We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay here, I remain impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vanilla Place Guest House
Ranked #72 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in a Superior Room. Room was clean, had a/c, mini fridge (inc. 2 bottles of drinking water daily), hot and cold water, TV-sat, daily room cleaning with fresh towels. Price of room included basic but acceptable breakfast of a variety of fruits, bread/toast, cereals, biscuits, fruit juices and tea and coffee. Free wifi was included. Very spacious guest house.

Guest house is in a great location, just 5 minute walk from the Night Bazaar, 30 minute walk from the old town, lots of options to pick up Tuk Tuks and taxis along the road the guest house is on. Just 20min taxi ride from the airport.

Mr Kem, the owner, was very helpful and arranged daily trips and transport at discounted prices. Even flagged down a taxi to the airport when I could have done this myself.

There were some decorators in while I stayed here, doing some painting on the 2nd floor. Mr Kem did apologise for any inconvenience but this didn't affect my stay at all

Overall, excellent stay, I feel very much at home when I stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahw28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

We were traveling since three month with some friends and this is the best place we have been in all the south of Asia.

You will not be disapointed if you go there. I feel like I was protected by the staff as like I was home with my Family. The room are sooo clean and all smell vanilla's perfum. The bed are soo good and so sweet. The completely hotel from A to Z is sweetness. You should go there and spend some great time in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mari-C90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This guesthouse was the best hotel we stayed in during our journey through Thailand and Malaysia. It beats the six other hotels we stayed in by far because of a couple of reasons. The owner is a very nice man named Mr. Kem, he runs the place together with his wife Mrs. Kat. We arrived in Chiang Mai by train, we payed 200 THB for a mini van this was way too much. You should take a red cab that is cheaper. Mr. Kem told us this later as well. Anyway, we arrived at the guesthouse and Mr. Kem explained us how the guesthouse worked, how to get around in Chiang Mai and what trips he offered, also asked where we wanted to go/ what we wanted to do. We were hungry so he drove us with his car to the centre, because he was going there anyway. Dropped us at a very good local Thai restaurant and recommended some others as well. We tried them all and found that all the recommendations were excellent. (Try a curry at Lemongrass, close to the guesthouse!!). He arranged some trips for us for a very good price. We went to the tiger kingdom, elephant riding, the zoo (pandas!), a hill temple, the golden triangle, the white temple (chiang rai) and sight seeing around Chiang Mai. Also went to the sunday market, really something you should see when in Chiang Mai.
As for the guesthouse its self; the rooms were nice and clean, ours had a balcony, a tv, warm water and a fridge. The whole place smelled very nice (Thai) because of the essence candles that were everywhere. The breakfast was simple, toast with jam, but also nice. There was free wifi everywhere and a free computer in the common room. You could clearly see that mr. Kem was very proud of his guesthouse, he is an honest and nice man. The location is also good, not that close to the centre, but close to the night market. And there are enough red cars to take you to the centre for cheap (20 THB per person). I recommend anyone to stay in this guesthouse, we had an amazing time. It was like our home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Even though this place is a bit expensive, it makes up for in it's location (5 mins to the night bazaar) and the friendliness of the the owners. You have 2 choices of room, with or without a window (900 or 1,100 baht), rooms are fairly basic with bathroom, A/C, T.V. (ours had a small balcony), the price also includes breakfast (toast, fruit, coffee/tea, doughnuts), free internet. Would recommend this guest house as it is also very safe & secure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delmac71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

It has taken me a while to write this review as I'm a bit lazy but have finally got around to it! Last September (2012) my Fiancée and I stayed here for 5 nights. The location is ideal for being able to walk to the various markets and restaurants in the town and the Guest House itself is spacious and welcoming. The morning breakfast was basic but had everything you needed to start the day.

As many others have commented, Mr Kem is an excellent host and made us feel very welcome. When it came to booking trips or asking for recommendations he couldn't have been more helpful.

I would thoroughly recommend The Vanilla Place Guesthouse to anyone visiting Chiang Mai looking to experience what the City has to offer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We booked the guesthouse upon reading the good reviews (and yes, the terrible comments as well) for a 4 nights stay.

The guesthouse is nearby the Night Bazaar (5-10 minutes walk), and a 30 minutes walk away to Sunday walking street and the Old City. A few tuk-tuk and songthaews are readily available along the street, so transportation is extremely convenient if you don’t feel like walking.

Breakfast served are quite basic, but with variety of choices and is often ready before breakfast time, (which is at 7am) if you need to be out by then.

We requested for the superior room at the back so it was not noisy. The room with its attached bathroom is simple and a bit rustic, but clean, comfortable & sufficient to give you quality resting & sleeping time. Housekeeping is done daily, and they provide clean towels (not extremely new though) and 2 bottles of mineral water daily.

Mr Kem has indeed made the stay very pleasant. He advised us on places to go and must-see, unfortunately, but we were quite beat to do all..:) He also arranged for best deal tours with quality service, and asked for feedback at the end of the day. He can also arrange for motorbike rental, car for hire etc.

He even came out and flag for a songthaew to bring us to the airport, when we could have easily done it ourselves. We have stayed in many guesthouses before, but this is the first time we’ve received such wonderful extended service. And he recommends things to do without being pushy or expecting a commission, as he does not. Meeting a genuine person like him was a pleasure, and I felt very sad leaving. I felt at home.

In overall, the guesthouse is well-maintained and managed, and for the extra miles of services and effort, I'd say it's worth the money spent for a guesthouse. 2 thumbs up!

Thank you so much again, Mr Kem. You are such a gem!
And of course Happy (an adorable shihtzu) is a great receptionist..:)

Note to other travelers (can’t help but to write this after reading some unfair comments).
If you are doing cost/condition comparison, please do not compare taking an aircond minibus vs. a songthaew, or between a guesthouse vs. a luxurious 5-star hotel. The tour or ride prices to various places differ. Do your research well, and decide for yourself. Mr Kem is giving us an opportunity to make our stay in Chiangmai pleasant and convenient, but the choice is ours. If you are on a tight budget, source & bargain outside. You might get a slightly cheaper ride/tour, but you wouldn’t know about the service quality.

Room Tip: Tell the owner your preference i.e. not noisy etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelynn16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Vanilla Place Guest House in Chiang Mai was fabulous. Initally upon finding out about the Vanilla Place, I tried to book a room online and the reservations website said there were no rooms available so I emailed Kem myself and he actually had space so make sure you contact him directly. We started our family holiday (with a 19 and a 20 year old) in Chiang Mai after a difficult train ride from Bangkok. Kem gave our taxi driver directions to the house so we could get there as quickly as possible and immediately upon arrival, Kem was there to greet us with a cold glass of water--most welcome. Our rooms, with air conditioning, were delightful, spotless and welcoming. The beds were great and we all fell asleep easily every night. The bathrooms had fresh towels every day and hot water immediately upon turning on the tap. Kem booked all of our trips around Chiang Mai and saved our family a lot of money--listen to what he tells you and suggests. He listens to your wants and needs and then helps you make the right choice. We were going to go on one ziplining expedition and he recommended another one which was several hundred baht cheaper, but was worth way more in the way of fun and wow factor for our family. It included almost three hours of ziplines, abseils, bridges etc up in the rain forest and at the end of it, we had a Thai buffet lunch and a t-shirt. He also arrranged a driver for us so we could visit the handicrafts area of Chiang Mai and the driver was exceptional. Each morning we had a great buffet breakfast with very pleasant hot coffee--something we had trouble finding elsewhere on our travels. We had early morning trips but breakfast was always ready for our family. As well, Kem and his wife have a little dog named Happy who filled us with happiness each day. Every day, upon our return from our adventures, Kem was there to meet us and see if everything was satisfactory and as you can see, it was always way more than that. He even got us a taxi by waiting on the street for us as our driver's vehicle broke down at the last minute. We had rooms in the front of the guest house so we were able to watch the events in the street--it was a quiet street but still fun to watch. Enjoy your stay at the Vanilla Place--you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colber123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 393 in Chiang Mai
687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#69 of 393 in Chiang Mai
298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#23 of 393 in Chiang Mai
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#52 of 393 in Chiang Mai
564 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 393 in Chiang Mai
943 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#41 of 393 in Chiang Mai
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanilla Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanilla Place Guest House

Address: 73 / 2-3 Charoenprated Rd | Tombon Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#31 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £16 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanilla Place Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanilla place a boutique guesthouse located at the heart of Chiangmai. Our 15 beautifully decorated rooms can offer you the convenience and comfort like you are living in your own house. All rooms are fully furnished with teak wood. Night Bazaar is around 5 minutes walk and we're also close to all tourism areas such as Anusarn market, Ta Pae and Rim Ping, which can be reached very easily. Warm welcome is awaiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Vanilla Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanilla Place Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Vanilla Place Hotel
Vanilla Place Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing