We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great retreat in Chiang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Ranked #21 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great retreat in Chiang Mai”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I recently stayed at Le Meridien for 3 nights while in Chiang Mai and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was absolutely beautiful (complete with mountain view), and the staff could not be more friendly or accommodating. The location was great as the night market was located right outside the hotel and numerous restaurants were within walking distance. My only complaint is that I couldn't get the rainshower head in my shower to operate. Other than that, everything was great. The buffet breakfast had alot of variety for both Asian and Western palates and was delicious. If you go, be sure to spend some time at the pool and spa, both of which are amazing. If I ever return to Chiang Mai, I will return to Le Meridien.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flamesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,720
    929
    254
    60
    21
See reviews for
575
1,339
222
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

To keep it short and simple...you can't really go wrong with this hotel!

Hotel amenities - great, clean, spacious. We got a room at the 22nd floor, club rooms were great and spacious, clean and all. Shower room might be a little small but there's always the bath tub! Basically - you won't find much to complain about the room!

Location - only about 15-20 minutes from the airport! Come out of the lobby and bam!, right in the middle of the night market! I kid you not they are literally outside of the hotel. If you need to get somewhere like the old town or the sunday market, its just a short 10-15 tuk tuk ride to town..

Food - probably not mentioned in some reviews is how close 24-hours Burger King and McDonalds are to this hotel - they're literally just across the road! If fast food is not your thing, there's this Lemongrass restaurant which is also ranked like 28 in TripAdvisor - http://www.tripadvisor.com.my/Restaurant_Review-g293917-d1723591-Reviews-LEMONGRASS_THAI_FUSION_RESTAURANT-Chiang_Mai.html - which is like 10-15 mins walking distance!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenpoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

My brother, sister-in-law and I had a wonderful stay at Le Meridien Chiang Mai. The room easily fit three people (using the day bed) and the service was impeccable. The concierge helped us to get into the Patara Elephant Farm and generally provided lots of great advice for us. The hotel is well located by the night market and it's easy to get tuk tuks to the old town area. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Located within walking distance of the night market and has a great view from the pool. The room was just average and the food/drinks were pricey, so be sure to eat and drink elsewhere. Be careful of slight annoyances like advertising happy hour beer specials but not stocking the beer actually on special...forcing you to pay full price. View from the room was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

This must be the best value Le Meridien hotel that I have stayed in. Hotels in Chiang Mai tend to be cheap and plentiful, which I guess is the reason for this.

The hotel is easy to find, service is friendly and room are reasonable. The italian restaurant on the first floor is great.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPSHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Recently stayed 4 nights at the Le Meridien Chiang Mai, Thailand.
I have lived in Thailand for 6 years......this is one of the best hotels in Chiang Mai. Also one of the MOST EXPENSIVE. Nightly rates for a regular room can average 3700.-6200. thai baht (115-186USD) per night. You should ask for the best rate bce you are NOT A TOURIST. You can say that you currently are a resident of Thailand then your rate per night will be around 3200thb.
Location is good....walking distance to restr., shopping, coffee, McDonalds, Burger King, massage shops (many) and night life for ALL tastes. Everynight there is a shopping bazaar on ChanKlan Road for you to enjoy.
The room service is excellent......prices are fair, portons are good size and tasteful. Selection is limited and delivered within 30 minutes.
Check-in is friendly and fast if they did not have a bus tour prior to your arrival.
Laundry service is OVER-PRICED and quality is poor.
Remember, when you are in Thailand it is OK to BARGAIN.....Asian people expect you to do this bce EVERYTHING in Asia has two (2) prices........one (1) for the locals and a much higher one for foreigners.....duh !
I would recommend this hotel for your stay in Chiang Mai !!!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a quiet room facing the mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khunjerrybkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

The room was awesome with reasonable price. The services were great. I especially enjoyed the delicious brekkie. Most importantly, most of the staffs speak good English. Besides, the night market is just across the street; they have good bargains.

Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Shafina_Shafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#13 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,415 reviews
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Mai

Property: Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Address: 108 Chang Klan Road,Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal destination for savvy travellers who enjoy the mixture of Le Meridien's European heritage and local Lanna style to deliver a contemporary cultural experience. The hotel's 383 guestrooms, overlooking Doi Suthep Mountain range, are equipped with broadband internet and offer a modern entertainment experience centered on a high-definition LCD television. A perfect location adjacent to the famous night bazaar will ensure guests encounter the vibrancy + energy of Chiang Mai, just at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Meridien Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing