We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vanilla Place Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Green Lodge(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Night Bazaar Inn(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glur Chiangmai(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Galare Guest House(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (606)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveller rating
403
133
40
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
403
133
40
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight marketold cityno windowsuperior roomrooms are basicgreat hostsiron bridgecooking classtrip to chiang maistayed here for nightsbeeguesthousetoursbangkokbahtthaimassage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 606 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2010

Hotel arranged pick up from airport even though flight was delayed 1hour.I left my reading glasses on the plane and Mr kem phoned and located them for me.We booked 2 rooms at the front of the building which were a little noisey but got used to it.Rooms were a little basic but spotless. Hotel in a good location with night market only a short walk away.Mr kem arranged a visit to an elephant sanctuary which was good fun.We had wwonderful food at the House Restaurant and the Riverside restaurant both of which are only a short ride by tuk tuk.Overall a great value hotel which I would return to.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottie012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

We plan to spent only 2 nights but end up 4 nights at this Guesthouse and had a wonderful time. Kem and Cat are taking a good care of their guest in every which way and are always there if you need something. Kem, the owner, is very nice. He help us a lot about all the trip information and place to go with a good price deal.

The room is clean enough. They try to decorated inside the rooms to make a different from a regular guesthouse. Price may so high but compare to the service and comfortable atmoshere. I can accpeted that. Every late nights, after I and my friend came back from drink, the owner still taking care for their guest and make sure that all the things is OK.

I enjoy my trip very much

Tkx to Kem and Cat

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We had a very warm hospitality by the owner including tips and lots of information with rare high English skills. The B&B has a useful laundry service.
The location was good, close to the night market but a bit away from the old town.
The room was windowless, basic, stifling and extremely expensive for 900 bhat (~30$) per night including a very basic continental breakfast (hot drink + toast). there is no lift although the rooms were in a high floor.

Bottom line - there are better places in Chiang may at this price range.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

I would recommend Vanilla Place mostly for the great service and flexibility of our hosts, Kem and Kat! They were very accommodating and even gave us an extra mattress pad. Our only critique was the hard mattresses, which made the first night a little rough. But they were kind enough to help us out and we slept great after that. They made some great recommendations of things to do and even set us up with their very friendly tour driver, Ting. They were very flexible in making sure we made all of our connections on time and coordinated everything very smoothly.

The A/C works well and the breakfast is adequate for what you pay. Internet is free on their computer, which is a nice addition. It is a little bit of a hike to the inner city sites, but very close to the night market. Overall, we were very pleased.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvandodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Arrived here early in the morning - was a little tough to find but if you tell the tuktuk to take you to the pornping tower you will be 1 minutes walk away. The owner greeted me and was very nice and helpful. I paid 900 Baht a night for 3 nights which was a little higher than I was expecting. I have since discovered similar places for around the 500 Baht (and even less) mark so cannot say that this place offers exceptional value.

I had a standard room which was very clean and comfortable. Aircon was excellent and general finish of the room was flawless. TV was good but had no movie channels. There was no fridge but there was one in the communal area downstairs. I cannot really fault the room - it had a very comfortable bed and was not too small either. Tastefully decorated and furnished too.

There is a communal area on the first floor with TV/DVD player, free internet access, cold drinks etc. The free wireless is very fast indeed and I was very happy with that.

After 12 hours on the bus from Bangkok, we went into the room and for a nap, and we were woken up by a cleaner letting herself into the room with a key whilst we were asleep which seemed odd. And every morning the cleaners talk amongst themselves in the corridors and are quite loud which disturbed my lie-ins on several occassions. But they do a very good job cleaning the rooms and wait for you to leave rather than trying to oust you like they do in some Thai guesthouses.

Location is not bad - 5 minutes to the night bazaar, and easy to get a taxi/tuk tuk outside the guesthouse to wherever you want to go. If you are a westerner travelling alone or with other westerners, tuk-tuks will try and double (or treble) the prices so go with a Thai or figure out the right prices beforehand. Plus taxis never want to use the meter. Not a great amount within the immediate vicinty of the place itself, but you can walk into the old town in about 20 minutes if you can take the heat (was 37 degress when I was there).

This is a nice place to stay but, unfortunately, I have to say I would tell a friend to stay elsewhere simply because there are so many other places which offer the same level of comfort for far less money and in better locations. It is easily possible to get 4-5 nights at a decent guest house in the old town for this money which leaves a sour taste in my mouth.

In the end I moved to Penny's Place on Santisuk road. Room was to the same standard but much bigger and included a large fridge all for only 450Baht - a big difference.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry_Onads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews