We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of Pak Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pak Chiang Mai
Ranked #28 of 801 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Pak Chiang Mai is a gorgeous oasis off the main streets of Chiang Mai. It's like you relax as soon as you walk into the lovely front garden with soothing water features. We stayed here for 2 nights, either side of a tour and we were delighted to come back after our tour to our stored luggage already in our room and all of our laundry done and waiting for us.

The room was simple, but lovely with tasteful furnishings and a little courtyard garden. Very comfortable, with everything we needed.

Breakfast was included in the price and was generous, with a few different options to choose between. We did not eat any other meals in the restaurant, so I can't comment on the other food served.

The location was good, with food options on the main road and easy access to transport to get to different parts of Chiang Mai.

The service was friendly and welcoming and nothing appeared to be too much trouble. If I'm ever back in Chiang Mai, I will be back here in a flash.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niteskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here as a family (one 5 year old son) in September 2013 and did not want to leave. The room was elegant and spacious, the staff welcoming and attentive, the location incredibly convenient and the price modest for a travelling family. Pak Chiang Mai is a little oasis that we loved returning to each night. We would definitely stay here again if we returned to Chiang Mai. Don't miss the KFG in the market around the corner - Yum!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RecreationalVehicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a trip touring Thailand. The villa was ideally located for us; walking distance to temples, shops and restaurants. We stayed in a standard room on the ground floor to the rear of the villa and found it to be very spacious and comfortable. We had one large room with a large comfortable bed (with 2 pillows each), side tables, old school-style desk (which also doubled up as the safety deposit box as there is a lock on it), hair-dryer, tables and chairs, air conditioning and ceiling fan. Through a glazed door we had a small, private terrace area and whilst surrounded by high walls, we could see the sky! There are no curtains over the glazing so we needed our eye masks. There is no fridge in the room but there's one in the lobby which is stocked with water which you can help yourself to as often as you like. Each day we returned from visiting the town, we received a flask with hot water, a selection of tea and a small snack which was a very nice and unexpected touch. The shower room had a nice powerful shower with both a fixed and hand held head. The complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body wash and soap seem quite luxurious; not just the bog standard toiletries. The Wi-Fi throughout the villa is good – fast and strong signal. We had no noise issues at all - it was a very peaceful stay thanks to the comfortable bed and quiet surroundings. Another bonus is that the a/c stays on when you're not in the room so it stays nice and cool all day long.

Breakfast was included in the rate and you enjoy this sitting in lobby / restaurant. The food is very good and there was plenty of it with several options. The staff were very friendly and happy to help; they even telephoned a hotel in Ko Lanta on our behalf which we were having trouble booking online. They also allowed us to store our bags in our room while we headed off on an overnight trip at no extra cost.

We paid £33 per night B&B for two people which we think is value for money given the quality of the room, breakfast and villa generally. Overall, we would recommend Villa Chiang Mai and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Download the address (in Thai) off the villas website so you can show a taxi driver on your arrival...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cetra14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at Pak Chiang Mai for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. It was exactly what we hoped to find everywhere we went in SE Asia - friendly, quaint, affordable, comfortable. Nat and his sister (forgetting her name now) were so accommodating and fun to be around.

The location is perfect, the service is wonderful. The word "oasis" gets thrown around a lot of trip advisor, but I think it's a really accurate description of Pak Chiang Mai. Don't double guess yourself, just book it!

PS...Nat picked us up from the airport in his vintage restored Mercedes which was SO cool! Not sure if that is standard practice or if it was because we were honeymooners, but either way it was so fun to ride in style after the chaos of Bangkok.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is the kind of hotel I wish there were more of. It's in a great location, tucked just down a quiet little street. The grounds are just adorable! The shared living space is almost like a funky little vintage tree-house! Our standard room was basic and just perfect for us. We loved that there was no TV, but rather a stereo with a jazz CD! Air conditioning and wifi worked great. We also loved the homemade toiletry products in the bathroom; if my luggage hadn't been so full, I would have purchased some of the body wash. Staff is polite and helpful but not overbearing. Breakfast was great and we also had lunch at the restaurant one day--probably one of the best pad thai we had on the whole trip! We also loved the puppy that came to visit/work during the day.

Walk across the street to the Baan Phor Liang Meun's Terra-Cotta Arts garden. It's this magical secret garden that is full of terra cotta statues. The light is amazing with a cool breeze, butterflies, the smell of moss, and not a person in sight. I took at least 100 photos. We intiially had no idea what we had stumbled upon but later found out it was reporductions of Khmer/Thai/Indian/Burmese/etc statues for sale. We then went to the gallery across the street and bought a Khmer statue that we brought home to always remind us of our stay Chiang Mai.

The hotel is also a great location to the evening food stalls/markets. We enjoyed our inexpensive progressive dinners!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Pak Chiang Mai in April 2014! When we arrived I was sick with a fever and sore throat and they were sweet enough to bring me ginger tea with honey. They let us check in early because I wasn't feeling well and they brought more tea to our room later that night. It was so kind of them and I am still incredibly thankful!

We ate at the cafe there several times and everything was delicious. As others have said though, make sure to wear mosquito repellent if you are sitting in the courtyard area! The atmosphere is so peaceful and all of the people working there are very nice. The room was clean and the air conditioning worked well.

We wished we would have stayed longer and would love to go back. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krystal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Pak Chiang Mai is a little oasis in a great location right around the corner from a great food street market. We felt very welcomed and comfortable here with attentive and helpful staff, a pleasant breakfast and a reasonable cost for our stay. We would definitely recommend it and stay there again should we return to the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VermontVt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#14 of 801 in Chiang Mai
867 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baan Hanibah
Baan Hanibah
#25 of 801 in Chiang Mai
351 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#9 of 801 in Chiang Mai
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
#12 of 801 in Chiang Mai
324 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chu Hotel
Chu Hotel
#31 of 801 in Chiang Mai
83 reviews
0.9 mi away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#3 of 801 in Chiang Mai
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pak Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pak Chiang Mai

Address: 39/5 Phra Pok Klao 2 Road | Phra Singha, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 801 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £39 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pak Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to the nature. It's a home away from home. Homemade organic breakfast will be served daily. Smoking in the hotel zone is strictly prohibited. We also provide free high-speed Internet and parking as well as a Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Pak Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pak Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing