We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place away from the tourist area”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ban Kong Rao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ban Kong Rao
Ranked #217 of 717 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Seattle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice place away from the tourist area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four days. At first we were a little leery about the area, as there didn't seem to have much going on. However, it forced us to explore more and we found several great places to eat including Imm Aim Vegetarian & Bike Cafe.
Our room was clean and pretty spacious and had two balconies. We were able to wash all our clothes in the sink and dry them very quickly outside. The staff was friendly and although our room didn't have a hot spring they accommodated us by bringing up one so we could make our own coffee in the morning.
The rooftop garden was a nice touch.
Only issues we had were the loud outside noise-especially at night--and the fact the rooms didn't seem secure. The doors were rather flimsy and could easily be jimmied open.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AungJaiboon, Owner at Ban Kong Rao, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Hi,

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you enjoyed your stay in Chiang Mai

We hope to see you again in the future,

Kind regards,

Ban Kong Rao

P.S. with regards to your concerns about door security please could you email us at info@bankongrao.com to let us know more details so that we can address this. We value our guests security and have security cameras covering the hall on each floor as well as a night-time security guard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    31
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
65
42
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Most of the staff does not speak English. The non-English speaking staff was rather unfriendly and could hardly be convinced to help me at all. The rooms are OK but VERY noisy at night. The street directly in front of the hotel is quite busy at night. There are lots of scooters and tuktuks at night and some of love to accelerate in front of the hotel, which makes quite a lot of noise. The walls are thin and it made no noticeable difference if the windows were open or not.

The bed had a good size but the mattress was as stiff as a brick. The same can be said about the pillows. The TV programm was good.

The hotel is about 15-20min walking distance away from the inner city and most tourist attractions, proper restaurants etc. are too far away to walk.

Wifi was available downstairs but not in my room on the 4th floor. The connection was slow but OK.

I booked a 2nd stay in advance but tried to cancel it during my 1st stay. Although the cancelation was 10 days in advance, no refund at all was granted.

All in all I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid any rooms facing the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertG_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AungJaiboon, Owner at Ban Kong Rao, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Hi there,

We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us but we do hope that you enjoyed your stay in Chiang Mai

With regards to your receiving no refund for your cancellation, unfortunately, as we explained to you at the time, your booking was made via Agoda and wasn't made with us directly and so the cancellation and refund process also had to be done via Agoda

Kind regards,

Ban Kong Rao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I came to Chiang Mai to take a Thai Massage course, and loved staying here! There were other people from my class staying here as well, and the staff let us use their massage room to practice for our exam - so nice! The food was great and fresh everyday. Staff was kind and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edviac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have been to Chiang Mai. This hotel/guest house has an amazing vibe, excellent hosts great rooms in a good location a quieter part of the city but still very close to access all that chiang Mai has to offer. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else and definitely coming back. Jenny, Fay and Ying now our extended family.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelRTye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armstrong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights, minutes from busy street with many food vendors. You can get a plate of food for 35 baht. The staff at this hotel were very friendly and kind. Great value for the money and short cab ride from the night bazzar and old city.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

A friend of mine and I went to Chiang Mai to spend a month studying Thai massage.
We didn't book anything in advance as we preferred to see the places.
Ban Kong Rao was just the perfect home for our month staying in Chiang Mai. Few minutes walking distance from ITM school and more than that the place itself is really nice. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.
Rooms are spacious with extremely comfortable beds. Would totally recommend!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank BFalce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

i stayed at the sister property nearby
-owner Tom speaks good english and helped to translate directions for taxi driver as well as help make bookings for activities
-rooms very comfortable
-powerful aircon, fridge
-food stalls nearby

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisChanMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Western House Hotel
Western House Hotel
#132 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banilah
Banilah
#32 of 717 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baanthalang Chiangmai
Baanthalang Chiangmai
#189 of 717 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Villa Korbhun Khinbua
Villa Korbhun Khinbua
#102 of 717 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plern Plern Bed and Bike
Plern Plern Bed and Bike
#51 of 717 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban Kong Rao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Kong Rao

Property: Ban Kong Rao
Address: 2 Soi 4 Morakot Road | Chuang Puak Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 717 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ban Kong Rao 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ban Kong Rao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban Kong Rao Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing