We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean n friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vanilla Place Guest House
Ranked #55 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice, clean n friendly”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Located 5mins walk from night bazaar. Room clean and comfortable. Mr Kem is very helpful. Cute dog. No transportation problem. Food and massage nearby. Convenient and inexpensive. Tour packages can be arranged by Mr Kem. Breakfast served limited option. Rooms 2floors up by stairs only. Key card to get in n out of guesthouse. Homey and limited occupancy.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank amecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    131
    40
    13
    6
See reviews for
68
293
70
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lilongwe, Malawi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Mr Kem was so friendly and efficient both ahead of our arrival and in giving us tips about Chiang Mai such as where to eat good food on a budget, the free dance show in the market and booked us tickets to a Thai boxing match. "Happy" the dog is ridiculously sweet and friendly too. The rooms are nice and clean, we slept well and the location is really good - very close to the night markets. We had a great time and would return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohcarolina2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

This was my third visit to Chiang Mai and once again I chose Vanilla Place to stay. I spent 5 nights here during April while visiting to attend a friends wedding. Myself and fiancé stayed in the superior room which was very reasonable for the cost. We had a/c, wifi, tv, fridge (including 2 waters per day), hot/cold shower, daily room service and included was a continental breakfast. The breakfast was nothing to write home about, very basic, but it did the job.

Mr. Kem was always very friendly and answered all of our questions, including booking excursions at a discounted rate. He even lent my friend some mosquito repellent one night when he heard we would be dining by the river!

Vanilla Place is located on a one way street, very close to Anusan Market and the Night Bizarre. Lots of restaurants within walking distance, or if you're not up for the walk, there is always a tuk tuk near by.
K
I will definitely be staying here again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahw28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I will was very fortunate to stay at the Vanilla Place during April and experience the fantastic hospitality of Kem and him family.

What made my stay so memorable was the extra effort and service that Kem so freely offered. For example providing non biased expert local information, helping with travelling and securely holding my luggage for 10 days all from the goodness of his heart!

Something you would not even experience in a 5 star resort!

Between the handy location, comfortable rooms, great value and unbeatable service it is THE place to stay in Chiang Mai for those who want a personal and homely stay :)

Thanks again to you Kem and your family (including Happy the dog) for everything :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Derek O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This place is amazing. The host, Mr. Kem, is pretty much the greatest human being you will ever meet. He was great in helping us plan our things to do in Chiang Mai and since we were on somewhat of a tight schedule, he managed to get us into some activities that others had told us were booked up. Location was good, just a 10 minute walk to the central areas of Chiang Mai.

Rooms are nothing special, but they were comfortable with AC, television, comfortable beds, and daily cleaning. The breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were very well taken care of by Mr Kem, the owner of Vanilla Place.

Our room was very clean and always had that nice sun-dried refreshing smell which I love. Oh, and I am very impressed that there ain't any mosquitoes in our room. We had very good sleep every night.

Mr Kem was very kind to help us arrange for our daily activities and got us good discounts.

Thank you very much! It really made our vacation a very relaxing and organised one.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hu1qun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We spent 6 days at Vanilla Place. It was our first trip to Thailand, and Mr Kem was such a treat. He advised us so well, from restaurants, to shopping, and massages. He arranged rides, negotiated prices, and made our visit to Chiang Mia quite delightful. He is so friendly, and always has time to answer any question. We would highly recommend spending time at Vanilla Place, and taking Mr Kem's advice. We accidently left with our keys, so I advise you to remember to leave them. He was even very understanding about that, and we were quick to mail them back!!
Have a good time in charming Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YogaSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 383 in Chiang Mai
668 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 383 in Chiang Mai
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#42 of 383 in Chiang Mai
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#64 of 383 in Chiang Mai
291 reviews
1.2 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#75 of 383 in Chiang Mai
274 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#53 of 383 in Chiang Mai
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanilla Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanilla Place Guest House

Property: Vanilla Place Guest House
Address: 73 / 2-3 Charoenprated Rd | Tombon Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#31 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanilla Place Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanilla place a boutique guesthouse located at the heart of Chiangmai. Our 15 beautifully decorated rooms can offer you the convenience and comfort like you are living in your own house. All rooms are fully furnished with teak wood. Night Bazaar is around 5 minutes walk and we're also close to all tourism areas such as Anusarn market, Ta Pae and Rim Ping, which can be reached very easily. Warm welcome is awaiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vanilla Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanilla Place Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Vanilla Place Hotel
Vanilla Place Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing