We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bloom is off the rose;transition to a “tour bus” hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Ranked #21 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The bloom is off the rose;transition to a “tour bus” hotel.”
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We stayed here a couple of years ago and were saddened to see, upon our return, how the place had lost much of what made it special. We are SPG Platinums.

The pros: Great location, right across the street from the night markets and a 10 minutes walk from the central markets. The staff is friendly and helpful. Nicely appointed suites with over sized soaking tubs and excellent views. The Club lounge serves afternoon tea and evening cocktail hour.

The cons: The hotel lost it’s former chef and hotel manager (not the GM),, apparently to it’s detriment, and there has also been a lot of turn over in the staff…. resulting in relatively unpolished staffing.

The hotel (possibly due to over all economic conditions in Thailand) has turned to taking in large bussed tour groups, to the point of sign boards in the lobby stating the days tour activities (AKA cruise ship fashion) and suggested local (western and Japanese style) restaurants.

Hotels that take in large bussed tour groups suffer the inevitable demoralization of the staff, loss of service, and a decline in the quality of the food service. The staff was noticeably less polished than on our previous visit, and although friendly, were less able (either through training or desire) to handle simple off book questions or requests.

Although taking in these tours groups is, no doubt, good for the bottom line, it is at detriment of the regular guests who are hoping for a less generic experience.

The Club Lounge no longer serves breakfast and is, in fact, locked until 9:00 AM . This is a considerable problem for the new generation of ipad folks because there no wifi in the rooms & it is only available in the main lobby or the Lounge….and in the lounge you need to get a new wifi code every hour - LOL

Service at breakfast, in the main restaurant has declined somewhat, but this appears due to a lack of training and not because of the staff who continue to be very friendly.

However, food quality at breakfast has noticeably declined. None of the “hot” food in the steam tables was ever hotter than “lukewarm”. The quality of the soups has declined from “good” to “OK-to-poor”. The smoked salmon was hidden behind the counter (like on a cruise ship – which is what this buffet has become). The omelet station was as good as ever, although, again staffing, the gal did not understand the difference between “boiled” eggs and “poached” eggs.

Apparently the GM dines here every morning and is satisfied with this trade off between lessened food quality and improved bottom line numbers. Sad.

We will probably not stay here next time we are in Chaing Mai, in spite of our Platinum status.

Room Tip: get a room with a view of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank cuisine_screener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,720
    929
    254
    60
    21
See reviews for
575
1,339
222
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

My b/f and I stayed 3 days here and am very happy with this facility. It is very modern and clean. The staff were oustanding, food was good and overall a very lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Storm_Zen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Everything is perfect, great location as everyone agree, good hotel facilities. and just one staff in the club lounge Wilai.... I think she need to improve her English and her attitude, I was c/o with her and she take so long time to check my bill and could not done it well. She try to explain me something but I can't understand what she try to explain.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

I booked the deluxe room from pyotravel.com at SG$90 per room/night which includes breakfast, great deal considering that they give a free 1hr massage from the hotel for every guest which would had costed 1500baht excluding taxes. Great spread for their breakfast too, love the soup noodle.
The only shortcoming is the additional bed that I paid for 1500baht/night which includes breakfast. Every room comes with a day bed and if you need additional bed, they'll just cover the daybed with a bedsheet and gives you an extra quilt and pillows. It is a bit too hard for my liking since it's not a proper bed with the spring support. Would be much better if they can provide a kind of pillow top on top of the day bed before putting the bedsheet over it to cushion off the hardness and some people may find it expensive to pay additional 1500baht for the day bed which is already provided for in every room. They may rather just top up for the additional breakfast instead.
Location is great, which is at the doorstep of the night market. Prices at the night market though are exorbitant, had to bargain at least 50% off the price. Will be a better choice to stay near the Sunday market which is a favourite among the locals if there are as many food choices there too. 24hrs Burger King and McDonalds at your hotel doorstep.
Loves the huge bathroom but the sliding door may be a trap as it's shared with the built-in wardrobe. Once you slide open the bathroom door, it closes the entrance of the walk-in wardrobe and may hit someone who's standing there. Pillow are a bit low for my liking, tried to request for other kind of pillows but can't seem to get a firm one unless you like foam pillow. The female staff during my check-in was rude, for speaking in Thai to my agent with me and got him to translate in English to me. Till I asked if Le Meridien staff don't speak English then did she spoke to me directly.
Great service at the pool with a staff helping you to cover your chair with a towel and complimentary cold water and towel provided.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SmurfSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We were glad to have chosen this hotel for our first trip to Chiang Mai, as there were so many other hotels to choose from. First of all this hotel really is value for money. We stayed at the Club Floor with their stay 7 pay for 5 nights promotion. The Club Floor room was meticulously clean and eclectic.

The Club Lounge is a nice haven after a long afternoon out in the field visiting elephant farm and tiger kingdom (a must do!!!). During our stay we hardly see anyone in the Club Lounge so we truely enjoyed our time there. The service was prompt and they are always with a smile. They do serve Proseco but only with limited white and red wine selection. The afternoon tea is quite nice with good selection of canapes but I find the evening cocktail food quite bland with only 2 or 3 finger foods each night. Check in and check out was done at the comfort of the Club Lounge.

We tried dinner once at the hotel restaurant Favola (Italian) though the food was good but the price was abit expensive and you can easily find the same quality or better outside with a fraction of the price. Four restaurants I would highly recommend are Marco, La Terrasse, Le Cristal and the restaurant at The Chedi hotel (The Chedi was one of our choice of stay but we didn't choose it coz we thought it was not romantic and out of town - definitely our choice if we ever go back to Chiang Mai again).

Overall a very good hotel to stay at with best location in town (right in middle of night market) and I highly recommend the Club Floor for a touch of exclusivity.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Omphaloskepsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Le Meridien is an excellent hotel and well positioned in Chiang Mai. We found a good deal for the hotel on a room only basis, breakfast was a bit pricey.

We ate out of an evening and found some great places at reasonable prices. The Sunday night market on walking street was excellent.

Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RaJSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We had such a great time in Chiang Mai due mostly to the Le Meridian! We traveled with our 3 year old and our 6 month year old. The hotel is about 15 mins from the airport and when you are traveling w/young kids who have been on airplane for almost 3 hours, it makes a difference. We had a junior suite w/Royal Club privileges which included breakfast in their Royal Club lounge which was practically empty which allowed my 3 year old to run around freely, high tea at 3pm and drinks/snacks throughout the day. Our suite was perfect with a partition btw bed and living area which was great since our 6 month year old could nap w/out my older one having to tip toe around the room. We didn't need a roll away for our 3 year since there was a day bed that we could just use for him. We brought our own flat sheet and his small pillow and travel bed rail so he loved it. The crib was not in the room when we arrived, but as soon as I called to bring it up, it took no more than 15 mins - love it! Another bonus was their italian restaurant Favola which makes some of the best pizza we have had in SE Asia! We wish it would have been open for lunch!

Le Meridian's location was perfect - downtown in the heart of the night market. After the kids fell asleep, my husband and I took turns walking around it it. The hotel arranged two days of private guided tours for us - easy and great.

Cannot recommend this hotel enough. Only draw back was that there wasn't too much open space for my 3 year old to run around it. We played many games of hide n'seek on their 2nd floor which is where Favola is and their conference rooms. The pool was perfect, but a bit cold. Too bad there's not a small play area or kids club like many Starwood Resorts have.

Nonetheless it was a fabulous trip! We would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you are traveling w/young kids - Junior Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGNYC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 29 May 2011
Dear SGNYC65,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

The team and I are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in the Junior Suite. It is kind of you to mention Favola, our Italian Restaurant and the Club Lounge. I have certainly shared your comments with our team.

Thank you for choosing Le Meridien as the hotel during your stay in Chiang Mai. My team and I do hope that we may welcome you again.


With kind regards

Tino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,005 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,834 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#13 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,415 reviews
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Mai

Property: Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Address: 108 Chang Klan Road,Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal destination for savvy travellers who enjoy the mixture of Le Meridien's European heritage and local Lanna style to deliver a contemporary cultural experience. The hotel's 383 guestrooms, overlooking Doi Suthep Mountain range, are equipped with broadband internet and offer a modern entertainment experience centered on a high-definition LCD television. A perfect location adjacent to the famous night bazaar will ensure guests encounter the vibrancy + energy of Chiang Mai, just at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Meridien Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing