We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vanilla Place Guest House
Ranked #51 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2009

I have never written a review online before, but loved the Vanilla Place Guest House so much, I just had to. I recently returned from a vacation around Thailand with my husband. Our time in Chiang Mai, which included two nights at the Vanilla Place, was the highlight of our trip. We are both active 29 year-olds, and Vanilla Place is in the center of it all, but not noisy at night. Bars, restaurants, night market, etc. are all a short walk away. We rented a scooter (with the help of Mr. Kem) and drove up into the mountains to explore temples, gardens, etc. Mr. Kem and his wife went out of their way to make us feel at home. We started each day with their complimentary toast, coffee, and mango sticky rice. The rooms are super clean, and comfortable. If you are looking for a large, five star resort with swimming pools and spas, this isn't for you. However, if you are looking for a clean, stylish room in a nice guest house, perfectly situated for exploring Chiang Mai, check out the Vanilla Place. For the price and the personal touch, you just can't beat it. I only wish we had more time there ...

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tammarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
There are newer reviews for Vanilla Place Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2009

I had to make last minute reservations for a place in Chiang Mai and found Vanilla Place was highly recommended on TripAdvisor so I e-mailed and reserved rooms for my friends and I. Since it was the "off-season" they had available rooms (at cheap rates) and from the time we were picked up at the airport until we left the hotel Kem and his wife helped us with everything we needed. Our "standard" rooms had no windows, and the beds were harder than we were used to, but the cleanliness was incredible. The complimentary breakfast was also greatly appreciated and the wireless worked flawlessly. We greatly enjoyed our stay and especially the hospitality of the place.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collegetraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

The owner couple is super friendly and will go out of their way to help you with anything, regardsless it being food, travel plans elsewhere, finding a tuktuk to the busstation or whatever. The rooms are clean and all in all this place is a excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AjarnDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We stayed four days at vanilla place and have only positive things to say about the place and the owners Kem and Kat. Mr. Kem picked us up from the airport free of charge. They made us feel like home and they were willing to help with anything. Their recommendation of trips were excellent and the same was the price:) very cheap. We had a really nice stay at the vanilla place

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikk84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

My friends and I just returned from a trip to Thailand and Vanilla Place was an awesome spot to stay in Chiang Mai. We were told about this "wonderful guest house" from a friend, so we made reservations prior to our arrival and Kem and his wife (the owners) immediately made us feel at home. They picked us up from the airport (no charge), gave us tons of maps and information on where to go and what to see, and the rooms were the cleanest we saw throughout the entire vacation. I highly recommend this spot to fellow travelers that want to be within walking distance to the Night Bazaar, The Old City, and to the river. Vanilla Place exceeded my expectations and I will definitely stay there again when I go back to that beautiful country.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kfasani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Vanilla Place was recommended to us, we were told the owners Kem & Kat would take very good care of us. They were so right!, we felt we were staying with family, everything was taken care of for us, from being picked up & droped off at airport, to detailed itinerary provided for the 4 days of our stay, breakfast followed by fresh fruit, free internet anytime, bottled water when we went out for the day to umbrella's if it looked like rain. Recommendation on best places to eat, ordering taxis & negotiating the price are all in the daily life of Kem & Kat. Its obvious they are honest and genuinely care about each of their guests and wanted us to enjoy the best of Chiang Mai. We would definately recommend Vanilla Place to our friends and family as being good value for money with added bonus of Kem & Kat wonderful hospitality. Thank you Chiang Mai was a highlight of our Thailand holiday

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coupleakiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

My partner and I travelled to Chiang Mai for four days in June 2009. We were met at the train station by Mr Kem from the Vanilla Place Guest House, who drove us to the hotel at no cost.

Mr Kem and his wife Kat really made us feel at home with their warm hospitality. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They organised tours for us at very good rates (charging no commission), and even make us sticky rice and mango for breakfast. The room was comfortable and stylish, with good air conditioning and free wi-fi internet (though the signal was weak on the 2nd floor).

Vanilla Place is located right next to the Ping River, just a couple of minutes walk from the Night Market, and relatively close to the old city.

Mr Kem drove us to the airport (again at no cost) when we were leaving Chiang Mai. We will definitely stay there again next time we visit Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank percusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#25 of 388 in Chiang Mai
679 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#24 of 388 in Chiang Mai
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#67 of 388 in Chiang Mai
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#84 of 388 in Chiang Mai
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tawan Court
Tawan Court
#102 of 388 in Chiang Mai
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#39 of 388 in Chiang Mai
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanilla Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanilla Place Guest House

Address: 73 / 2-3 Charoenprated Rd | Tombon Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#31 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £10 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanilla Place Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanilla place a boutique guesthouse located at the heart of Chiangmai. Our 15 beautifully decorated rooms can offer you the convenience and comfort like you are living in your own house. All rooms are fully furnished with teak wood. Night Bazaar is around 5 minutes walk and we're also close to all tourism areas such as Anusarn market, Ta Pae and Rim Ping, which can be reached very easily. Warm welcome is awaiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vanilla Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanilla Place Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Vanilla Place Hotel
Vanilla Place Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing