We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 month of total relax”
Review of Ban Kong Rao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ban Kong Rao
Ranked #218 of 732 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“1 month of total relax”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

A friend of mine and I went to Chiang Mai to spend a month studying Thai massage.
We didn't book anything in advance as we preferred to see the places.
Ban Kong Rao was just the perfect home for our month staying in Chiang Mai. Few minutes walking distance from ITM school and more than that the place itself is really nice. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.
Rooms are spacious with extremely comfortable beds. Would totally recommend!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank BFalce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    31
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
65
42
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

i stayed at the sister property nearby
-owner Tom speaks good english and helped to translate directions for taxi driver as well as help make bookings for activities
-rooms very comfortable
-powerful aircon, fridge
-food stalls nearby

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisChanMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Exceptional value, rooms by the night or month. Rooms are spacious with big beds, wood paneling, flower paintings, good air conditioning--everything works incl. wi-fi. Two beautiful Thai sisters manage the hotel--they are both very knowledgeable to arrange tours and excursions around Chiang Mai as well as visa runs to chiang rai and laos. Daily maid service. There are many good restaurants in the neighborhood, incl. Thai, Japanese, and vegetarian. Thai niteclubs up the street catering mostly to college students. Central shopping mall is close by--chain restaurants, a supermarket and food court. easy access transportation and a view of Doi Suthrep. Nieman Haemon shops about a mile. i have stayed here on 3 occasions and would again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank andy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlingerode, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Me and my family were travel to Thailand. First we arrived and we stay in BKK for 1 night.
Next morning we were fly to Chiangmai. Our friends suggestion us to stay here at Ban kong rao.
My friends said at this palce we can feel like home and staff are all friendly.
In the end we decided to stay here same as my friends suggest us.
And its was amazing !! especially for my 3 years old girl :) She is very happy to be at this place.
All staff r so swesome and kind. They help us to watch out my little girl while we need some relax time lol
I feel like here is my Thai fam !!
I mean its very good place to stay.
and hopefully i can get room there next year again :)

By the way Thai massage sevice is super !!

Greeting to everyone there from Berlin

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berlinerin_pankow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here back in 2011 for a month and it was fantastic, but coming back in 2013 some things have changed. The rooms have gotten some wear and tear and ate not as nice as a result. The staff used to be great but now the owner and the mgr have gotten lazy or complacent and with every contact I had with them it felt like they were doing me a favor by letting me stay at their hotel.

For the price of this hotel, there are many newer and nicer hotels in the area with friendlier staff. But it's still a decent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noappendix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My son and I each had our own room for about a month while he studied at ITM. We both loved this place. The owner was so conscientious and the staff were friendly and attentive. The rooms were not the generic hotel rooms but were loaded with personality. The only thing I would have wished was for the rooms to be bigger; but the view, the location and the homey decor made up for it. The roof had a scenic large, comfy sitting area with a view of the gorgeous nearby mountains.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvergirl1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I stayed at Ban Kong Rao for three months (studying massage at ITM). It really was home away from home. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. Good shower. The roof terrace is a perfect place to sit and relax, watch the sunset, or to study. Good Wifi and airco.
They serve very good food at the restaurant, and around the guesthouse are plenty of good restaurants too. Also 7eleven tesco launderette are around the corner
The service is Great. The staff of this guesthouse is wonderful. They make you feel at home and create a very nice atmosphere. Very helpful and friendly. They really make this place a prefect spot for a (long)stay
The guesthouse is out of the touristic area. But with a tuk tuk you are in the old city within 10 minutes.
I have seen some other guesthouses in the neighborhood, but I will certainly go back to this one when I go back to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 020peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#129 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banilah
Banilah
#37 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baanthalang Chiangmai
Baanthalang Chiangmai
#195 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Villa Korbhun Khinbua
Villa Korbhun Khinbua
#119 of 732 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plern Plern Bed and Bike
Plern Plern Bed and Bike
#47 of 732 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban Kong Rao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Kong Rao

Property: Ban Kong Rao
Address: 2 Soi 4 Morakot Road | Chuang Puak Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 732 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ban Kong Rao 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ban Kong Rao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban Kong Rao Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing