We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oustanding hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vanilla Place Guest House
Ranked #64 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2010

We stayed at Vanilla Place for 5 days.We had a quiet room at the back of the hotel everything very clean and functional. Internet access provided free. Breakfast simple but good.
Very near the night market,the old town a 15 min.walk away
Kem the owner and his wife could not be nicer,more helpful and trustworthy.
It adds up to a great budget stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2010

I stayed at vanilla place for 4 nights.Loved the place.Kem and Kat were very helpful.I felt more like at home.The Girls were very helpful and friendly especially Lakshami and helpful.I liked chiang mai very much.very peaceful place.the location is perfect.Only 2 minutes walk from night bazar.Internet is free which is very helpful for travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

After reading other reviews - Vanilla Place was as expected. Mr Kem runs a wonderful business where he prides himself on the excellent reviews that he receives from Trip Advisor and proudly displays them in his Guest House.

It is a refreshing experience where a genuine person cares about his guests as if they were family members - yet that doesn't mean you can't have an independant holiday. Mr Kem will offer advice - but the guest is free to do what they like. Having said that, his advice (on what tours to partake in) was greatly appreciated - and probably saved us some disappointment - as the cooking class and bus trip to Golden Triangle were both first rate. He even found some addresses for us for specific places we wanted to visit.

We loved the experience here so much and it fitted in perfectly with the charm and mood of Chiang Mai - that we will return with our children.

My advise to other guests, however, is to observe the 'friendly' sign that requests quests to limit there time on the 'free' internet to 15 mins to allow other guests access - as I often found other guests 'hogging' the internet, perhaps forgetting that others might want to use this.

Mrs Kem - was equally helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug20101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Vanilla place guest house is a clean backpacker place ideally located in Chiang Mai. Avoid the deluxe rooms with windows giving to the street, it is very noisy. Blind rooms are actually much better, (cheaper, bigger and quieter). The tenant is a little bite pushy with his advices and tips to visit the area but he is most of the time of good help and his advices are quite good.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie_basel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Kem and Kathi are great hosts and provided the best service. We were picked up at the airport as advertised and provided a breakfast Kem provided all the information we could have asked for and checked prices for the various tours we were interested in and always provided us extra water whenever we took off on a tour. Rooms were very clean and were made up every day. We were in the front of the building which does have some street n\noise but we were use to it after the first day. Mr. Ting was also a great help to us and provided transportation for our tour of the Mae Sa valley.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteLips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We booked Vanilla Place because of reviews on TripAdvisor about Kem and were not disappointed! The staff was great and Kem and Kat were the best on advice, food recommendations and arranging tours or drivers (always discounted because Kem did not take a commission). Yes, he did have a driver pick us up at the airport...no charge.
Our room faced the back...the back rooms are quieter since the hotel faces a busy street. Thank you Kem and Kat for making our stay in Chiang Mai such a warm one.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank SMFtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

If you don't know Chiang Mai do consider staying at Vanilla Place. We stayed there ased on reviews fr omTripAdvisor and we weren't disappointed. Everything was just as reported.

The location is really good - very safe and walking distance of the old town and right near the river and the night markets.

Mr Kem and his lovely wife also provided excellant, reliable advice and support throughout our stay. Both speak excellent English and they were more than happy to personally change train tickets and book tours for us at no extra cost. We were amazed (and grateful) for the remarkable effort they made to avoid unnecessary costs. The money they saved us (600 baht) paid for a one-day private taxi tour to local sites.

Mr Ting provides the private taxis service and he is fabulous. Do follow his adice. His English is great and everything he recommended was very good and ethically acceptable.

We loved our stay at Vanilla Place and Chiang Mai, so much so we ended up staying twice as long as we had originally planned!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForeverGlobetrotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 392 in Chiang Mai
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#69 of 392 in Chiang Mai
297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#22 of 392 in Chiang Mai
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#49 of 392 in Chiang Mai
561 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#48 of 392 in Chiang Mai
928 reviews
1.2 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#90 of 392 in Chiang Mai
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanilla Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanilla Place Guest House

Address: 73 / 2-3 Charoenprated Rd | Tombon Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#31 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £16 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanilla Place Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanilla place a boutique guesthouse located at the heart of Chiangmai. Our 15 beautifully decorated rooms can offer you the convenience and comfort like you are living in your own house. All rooms are fully furnished with teak wood. Night Bazaar is around 5 minutes walk and we're also close to all tourism areas such as Anusarn market, Ta Pae and Rim Ping, which can be reached very easily. Warm welcome is awaiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vanilla Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanilla Place Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Vanilla Place Hotel
Vanilla Place Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing