We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vanilla Place Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vanilla Place Guest House
Ranked #43 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“True Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Highlights:
- Kem & family's hospitality and helpfullness (starting before you arrive: which taxi to take, organizing future activities, ...)
- Organization of 3day-2night trekking trip at reduced rate
- Explanation of Chiang Mai: good restaurants, temples, ...
- Hints for the rest of our Thailand trip
- Lending of backpack
- Clean rooms with AC and new bottles of drinking water every day
- Cute and quiet breakfast

Remark to previous comment:
My wife and I had a perfect time during the 3 nights we stayed.
However, if you're looking for ordinary package tourism maybe a guesthouse in general is the wrong place to look for.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank phmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    130
    37
    12
    6
See reviews for
68
291
66
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed at Vanilla place for one night on my way through Chiang Mai and loved it so much that I came back for three nights on my way out. The rooms are clean and basic with towel service every day. Lots of hot water and excellent water pressure. The beds were a little hard, but I slept well. I stayed in a superior room (I think they are the only ones with windows). The room was spacious and well appointed. The GH itself is literally a five minute walk from the night market and a 15 minute walk from Thapae Gate.

The highlight (and what brought me back) were Mr. and Mrs. Kem - they truly make you feel at home and will take care of everything for you if you want - laundry, excursions, getting the best rate on a tuk-tuk or song-teuw. They were so wonderful and helpful - they even helped my friends (who were staying at a different GH) with recomendations and rates.

Definitely the place to stay in Chiang Mai. Thank you Mr. and Mrs. Kem!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverWinelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Mr. Jem and his wife own, manage, and live at the Vanilla Place. They know Chiang Mai and northern Thailand thoroughly, and are always willing to make suggestions of what to see, where to visit, or where to eat, In addition, they are happy to make arrangements for you, and they virtually always can get you the best deal available. They also make sure that their establishment has trustworthy security.

The Vanilla Place has a convenient location - near many areas of interest, but not in the middle of the backpacker/barscene ghetto. A terrific variety of places to eat, as well as places to shop at the Night Bazaar are within walking distance. The Mae Ping River and it's Iron Bridge are just around the corner.

Finally, "Happy", their miniature guard dog is there to greet you, if you should miss your own dog back home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil2dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Me & my handsome husband stayed here and we both enjoyed it. It's really clean and owner is really nice. It's in a perfect area and it's in walking distance of restaurants and shopping. I recommend everyone should stay here.... You won't be disappointed

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuckyJen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Discovered this top guest house through tripadvisor and booked my stay from Nov. 28 to 30 2013. Mr. Kem and wife were the most accommodating hosts ever. They will help you pick your itinerary, where to eat the best Khao Soi, which temples to visit, and many more! The room is basic, with a bathroom, TV, provide you water everyday,and clean your room as well. It's also affordable and near to all night bazaars.

Room Tip: *Book your zipline or any jungle activities through Mr. Kem the night before so you can get further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgsflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Clean basic rooms. Mr Kem truly cares for his customers. I was impressed with him and his wife. Our rooms were fine not terribly comfortable. Breakfast was fruit and bread and coffee. Price is fair but lots of options in Chiang Mai that are similar

Room Tip: ask for one with a window
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Being seniors we were a little concern about staying in his guest house. But to our great surprise the place was excellently located where we could all everywhere. We even walked on several occasions to the old town. The room was spacious and clean but if you need quietness when booking request quiet room as this guest house is on a fairly busy streets with a bar next door and restaurants and other bars across the street. The one next to the guest house gets a little loud at times.

This guest house was excellent for the money and Mr, Kem the owner was an excellent host. He booked us private drivers to do a visa fun and also a driver for the day in order to do a few things outside of chiang Mai. I would stay there again. The stairs re a killer of old farts like us who were on the fourth floor,

We would definitely return to this place with a lower room at the back to avoid 4 flights of stairs.

Room Tip: You need to request quiet room at the back when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diamondeyhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#22 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#54 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#42 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#37 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#62 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanilla Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanilla Place Guest House

Property: Vanilla Place Guest House
Address: 73 / 2-3 Charoenprated Rd | Tombon Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#31 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanilla Place Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanilla place a boutique guesthouse located at the heart of Chiangmai. Our 15 beautifully decorated rooms can offer you the convenience and comfort like you are living in your own house. All rooms are fully furnished with teak wood. Night Bazaar is around 5 minutes walk and we're also close to all tourism areas such as Anusarn market, Ta Pae and Rim Ping, which can be reached very easily. Warm welcome is awaiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Vanilla Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanilla Place Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Vanilla Place Hotel
Vanilla Place Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing