We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Ranked #21 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Happily stayed quite a few times on business trips. The facilities are fantastic, rooms immaculate, gym well equipped, Latest Recipe meals delicious and Favola is one of the best Italian meals I've had outside of Italia. Highly recommended hotel

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,987 - 1,993 of 3,150 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel during our honeymoon in Thailand, and my husband knows that staying at this hotel was my favorite part of this trip. This hotel thought of everything from beginning to end. The most friendly (genuinely) and helpful staff I have ever seen at a hotel. We ate at the Favola restaurant in the hotel and it was great. We also had the dinner buffet one night and it was also great, not to mention the restaurant is beautiful. In fact, this entire hotel is absolutely gorgeous! Our room had a huge, breathtaking view of the mountains, and the decor and attention to detail in the room was impressive. I travel a lot, and have stayed at many hotels, so I am not lying when I say that the bed at Le Meridien was the most comfortable bed I had ever slept on in my entire life. My husband thought the same and we both slept like babies the whole time we were there. The location is also amazing, with probably a 1 - 2 min walking distance from the main road that has the night bazaar, McDonald's, Burger King, and Starbucks. Also, the price for that we paid for this type of hotel was unbeatable. I would stay here every time I went to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank iluvnj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Big hotel, 'round the corner from the main street and night (and day) markets.
American fast food joints close if you have a craving (but I don't know why-you're in Thailand!)
ATM right across the street ( a little hidden and small).
Big lobby, great, BIG breakfast, nice room.
Lots of US military staying when I stayed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kitchenchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

This hotel close to shopping area , room and facilities very good.
Breakfast was good. Internet and wi-fi not free.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chokdeebangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

I stayed with my family at the Le Meridien Chiang Mai for 3 nights in June 2011, the Hotel is located near the night market, the hotel is very nice, great rooms good italian restaurant, very good location as there is nothing other than adventure sports to do in chiang mai. Everyone who goes here will be quite satisfied

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nixongupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We stayed here a couple of years ago and were saddened to see, upon our return, how the place had lost much of what made it special. We are SPG Platinums.

The pros: Great location, right across the street from the night markets and a 10 minutes walk from the central markets. The staff is friendly and helpful. Nicely appointed suites with over sized soaking tubs and excellent views. The Club lounge serves afternoon tea and evening cocktail hour.

The cons: The hotel lost it’s former chef and hotel manager (not the GM),, apparently to it’s detriment, and there has also been a lot of turn over in the staff…. resulting in relatively unpolished staffing.

The hotel (possibly due to over all economic conditions in Thailand) has turned to taking in large bussed tour groups, to the point of sign boards in the lobby stating the days tour activities (AKA cruise ship fashion) and suggested local (western and Japanese style) restaurants.

Hotels that take in large bussed tour groups suffer the inevitable demoralization of the staff, loss of service, and a decline in the quality of the food service. The staff was noticeably less polished than on our previous visit, and although friendly, were less able (either through training or desire) to handle simple off book questions or requests.

Although taking in these tours groups is, no doubt, good for the bottom line, it is at detriment of the regular guests who are hoping for a less generic experience.

The Club Lounge no longer serves breakfast and is, in fact, locked until 9:00 AM . This is a considerable problem for the new generation of ipad folks because there no wifi in the rooms & it is only available in the main lobby or the Lounge….and in the lounge you need to get a new wifi code every hour - LOL

Service at breakfast, in the main restaurant has declined somewhat, but this appears due to a lack of training and not because of the staff who continue to be very friendly.

However, food quality at breakfast has noticeably declined. None of the “hot” food in the steam tables was ever hotter than “lukewarm”. The quality of the soups has declined from “good” to “OK-to-poor”. The smoked salmon was hidden behind the counter (like on a cruise ship – which is what this buffet has become). The omelet station was as good as ever, although, again staffing, the gal did not understand the difference between “boiled” eggs and “poached” eggs.

Apparently the GM dines here every morning and is satisfied with this trade off between lessened food quality and improved bottom line numbers. Sad.

We will probably not stay here next time we are in Chaing Mai, in spite of our Platinum status.

Room Tip: get a room with a view of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank cuisine_screener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

My b/f and I stayed 3 days here and am very happy with this facility. It is very modern and clean. The staff were oustanding, food was good and overall a very lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Storm_Zen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#18 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,086 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,915 reviews
2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,502 reviews
0.9 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#16 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Mai

Address: 108 Chang Klan Road,Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#14 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £95 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal destination for savvy travellers who enjoy the mixture of Le Meridien's European heritage and local Lanna style to deliver a contemporary cultural experience. The hotel's 383 guestrooms, overlooking Doi Suthep Mountain range, are equipped with broadband internet and offer a modern entertainment experience centered on a high-definition LCD television. A perfect location adjacent to the famous night bazaar will ensure guests encounter the vibrancy + energy of Chiang Mai, just at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Meridien Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing