We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty and Rude.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Star Guest House

North Star Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
North Star Guest House
Ranked #291 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dirty and Rude.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Dirty room. Woman at the desk was dreadful, shouting and swearing. Also cheated on bike rental writing the wrong time on the contract. Then complained and tried to charge me an extra 100baht even though I returned the bike about an hour early. Avoid if you can. If you can't use other companies for tours services etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GEdwardM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    1
    5
    9
    9
See reviews for
3
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mykonos Town, Greece
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

The worst B&B in the area.

The rooms are ready to collapse, dirty bathrooms and full of rats!

The toilet was awful and didnt have soap and toilet paper.

Full of noise and bad area. The staff didnt know english.

You should avoid it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vasilis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

an unpretensious place which we got for a real bargain, only 250THB on new year's eve when everywhere else was charging exorbitant rates....come here only if you are prepared for a simple stayover. pillows were mildly scented and hot shower was functional...that was what we were looking for. location is great, near to cheap eateries and a short walk to Tapae Gate. Try out Pa Yee Eatery just across the side street...the fried rice is to die for...

check out north star's reception toilet before you check in. the eyes will tell u everything. we found it challenging but usable and stayed on , but only for one night.

Room Tip: the ones located on ground floor appeared safer,,,,yes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kohl e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

The rooms in this GuestHouse are very very dated. Spider webs EVERYWHERE. As me and my boyfriend are petrified of spiders this made us check constantly for them. Although we found none, this gave us no comfort as it showed the place is lacking a cleaning routine.
Beds are rock solid.
Shower is literally over the toilet.
Overall it would be OK if the place was given a lick of paint and a good deep clean!! Has air con which is always a bonus! Until then worth a stay if on a budget and out of hotel a lot- we definitely appreciate the clean sheets, floors and bathroom where we are staying now! (the simple things!)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

North Star Guest House is a gem. I have visited Chiang Mai many times over several years. I've stayed in many Chiang Mai guest houses, and North Star is my first choice, above all.

It may take a discerning traveler to appreciate the reasons. If you are a backpacker simply seeking the company of other similar first-time travelers, you might not get it. But if you are in Thailand to experience real Thai neighborhood life, to make friendships among local residents of this picturesque neighborhood of small sois (Thai for "little lanes") -- your going to understand quickly why North Star is such a great place to set your anchor.

Pong, the Inn Keeper, is a cherished institution on the soi. Travelers and locals come to eat with her, talk about their romantic issues, tell stories, swap gossip and news from the neighborhhod. They bring "som tam' (papaya salad) and sticky rice to share with Pong and her guests or ask her to cook fresh fish from the market (Pong is a wonderful chef!) Pong gives counsel to all who seek it with humor and a biting wit (her English is quite good, too).

Pong is a passionate story-teller. She feels the stories she tells -- a very Thai Thai characteristic (though it may be a bit disarming to a button-down anglo-saxon ;-) Her heart is very big -- you can see that in the children and grandchild she raises under the same roof as the guesthouse. She respects the privacy of guests at the North Star -- one can come and go at any hour with no questions asked -- but for those who want to mix in, they are welcome like visiting members of the family.

And for those who want to trek or tour Chaing Mai, Pong is switchboard central -- she will arrange anything or everything requested at a very good price.

The rooms are clean and simple -- rustic even, though you can have free WiFi and air conditioning and TV accommodations at the cheapest rates in Chiang Mai. It isn't a holiday inn or a Hilton -- not right for travelers looking for a bland international hotel standard -- and probably not for those backpackers looking for a foreign ghetto in Chiang Mai were they can drink and sing football songs a crowd of fellow foreigners. But the honest hospitality, great price, and authentic local neighborhood ambiance are exactly the reasons why Pong's North Star Guest House is a lodging of choice for young Thais working in neighborhood businesses or at the Nigh Bazar just 15 minutes away. That's also why experienced Thailand hands who love the small soi style of the place (compete with native teak furnishings), yet it's close proximity to the nightlife of the action of the Taphae Gate area, make North Star their place of choice choice. For those who love the mix of neighborhood life and Pong's style of unadorned hospitality, humor, and great cooking North Star is a secret gem.

If you are a tourists looking for the company of other tourists, mainly...then you just may not get it. In that case, Pong's straightforward style, sincere hospitality, and the colorful local folks who mix in so famously with lodgers here may not be your cup of tea. That's OK, because there are lots of other places for you in Chiang Mai.

But if you are here to savor the pace of life in the small neighborhood, hear the mix of foreign and Thai voices on the small sois, and enjoy real and unpretentious Chiang Mai hospitality, you are going to love North Star Guest House! If you return often, as I do, this gem on Soi 2 will become your local digs, too!

Room Tip: Make a reservation in advance to let Pong and her family reserve rooms with specific accommodations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
334 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

North Star GH is extremely basic, with rooms that try to be clean but don't always succeed. Expect holes in the walls.
After seing how the bed looked, we slept in our sleeping bags on top of the bed, but we don't think that there were any bed bugs.
Location is good, in a quiet neighbour (although some 50 year old British expats like to go around quite drunk and get into fights - not with backpackers anyway). Breakfast at the German place next door is a must do.
To conclude, North Star is very cheap, but most guest houses around are, so if I ever go back, I will try another one.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pixxidix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

My friend and I arrived at the North Star hot and exhausted one afternoon. We had been searching high and low for a hostel, but had one stipulation: we wanted to meet fellow travelers, and didn't want a place with no other guests. After checking out the rooms (which were basic but fairly clean) we specifically asked if the hostel was busy and if others were staying there. The owner promised that it was very busy. We then paid for 3 nights in advance (the rates were the cheapest we found in Chiang Mai for air conditioned rooms). We settled in, but soon realized there were, in fact, hardly any other guests at all. When we raised this concern with the owner, she immediately became very defensive and even aggressive. We told her we wanted to switch to a different hostel, but she refused to refund any of our money. After a prolonged argument, we finally agreed on a compromise of staying one night in a more expensive room - she refunded us the rest.

We would not stay at Top North again, and definitely would not recommend it. The atmosphere is dead and depressing, and the owner impossible to deal with (there were other issues such as a malfunctioning shower that she took no interest in rectifying). However, if you are looking for a dirt cheap and clean enough room for just a night or two, and don't care about ambiance at all...go for it!

Room Tip: Try Top North - 20 steps away with pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GypsygirlCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Ampawan
Ampawan
#188 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#235 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#138 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vipa House
Vipa House
#239 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Northlands House Hotel
Northlands House Hotel
#154 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anodard Hotel
Anodard Hotel
#285 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Guest House

Property: North Star Guest House
Address: 38 Soi 2 Moonmuang Rd., Pra Sing, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — North Star Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your North Star Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing