We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I travel over a million miles in a couple of years and this is one of the best hotels I've stayed in.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Ranked #21 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Bangkok
2 reviews
“I travel over a million miles in a couple of years and this is one of the best hotels I've stayed in.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

This hotel is one of THE BEST hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. We have visited many times and the counter personnel, concierge, porters, etc are all very helpful, friendly and efficient. The rooms are very clean and neat. The amenities are top notch and the buffet breakfast is world class. We've had the pleasure of being given top notch tour guides for multiple stops during our visit. The concierge always comes through with a great arrangement and good deals.

The ONLY suggestion I would have is adding a bit more mattress padding to the bed, but that's just my personal preference. Other than that, I will return to this hotel as often and as many times as I can during my Thailand assignment.

AND- during one visit, we had an injured party

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrvlnRvwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 23 April 2011
Dear TrvlnRvwr,

Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to post this review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the services of our associates at Reception, Concierge and Luggage Assistants. We are delighted that you found the rooms clean and neat. Our culinary team beamed when they heard that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet!

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Le Meridien Chiang Mai again in the future.

With kind regards

Tino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,612
    899
    245
    57
    19
See reviews for
540
1,274
212
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lampang
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

Alles in allem durchaus im 5 Sterne Bereich, man kann sich richt wohl fuehlen. Ein paar Kleinigkeiten koennten verbessert werden, z.B. Fruehstuecksmarmelade in Portionsglaeschen statt aus einer ebenso unhygienischen wie unappetitlichen Schuessel zur Selbstbedienung. Das ist klares Kosten sparen am falschen Ende und entspricht nicht den 5 bei LeMeridien ueblichen Sternen.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiftycountriesplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 23 April 2011
Sehr geehrte(r) Fiftycountriesplus,

Viele Gruesse aus Chiang Mai und vielen Dank fuer Ihren Bericht auf Tripadvisor. Wir freuen uns, dass Ihnen Ihr Aufenthalt in unserem Hotel gefallen hat und das Zimmer und die Lage Ihren Anforderungen entsprach.

Vielen Dank fuer Ihre Resonanz bezueglich des Fruehstuecks und ich habe dies bereits unserem Kuechenchef weitergegeben. Die kleinen, individuellen Portionsglaeser fuer Marmelade, Muesli und Joghurt befinden sich in der Regel auf unserem Fruehstuecksbuffet und werden nur bei Lieferschwierigkeiten importierter Produkte oder bei groesseren Gruppen von Gaesten durch andere Behaeltnisse ersetzt, um Engpaesse zu vermeiden. Unser Kuechenchef wird hier nach einer anderen Loesung suchen.

Ich wuerde mich freuen, Sie wieder im Le Meridien Chiang Mai begruessen zu duerfen.

Beste Gruesse

Tino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
160 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

Spent a night at le Meridien as a splurge on an otherwise tightly budgeted 9 month trip.
In my past 'business life' I had spent many a night at competing brands in the 4 star-5 star hotel market.
The rooms excellent with a large day bed/couch, large desk, good TV, giant bed and bath. Some of the best i have seen in this category.

Le Meridien did NOT meet my expectations in terms of service.
Waited in the lobby lounge for 15 minutes for service to order drinks/food before I went to the bar myself.
received poor service from the concierge when asked for help finding some local services. When we declined his recommendation which was 3X the going rate, he basically stopped helping us.
The doorman 'negotiated' a taxi rate for us which was 2X a very fair cost and stated that a taxi would not run the meter (which they all will)
Was never asked by the staff upon checkout how my stay was, etc. This is standard procedure in any hotel of this class-a great opening line to find out what the customer thought.

other notes-internet was ~US$18 for in room use. 'Complimentary' wi-fi in the lobby is only for one hour of use. Keep this in mind when looking at hotel costs. There were other good options which would have made more sense to choose if i would have known that the lobby use internet was an hour max.

Look elsewhere, there are other 5 star hotels with competitive prices and a reputation for excellent service.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BoulderTravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 23 April 2011
Dear BoulderTravelers5,


Greetings from Chiang Mai and thank you for taking the time to write the review. We are very grateful for your comments and are happy that you enjoyed the room and its facilities.

I am sorry regarding the service experience in the lobby and the bar on several occasions. I have already shared your feedback with all our teams and we have since provided re-training to our associates.

The taxi situation in Chiang Mai is slightly different than in Bangkok (where indeed all taxis run on meter). Here in Chiang Mai there are 3 types of taxis: cars, red cab and tuk tuk. The cars are all stationed at the airport and the fares between airport and hotel are set by the taxi operator. Within the city center only “tuk tuk” and “red cab” taxis are operating and their fares must be negotiated with the driver.

Once again, my apologies for in the inconvenience caused regarding the service of our associates and we hope to be able to welcome you again to Le Meridien Chiang Mai.

With kind regards

Tino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

Toured Thailand as a Newlywed and stayed at this hotel in May 2010 where you are in the center of it all. The room was comfortable with guest services very polite and friendly. You could see the mountains from our window and after a tour we soon found our way into those mountains visiting Buddist temples and really appreaciating the view.

Breakfast was tremendous and really started our day. Lost count of how many French pastries my husband and I ate, the food was fabulous. The hotel also has a very nice pool which is much needed to escape the heat. The pool is pretty and you can order drinks and snacks to truly relax.

Chaing Mae really comes to life after dark and we toured the streets for treats to bring home to the family. Heads up this is the best time to do it and don't be shy negotiating at least half off the asking price. My husband and I collected massage oils, photo albaums, frames, jewelry, etc. The food outside the hotel is affordable and we enjoyed large meals all under $20 American. The Duck is a good time....try it!

A cab ride outside of town takes you to an umbrella factory which is a great photo op and also another opportunity for treats. Beware the cab driver will take you to surrounding locations where I was forced to listen to a high priced carpet expert whose rugs are no less than $500. Thai Silk location was enjoyable but also pricey as well as a Jewelry shop.

Lots to do and the streets are safe! Massages offered for 150 Baht...super cheap soo enjoy! Overall a great place to visit and appreciate!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovestoTravelNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 23 April 2011
Dear LovestoTravelNj,

Greetings from the Northern Capital and thank you for taking the time to write this Trip Advisor review - and for sharing your experiences.

We are delighted that you enjoyed Chiang Mai with all its great attractions and sights to visit.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the breakfast, our Executive Chef Peter and his team are happy to hear that you enjoyed their food. We also appreciate that you enjoyed the room with a view to Doi Suthep mountain, the Pool and the service from our associates.

We look forward welcoming you back on your first anniversary :-)

With kind regards

Tino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

Spend 2 nights at the hotel during our round trip north of Thailand. Great location! Internet sould be free.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B2when
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 23 April 2011
Dear B2when,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Le Meridien Chiang Mai.

We were happy to read that you enjoyed the location. Regarding the internet please note that we do have limited free internet options for our guests such as 1 hour free Wifi in the lobby per day, 15 minutes in the Business Center; our Club floor guests enjoy free internet at the Club Lounge and our SPG Platinum guests enjoy free internet throughout their stay.

We also offer different room packages and for guests with the need for Internet access I would like to recommend our “Plug & Play” promotion including breakfast for one and full internet access.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Tino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
198 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

Although supposedly built at same time (two years ago) as the Meridien in Bangkok, this one is nice but the rooms and hotel as a whole can't compare. The room was nice but nothing fancy, the location which was key to me when booking this hotel worked out well (right between the old city and the night market), and the rate of $117 per night found on expedia was a good deal for what it was. Didn't quite have the same perks as the Meridien in Bangkok (no free unlimited internet access at terminals in lobby or business center), but otherwise probably splitting hairs and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TedW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 23 April 2011
Dear TedW67,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We were really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were particularly happy with the location. Your review has been shared with our associates already.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Le Meridien Chiang Mai in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Tino Lindner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

We were so excited to stay at this hotel after having stayed at 2 star hotels on our tour. The hotel was great. The rooms were modern, spacious with an amazing view over the mountains of Chiang Mai. There was complimentary water in the rooms along with free coffee and tea. The bathroom was also very modern and big. The bed and the duvet gave us our best sleep in over 10 days!

We spent one afternoon alongside the amazing outdoor pool. When you arrive by the pool, staff come by with a glass of cold water and a menu for drinks. The only downside is that the pool was not heated (which none are apparently in Thailand) so unless you have full sun, it's a bit chilly. The gym was also big and full of great equipment.

The hotel offers 1 hour of free wifi in the hotel lobby and 15 minutes a day in the business centre. Otherwise, internet is very pricey. If you want wifi in your room, you have to pay!

The service was also pretty good. Front desk was nice enough as was concierge. However, we were staying at another hotel about 1 block away the day before we moved to the Meridien. Our bags were heavy and it was hot, so we walked over to the hotel and asked if someone would be able to help us bring our bags over. The concierge basically told us that the previous hotel should do this for us as opposed to the bellmen walking over with us. When we got to the other hotel, they told us that the Meridien should do this for us (which I thought made sense). They had to call the Meridien to have someone come help. I don't think he was very pleased with this but he did it. Overall, service was good but not extraordinary.

Breakfast buffet was awesome! It was the highlight. A little pricey but totally worth it.
Location is also great. Right in the middle of the night bazaar!
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingcdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 23 April 2011
Dear Canadiangirltraveler,

Thank you for staying at Le Meridien Chiang Mai and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel at the end of your tour.

We are particularly happy to know that you enjoyed the services at the Pool and gym. Indeed heated Pools are not common in Thailand and only few are installed in medical institutions.

Great to read that you enjoyed the view, location facilities and services. Please rest assured that I have shared your review with our team. I also shared your feedback with our Front Desk and Luggage Assistants, both the positive and the area for improvement.

We look forward to being of service the next time your travels bring you to Chiang Mai.

Yours sincerely

Tino Lindner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#45 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Mai

Property: Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Address: 108 Chang Klan Road,Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal destination for savvy travellers who enjoy the mixture of Le Meridien's European heritage and local Lanna style to deliver a contemporary cultural experience. The hotel's 383 guestrooms, overlooking Doi Suthep Mountain range, are equipped with broadband internet and offer a modern entertainment experience centered on a high-definition LCD television. A perfect location adjacent to the famous night bazaar will ensure guests encounter the vibrancy + energy of Chiang Mai, just at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Starwood APAC and Agoda so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Meridien Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing