We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 3 days!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vanilla Place Guest House
Ranked #64 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Discovered this top guest house through tripadvisor and booked my stay from Nov. 28 to 30 2013. Mr. Kem and wife were the most accommodating hosts ever. They will help you pick your itinerary, where to eat the best Khao Soi, which temples to visit, and many more! The room is basic, with a bathroom, TV, provide you water everyday,and clean your room as well. It's also affordable and near to all night bazaars.

Room Tip: *Book your zipline or any jungle activities through Mr. Kem the night before so you can get further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgsflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

Clean basic rooms. Mr Kem truly cares for his customers. I was impressed with him and his wife. Our rooms were fine not terribly comfortable. Breakfast was fruit and bread and coffee. Price is fair but lots of options in Chiang Mai that are similar

Room Tip: ask for one with a window
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Being seniors we were a little concern about staying in his guest house. But to our great surprise the place was excellently located where we could all everywhere. We even walked on several occasions to the old town. The room was spacious and clean but if you need quietness when booking request quiet room as this guest house is on a fairly busy streets with a bar next door and restaurants and other bars across the street. The one next to the guest house gets a little loud at times.

This guest house was excellent for the money and Mr, Kem the owner was an excellent host. He booked us private drivers to do a visa fun and also a driver for the day in order to do a few things outside of chiang Mai. I would stay there again. The stairs re a killer of old farts like us who were on the fourth floor,

We would definitely return to this place with a lower room at the back to avoid 4 flights of stairs.

Room Tip: You need to request quiet room at the back when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diamondeyhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Location is perfect. Only few steps from the river, few steps from the iron bridge (good vantage point to view fireworks), walking distance to the night market, Sunday Walking Market, etc.

Room and bathroom are very clean, they make your bed and provide fresh towels everyday.
They serve decent breakfast, coffee or chocolate, toast, jam/butter, fresh fruits, breads (which is a bonus considering the low price you pay for your stay).

Wifi is free. Can't complain.

Mr Kem is awesome and helpful. If you happen to want suggestions on places to go, he knows the area and attractions well. He can also contact people and places and hook you up if you want, right then and there. AND then there's HAPPY, such a cute dog. He welcomes you everyday you walk in...hehe.

Great Value all around! I would highly recommend this guesthouse and would definitely would want to stay here again!

Thank you Mr. Kem and family!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ms_mulder8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

The host of this guesthouse is SUPER! We stayed here 3 nights and were very sad to leave. Kem knows the best places in Chiang Mai and does everything with a smile! Nice rooms & central location! Just a perfect stay, we love this place!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annemie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Our experience with Vanilla Place was so much more than we expected! Mr. Kem is one of the sweetest men you will ever meet, and does everything he can to make your stay in Chiang Mai the best it can be. When he found out that I liked the guava served at breakfast, he made sure it was available for me everyday thereafter! He has great suggestions of where to eat (that are really very cheap), and will arrange for any kind of transportation you may need. Want a motorbike? With one phone call it was being dropped off at our door. Need to get to the airport? He'll take care of that. Want to go to the Thai Elephant Home? A driver will be there in the morning. He also gets many discounts on tickets for things, so don't book anything until you talk to him first!

The location of Vanilla Place was spectacular for us. It was about a ten minute walk to get to the nightly bazaar, which for us was close enough to go every night (best food is from the street vendors!), but far enough away so it's much quieter.

The rooms are simple, with everything we needed: a bed and a bathroom with a hot shower. Very secure. New towels daily. Air conditioning and a fan.

If you're lucky enough that Mr. Kem has availability during your Chiang Mai trip, book him now! The place is wonderful.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The hotel is conveniently located, clean, nicely updated, and a fantastic price. We stayed at several places in the area, and this was by far our favourite.

Having said this, the even greater value was meeting the owner, Mr. Kem, whose knowledge of the area is unsurpassed. Mr. Kem was an incredible asset in planning our experiences. He personally functioned as our tour guide. All his recommendations were exactly what we were looking for.

Make it easy on yourself, and visit Mr. Kem and the Vanilla Place.

My background: 30 year old male, traveling with wife. Wanted exposure to Thai culture, and moderate night life.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adargis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 392 in Chiang Mai
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#69 of 392 in Chiang Mai
297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#22 of 392 in Chiang Mai
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#49 of 392 in Chiang Mai
561 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#48 of 392 in Chiang Mai
928 reviews
1.2 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#90 of 392 in Chiang Mai
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanilla Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanilla Place Guest House

Address: 73 / 2-3 Charoenprated Rd | Tombon Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#31 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £16 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanilla Place Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanilla place a boutique guesthouse located at the heart of Chiangmai. Our 15 beautifully decorated rooms can offer you the convenience and comfort like you are living in your own house. All rooms are fully furnished with teak wood. Night Bazaar is around 5 minutes walk and we're also close to all tourism areas such as Anusarn market, Ta Pae and Rim Ping, which can be reached very easily. Warm welcome is awaiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vanilla Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanilla Place Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Vanilla Place Hotel
Vanilla Place Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing