We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to Be in Chiang Mai”
Review of Ban Kong Rao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ban Kong Rao
Ranked #340 of 835 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The location is perfect : charming and quiet even the hotel is very close to down town by Tuk Tuk or bicycle.

The staff is very welcoming and very helful. They helped us for finding any activities we wanted to do by providing informations or calling for us to negociate good price with guides etc..

The hotel has a roof terrace which is perfect at night for taking some air with friends.

The rooms are very clean, well decorated and the bed is awsome. The bed size is in fact bigger than usual king size bed.

Anyway you can book that hotel without any doubt !

Enjoy !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smirlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

My son and I stayed here for a week in April during our Easter school holiday the Thai Songkran festival. The guesthouse is a short walk from the old city centre and main temples and attractions. being just outside it meant we were able to escape the Songkran mayhem that takes over in the city having experienced it for one full day, which was enough for my young son! The owner Jenny and her family are lovely, we spent a lot of time chatting with them and they were extremely helpful when it came to choosing which excursions and activities to book. We enjoyed a substantial breakfast there most mornings and the kitchen was extremely flexible with our evening dinner arrangements going beyond the level of service you would expect from a small guesthouse. The charm of the building and gardens really meant that we were happy to relax there most evenings.

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor was quiet and a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catrosa13pt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for four days in November and loved it! Jenny and her family are so kind and made our stay so worth it. The hotel is outside of the main part of the city but that wasn't an issue at all. A quick walk to the main road and we were always able to grab a red truck taxi to get us to where we needed to go! Our room was clean and we always had warm water. At night we enjoyed sitting up on the roof and relaxing with a beer. There are a lot of great restaurants within walking distance including Seven Senses Restaurant and Imm Aim Bike Cafe. Both are great places for good meals!

Even though this hotel is outside the city gates of Chiang Mai the staff was so wonderful that we didn't mind one bit! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sunshine1621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AungJaiboon, Owner at Ban Kong Rao, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi,

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you had a pleasant stay in Chiang Mai

We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards,

Ban Kong Rao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four days. At first we were a little leery about the area, as there didn't seem to have much going on. However, it forced us to explore more and we found several great places to eat including Imm Aim Vegetarian & Bike Cafe.
Our room was clean and pretty spacious and had two balconies. We were able to wash all our clothes in the sink and dry them very quickly outside. The staff was friendly and although our room didn't have a hot spring they accommodated us by bringing up one so we could make our own coffee in the morning.
The rooftop garden was a nice touch.
Only issues we had were the loud outside noise-especially at night--and the fact the rooms didn't seem secure. The doors were rather flimsy and could easily be jimmied open.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AungJaiboon, Owner at Ban Kong Rao, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi,

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you enjoyed your stay in Chiang Mai

We hope to see you again in the future,

Kind regards,

Ban Kong Rao

P.S. with regards to your concerns about door security please could you email us at info@bankongrao.com to let us know more details so that we can address this. We value our guests security and have security cameras covering the hall on each floor as well as a night-time security guard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Most of the staff does not speak English. The non-English speaking staff was rather unfriendly and could hardly be convinced to help me at all. The rooms are OK but VERY noisy at night. The street directly in front of the hotel is quite busy at night. There are lots of scooters and tuktuks at night and some of love to accelerate in front of the hotel, which makes quite a lot of noise. The walls are thin and it made no noticeable difference if the windows were open or not.

The bed had a good size but the mattress was as stiff as a brick. The same can be said about the pillows. The TV programm was good.

The hotel is about 15-20min walking distance away from the inner city and most tourist attractions, proper restaurants etc. are too far away to walk.

Wifi was available downstairs but not in my room on the 4th floor. The connection was slow but OK.

I booked a 2nd stay in advance but tried to cancel it during my 1st stay. Although the cancelation was 10 days in advance, no refund at all was granted.

All in all I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid any rooms facing the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertG_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AungJaiboon, Owner at Ban Kong Rao, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi there,

We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us but we do hope that you enjoyed your stay in Chiang Mai

With regards to your receiving no refund for your cancellation, unfortunately, as we explained to you at the time, your booking was made via Agoda and wasn't made with us directly and so the cancellation and refund process also had to be done via Agoda

Kind regards,

Ban Kong Rao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I came to Chiang Mai to take a Thai Massage course, and loved staying here! There were other people from my class staying here as well, and the staff let us use their massage room to practice for our exam - so nice! The food was great and fresh everyday. Staff was kind and very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edviac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have been to Chiang Mai. This hotel/guest house has an amazing vibe, excellent hosts great rooms in a good location a quieter part of the city but still very close to access all that chiang Mai has to offer. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else and definitely coming back. Jenny, Fay and Ying now our extended family.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NigelRTye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 402 in Chiang Mai
702 reviews
3 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#53 of 402 in Chiang Mai
977 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#4 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
No photo provided
Rim Ping Guest House
#392 of 835 in Chiang Mai
3 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 402 in Chiang Mai
3,255 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#22 of 402 in Chiang Mai
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban Kong Rao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Kong Rao

Address: 2 Soi 4 Morakot Road | Chuang Puak Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #340 of 835 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £29 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ban Kong Rao 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ban Kong Rao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban Kong Rao Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing