the back room that was quiet and had a window. We did stay an extra night and could on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welovedumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Although the physical building is not "luxurious" by any means, it is an absolutely fantastic place to stay.

We stayed in July of 2012 as a family of four - parents and two teenage boys (13/14).

The service was amazing and the location was very good (and the value was also very good). Kem is a gracious, polite, thoughtful and honest host. He helped us with all manner of questions, logistics, suggestions, and planning. I always felt as if he truly cared for our well-being and that he truly wanted us to enjoy the beauty of his country.

With respect to the facility, the place was always clean and presentable, breakfast was fine, spacious common areas. Walking distance to a great night market.

But the service was the key. I'd stay here next time I go to Chiang Mai - we felt like family and Vanilla Place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

My wife and I spent nearly two weeks at Vanilla Place guest house. Rooms are basic but bright and clean. Mr. Kem is a wonderful host -- he seems to genuinely care about your experience and will do anything he can to help you out. Our first night, we had problems with the WIFI (important as we are working as we travel) and within an hour he had his tech guy there working out the problem. I would not hesitate to recommend. Also lots of restaurants and the night market close at hand.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

One of the best places I've ever stayed. Kem and his wife are so welcoming and accommodating. Kem is one of the kindest persons I have ever met. He helped us arrange every trip - a day at the Elephant Nature Park, a Muay Thai fight, a trip up to Doi In, and a Thai cooking class that was REALLY amazing. Whenever he could, he provided a discount as well.

The room was spacious, clean, and air-conditioned. Breakfast was light: fruit, pastries, sticky rice and mango, toast, coffee, tea, and a mix for hot chocolate. Two complimentary bottled waters were also provided every day, which was great for the heat when walking around the city.

In terms of location, the guest house is located along the river near the Iron Bridge. The Night Bazaar is a five minute walk away, full of shopping, street food, and a huge food court. There are also a huge variety of restaurants nearby, including a nice market across the river (Rimping Market), which seemed similar to Western style grocery stores (I think it's Japanese-owned?). We were able to buy quite a few things there, not to mention the 7-11 nearby as well.

It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the gates of the Old City, but a songtaew (red trucks) could probably get you there for about 20 baht p.p. More if you want to get to the Westside. Either way, good location, not exactly central, but still okay.

Lastly, just to give you a better idea of the character of this guest house: Kem always gave us great recommendations on local eateries (spot on), picked up some local must-try food at the market, and let us store our bags and use a room - even after check-out! I'll remember this place and come back again, no doubt.

People who think this guesthouse is "simple" or "overpriced" seem to forget what an equal amount of money would get them back West, which is to say, nothing - and certainly not the hospitality and character of Vanilla Place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayinberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed at Vanilla Place after reading the reviews here. However, we have been a bit disappointed, as the guesthouse is very (very!) simple and the bed's were pretty uncomfortable. The owner Kem however is great and gave us great tips for lunch, massage and trips. The guesthouse is near the nightmarket, which is great, but about 20 minutes walk from the old town. If you look for a nice and helpful service, then this guesthouse is for you. If you look for a value for money place, one of the places in the old town might be a better bet.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatBoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#54 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#39 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#40 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#62 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanilla Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanilla Place Guest House

Property: Vanilla Place Guest House
Address: 73 / 2-3 Charoenprated Rd | Tombon Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#31 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanilla Place Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanilla place a boutique guesthouse located at the heart of Chiangmai. Our 15 beautifully decorated rooms can offer you the convenience and comfort like you are living in your own house. All rooms are fully furnished with teak wood. Night Bazaar is around 5 minutes walk and we're also close to all tourism areas such as Anusarn market, Ta Pae and Rim Ping, which can be reached very easily. Warm welcome is awaiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vanilla Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanilla Place Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Vanilla Place Hotel
Vanilla Place Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing