We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only good thing is service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vanilla Place Guest House
Ranked #60 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I was expecting more from the reviews I had read. The only good thing was the service. Everyone who works there is friendly and very helpful. Staff were not there at night. The breakfast was poor, and although the rooms were clean, there were bugs. Transportation did not know where the guesthouse was. I feel bad writing this because the owners are so genuinely kind and caring.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank sixweeksoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Vanilla Place Guest house is an excellent choice for a budget hotel. Though you may be paying less, you certainly are not getting less. The rooms are clean, the location is ideal, the cost is low, and the genuine, helpful owners are priceless. Click below for a full review, photos, and helpful tips!

http://www.edibleeatables.com/travel/vanilla-place-chiang-mai-thailand

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Edible E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Such a great place to stay. Mr kem is so lovely. They helped us with everything. Definitely recommend staying her. And the dog happy is just the cutiest!! There's such a nice restaurant down the road from Vanilla, has loads of writing on the wall.. Great food for seriously cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A difficult review as the owners of this guest house are absolutely lovely and so helpful but the guest house needs a face lift in general. Maybe if they charged a little more and replaced the linen (always clean but very worn) there would be a big difference in the feel of the rooms. We stayed one night in the front room facing the street but then moved to the back room for the rest of our peaceful stay. We came and went from here and had a total of 5 nights. Mr and Mrs Kem were delightful and full of information, nothing was too much trouble. They had lots of suggestions and made sure we were picked up for tours at the right times - without being asked! The night market is near by and in the opposite direction is the river with a supermarket and good coffee shop on the other side - just ask Mr Kem. Best wishes to both Mr and Mrs Kem.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the property are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walker05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Located 5mins walk from night bazaar. Room clean and comfortable. Mr Kem is very helpful. Cute dog. No transportation problem. Food and massage nearby. Convenient and inexpensive. Tour packages can be arranged by Mr Kem. Breakfast served limited option. Rooms 2floors up by stairs only. Key card to get in n out of guesthouse. Homey and limited occupancy.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank amecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Mr Kem was so friendly and efficient both ahead of our arrival and in giving us tips about Chiang Mai such as where to eat good food on a budget, the free dance show in the market and booked us tickets to a Thai boxing match. "Happy" the dog is ridiculously sweet and friendly too. The rooms are nice and clean, we slept well and the location is really good - very close to the night markets. We had a great time and would return again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohcarolina2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was my third visit to Chiang Mai and once again I chose Vanilla Place to stay. I spent 5 nights here during April while visiting to attend a friends wedding. Myself and fiancé stayed in the superior room which was very reasonable for the cost. We had a/c, wifi, tv, fridge (including 2 waters per day), hot/cold shower, daily room service and included was a continental breakfast. The breakfast was nothing to write home about, very basic, but it did the job.

Mr. Kem was always very friendly and answered all of our questions, including booking excursions at a discounted rate. He even lent my friend some mosquito repellent one night when he heard we would be dining by the river!

Vanilla Place is located on a one way street, very close to Anusan Market and the Night Bizarre. Lots of restaurants within walking distance, or if you're not up for the walk, there is always a tuk tuk near by.
K
I will definitely be staying here again!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sarahw28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#25 of 389 in Chiang Mai
682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#69 of 389 in Chiang Mai
295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#23 of 389 in Chiang Mai
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#42 of 389 in Chiang Mai
239 reviews
1.2 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#85 of 389 in Chiang Mai
280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#49 of 389 in Chiang Mai
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanilla Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanilla Place Guest House

Address: 73 / 2-3 Charoenprated Rd | Tombon Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#31 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £12 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanilla Place Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanilla place a boutique guesthouse located at the heart of Chiangmai. Our 15 beautifully decorated rooms can offer you the convenience and comfort like you are living in your own house. All rooms are fully furnished with teak wood. Night Bazaar is around 5 minutes walk and we're also close to all tourism areas such as Anusarn market, Ta Pae and Rim Ping, which can be reached very easily. Warm welcome is awaiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vanilla Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanilla Place Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Vanilla Place Hotel
Vanilla Place Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing