We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like home...not find this good caring from anywhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vanilla Place Guest House
Ranked #54 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
1 review
“Feel like home...not find this good caring from anywhere else”
Reviewed 10 April 2010

We plan to spent only 2 nights but end up 4 nights at this Guesthouse and had a wonderful time. Kem and Cat are taking a good care of their guest in every which way and are always there if you need something. Kem, the owner, is very nice. He help us a lot about all the trip information and place to go with a good price deal.

The room is clean enough. They try to decorated inside the rooms to make a different from a regular guesthouse. Price may so high but compare to the service and comfortable atmoshere. I can accpeted that. Every late nights, after I and my friend came back from drink, the owner still taking care for their guest and make sure that all the things is OK.

I enjoy my trip very much

Tkx to Kem and Cat

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    132
    40
    13
    6
See reviews for
69
293
70
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We had a very warm hospitality by the owner including tips and lots of information with rare high English skills. The B&B has a useful laundry service.
The location was good, close to the night market but a bit away from the old town.
The room was windowless, basic, stifling and extremely expensive for 900 bhat (~30$) per night including a very basic continental breakfast (hot drink + toast). there is no lift although the rooms were in a high floor.

Bottom line - there are better places in Chiang may at this price range.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2010

I would recommend Vanilla Place mostly for the great service and flexibility of our hosts, Kem and Kat! They were very accommodating and even gave us an extra mattress pad. Our only critique was the hard mattresses, which made the first night a little rough. But they were kind enough to help us out and we slept great after that. They made some great recommendations of things to do and even set us up with their very friendly tour driver, Ting. They were very flexible in making sure we made all of our connections on time and coordinated everything very smoothly.

The A/C works well and the breakfast is adequate for what you pay. Internet is free on their computer, which is a nice addition. It is a little bit of a hike to the inner city sites, but very close to the night market. Overall, we were very pleased.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvandodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Arrived here early in the morning - was a little tough to find but if you tell the tuktuk to take you to the pornping tower you will be 1 minutes walk away. The owner greeted me and was very nice and helpful. I paid 900 Baht a night for 3 nights which was a little higher than I was expecting. I have since discovered similar places for around the 500 Baht (and even less) mark so cannot say that this place offers exceptional value.

I had a standard room which was very clean and comfortable. Aircon was excellent and general finish of the room was flawless. TV was good but had no movie channels. There was no fridge but there was one in the communal area downstairs. I cannot really fault the room - it had a very comfortable bed and was not too small either. Tastefully decorated and furnished too.

There is a communal area on the first floor with TV/DVD player, free internet access, cold drinks etc. The free wireless is very fast indeed and I was very happy with that.

After 12 hours on the bus from Bangkok, we went into the room and for a nap, and we were woken up by a cleaner letting herself into the room with a key whilst we were asleep which seemed odd. And every morning the cleaners talk amongst themselves in the corridors and are quite loud which disturbed my lie-ins on several occassions. But they do a very good job cleaning the rooms and wait for you to leave rather than trying to oust you like they do in some Thai guesthouses.

Location is not bad - 5 minutes to the night bazaar, and easy to get a taxi/tuk tuk outside the guesthouse to wherever you want to go. If you are a westerner travelling alone or with other westerners, tuk-tuks will try and double (or treble) the prices so go with a Thai or figure out the right prices beforehand. Plus taxis never want to use the meter. Not a great amount within the immediate vicinty of the place itself, but you can walk into the old town in about 20 minutes if you can take the heat (was 37 degress when I was there).

This is a nice place to stay but, unfortunately, I have to say I would tell a friend to stay elsewhere simply because there are so many other places which offer the same level of comfort for far less money and in better locations. It is easily possible to get 4-5 nights at a decent guest house in the old town for this money which leaves a sour taste in my mouth.

In the end I moved to Penny's Place on Santisuk road. Room was to the same standard but much bigger and included a large fridge all for only 450Baht - a big difference.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry_Onads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

We stayed at Vanilla Place for 5 days.We had a quiet room at the back of the hotel everything very clean and functional. Internet access provided free. Breakfast simple but good.
Very near the night market,the old town a 15 min.walk away
Kem the owner and his wife could not be nicer,more helpful and trustworthy.
It adds up to a great budget stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamabad
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2010

I stayed at vanilla place for 4 nights.Loved the place.Kem and Kat were very helpful.I felt more like at home.The Girls were very helpful and friendly especially Lakshami and helpful.I liked chiang mai very much.very peaceful place.the location is perfect.Only 2 minutes walk from night bazar.Internet is free which is very helpful for travellers.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

After reading other reviews - Vanilla Place was as expected. Mr Kem runs a wonderful business where he prides himself on the excellent reviews that he receives from Trip Advisor and proudly displays them in his Guest House.

It is a refreshing experience where a genuine person cares about his guests as if they were family members - yet that doesn't mean you can't have an independant holiday. Mr Kem will offer advice - but the guest is free to do what they like. Having said that, his advice (on what tours to partake in) was greatly appreciated - and probably saved us some disappointment - as the cooking class and bus trip to Golden Triangle were both first rate. He even found some addresses for us for specific places we wanted to visit.

We loved the experience here so much and it fitted in perfectly with the charm and mood of Chiang Mai - that we will return with our children.

My advise to other guests, however, is to observe the 'friendly' sign that requests quests to limit there time on the 'free' internet to 15 mins to allow other guests access - as I often found other guests 'hogging' the internet, perhaps forgetting that others might want to use this.

Mrs Kem - was equally helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug20101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 386 in Chiang Mai
677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 386 in Chiang Mai
255 reviews
1.2 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#83 of 386 in Chiang Mai
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#65 of 386 in Chiang Mai
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#37 of 386 in Chiang Mai
233 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#51 of 386 in Chiang Mai
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanilla Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanilla Place Guest House

Property: Vanilla Place Guest House
Address: 73 / 2-3 Charoenprated Rd | Tombon Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#31 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanilla Place Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanilla place a boutique guesthouse located at the heart of Chiangmai. Our 15 beautifully decorated rooms can offer you the convenience and comfort like you are living in your own house. All rooms are fully furnished with teak wood. Night Bazaar is around 5 minutes walk and we're also close to all tourism areas such as Anusarn market, Ta Pae and Rim Ping, which can be reached very easily. Warm welcome is awaiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vanilla Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanilla Place Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Vanilla Place Hotel
Vanilla Place Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing