We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vanilla Place Guest House
Ranked #72 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My family (wife and 2 daughters) and I stayed here for 10 nights, January to February 2014. We stayed in two superior rooms on the first floor. The rooms were comfortable for two and our girls enjoyed having there own room and my wife and I felt secure that they were safe. Breakfast is continental and the coffee is excellent.
Mr Kem and Mrs Kat are perfect hosts, who cannot do enough to make your stay comfortable and for you enjoy what Chiang Mai has to offer. They are always willing to help with any questions and suggest places to see, where to eat etc. Of course if you want to do your own thing, that's perfectly fine. The other staff are lovely too, very helpful and attentive, even though English is not there native language.
The location is the night bazaar area; 5-10 minute walk to the Warorot (day) market and 10-15 minute walk to the Old Town.
When we arrive at a hotel, we always ask to see the room/s first.
All in all this is a lovely place to stay and I have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone for their stay in Chiang Mai.
Thankyou Mrs Kat and Mr Kem and we cannot forget Happy, we miss you already.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have windows and standard ones don't. Also, when you arrive, always ask to see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

We arrived to this guesthouse with great disappointment. The manager/owner wasn't there - only a young kid around 24yrs old, but acted like a 14yrs old - incompetent. No lifts - We had to walk up 4 flight of stairs with our luggage. The standard room have no windows. The deluxe room to accommodate 3 guests - double bed and the 3rd person would have to sleep on the floor with the thinnest mattress and a kiddy pink quilt. We ask for additional mattress or a roller bed, but none was available. We told the manager we are westerners and not thai, therefore do not treat us like that. The manager told told us to leave which we did in a flash because we weren't planning to stay. The building is very old and shabby. The only advantage is the night market, but that is all. Lucky we found accommodation elsewhere, but we had to pay a little bit extra, but ok. Can't believe some of the reviews. I speak the truth.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Vanilla Place is definitely a basic, no frills place to stay in terms of aesthetics, but when you stay there & get to experience first hand the warmth & generosity that Mr Khem & his wife provide that by far makes it better than any 4* accommodations you will find. Location was fantastic, breakfast provided was adequate (croissants, toast, fruit, coffee & tea), rooms were comfortable (we had a superior room on top floor with a balcony facing the street) & service by Mr Khem was superior. We stayed @ Vanilla Place for 4 nights. Mr Khem organized tours and did many things for us during our stay, such as booking our elephant tour for the day, renting us a scooter (200 baht day), recommending a great place for a Thai massage close by (200 baht), having our laundry sent out to be done (50 baht/ kilo), organizing our return transport to the airport & suggesting eating at Lemongrass (now my favorite restaurant in Chiang Mai) I have nothing but fond memories of Vanilla Place thanks to Mr Khem, his wife, his assistant & of course the "social butterfly" Happy! Oh & on top of all these great things at $1100 baht for a superior room do you really need to look elsewhere to stay??!! I think not!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thewandererone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 10 days while attending massage school. This was our 3rd visit to Chiang Mai and I chose this guest house for the location and based on other Trip Advisor reviews. I always go for " clean and friendly" when choosing a place and it definitely lived up to its ratings! Mr Kem and his wife are so nice, the staff is friendly and they keep the place immaculate. We are "low maintenance" guests as we know the area pretty well now but I observed him spending a lot of time helping other guests with their itineraries. The location is close to the Night Bazaar, Anusarn Market (great food there) , Chinatown, and the Thae Pae Gate. It can be a bit noisy sometimes but that's the price you pay for staying in this area. Also the beds are definitely on the "firm" side but that's pretty typical for a guest house in Thailand I think. Breakfast is continental with delicious fruit, croissants, and coffee. For the price, you can't go wrong! We'd definitely stay here again.:)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This place by far was one of the best places we stayed at through our 5 weeks through Southeast Asia. The guesthouse has a warm feeling, and the owners by far went above and beyond our expectations, they arranged all our tours for us, and saved us money by not taking the commission. The guesthouse has an abundance of food for breakfast and the staff are incredible. I highly recommend anyone who is visiting chiang mai to stay here

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We were in Chiang Mai for 5 days and 4 nights back in december 2013. We stayed there the whole 4 nights, rooms were very cleaned, continental breakfast was standard but always fresh, and most of all, Mr Kem and his wife were simply one of the best hosts we met in Thailand. They booked for us a full day cooking class and a 2 days trekking trip with discounts, helped us through our visit of the city, etc. They really made us feel like home. I would recommend this place with my eyes closed, definetly worth each baht.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicholasPoelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We spent five days at Vanilla Place and we really enjoyed it. We had a spacious room in the last floor of the house. The atmosphere was pretty quiet and relaxing, although the house is situated pretty close to the city center (approximately a 15-20 minute walk). You can also walk to the night market which is just around the corner.
The owner Mr. Kem and his wife are very nice and helpful. He gave us a lot of advice on things to do around Chiang Mai. His restaurant recommendations were also really good (try Lemongrass and Riverside!) On our last day, he even made us breakfast at 5 am – didn’t make it easier to leave ;-) We had a great time at Vanilla Place and we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 393 in Chiang Mai
687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#69 of 393 in Chiang Mai
298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#23 of 393 in Chiang Mai
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#52 of 393 in Chiang Mai
564 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 393 in Chiang Mai
944 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#41 of 393 in Chiang Mai
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanilla Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanilla Place Guest House

Address: 73 / 2-3 Charoenprated Rd | Tombon Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#31 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £16 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanilla Place Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanilla place a boutique guesthouse located at the heart of Chiangmai. Our 15 beautifully decorated rooms can offer you the convenience and comfort like you are living in your own house. All rooms are fully furnished with teak wood. Night Bazaar is around 5 minutes walk and we're also close to all tourism areas such as Anusarn market, Ta Pae and Rim Ping, which can be reached very easily. Warm welcome is awaiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Vanilla Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanilla Place Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Vanilla Place Hotel
Vanilla Place Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing